LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
Kralik
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:31 pm
Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 223 Location: The Pacific Northwest
1) Does the One Ring count as a "Ring" in the sense that you cannot play an artifact Ring on the Ringbearer?

2) Does Stewardís Tomb negate cards such as Cavern Denizen? Is there a difference between "cannot take wounds" and "preventing" wounds?
Check out the LoTR TCG Database! My goal is to create a central resource for all kinds of LotR TCG Information. You can have card titles in your posts AutoLink to the card pictures. Cool
Gate Troll
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:37 pm
Joined: 15 Aug 2006 Posts: 384 Location: Udun Vale, Home of the one and only... Gate Troll!
Kralik wrote:
1) Does the One Ring count as a "Ring" in the sense that you cannot play an artifact Ring on the Ringbearer?

2) Does Stewardís Tomb negate cards such as Cavern Denizen? Is there a difference between "cannot take wounds" and "preventing" wounds?


To your first question, no the One Ring does not count as a normal, artifact
ring. I donít know about the second question though.
"Wars may be fought with weapons, but they are won by men. It is the spirit of the men who follow and of the man who leads that gains that victory."-George S. Patton.
Gillian
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:01 pm
Joined: 08 Dec 2006 Posts: 127 Location:
Kralik wrote:

2) Does Stewardís Tomb negate cards such as Cavern Denizen? Is there a difference between "cannot take wounds" and "preventing" wounds?


Yes there is. If he cannot take wounds that means there is nothing to prevent. So Cavern Denizen canít get wounds even on Stewardís Tomb.
Kralik
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 223 Location: The Pacific Northwest
Thanks! Smile
Check out the LoTR TCG Database! My goal is to create a central resource for all kinds of LotR TCG Information. You can have card titles in your posts AutoLink to the card pictures. Cool
Elessar's Socks
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:32 pm
Joined: 29 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location:
Kralik wrote:
Is there a difference between "cannot take wounds" and "preventing" wounds?

It has to do with whether wounds can be assigned.

A character who "cannot / may not take wounds" canít have wounds assigned to that character. For example if you have two Uruk-hai in play who are faced with archery fire, and one is bearing Broad-bladed Sword, youíd have no choice but to assign the wounds to the other Uruk-hai.

A card that "prevents wounds" means wounds can still be assigned to a character, but they fizzle. For example if you discard Gimliís Helm and threat wounds are triggered during a skirmish, you can assign all the wounds to him, and he wonít be wounded.
Kralik
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:50 pm
Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 223 Location: The Pacific Northwest
That makes a lot of sense. Ingenious use for Gimliís Helm! Twisted Evil
Check out the LoTR TCG Database! My goal is to create a central resource for all kinds of LotR TCG Information. You can have card titles in your posts AutoLink to the card pictures. Cool
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:46 am
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
Iím not 100% sure about Gimliís Helm. I think thereís a ruling regarding Boromir, BoC, that if all wounds to him are prevented, he canít be wounded and must instead have 3 burdens added.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and weíre gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)
lem0nhead
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:00 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
CarpeGuitarrem wrote:
Iím not 100% sure about Gimliís Helm. I think thereís a ruling regarding Boromir, BoC, that if all wounds to him are prevented, he canít be wounded and must instead have 3 burdens added.


I really dont feel like trying to find the subtle wording that makes these rules seperate but gimlis helm does work as above CG. But you are right about BoC.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boyís juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer
Elessar's Socks
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:59 pm
Joined: 29 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location:
Yeah, preventing wounds means even though theyíre assigned to Boromir, he isnít actually wounded. So heíd have to take burdens instead.

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
View previous topic   View next topic