LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG: Treachery and Deceit
Author Message
lem0nhead
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:58 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
Interesting point Apopatos. If youve met the cost, if you can carry out the effect, then presumably you would have to. This needs research...
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boyís juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer
Thranduil
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:45 am
Joined: 01 May 2007 Posts: 2256 Location:
The comprehensive rulebook 4.0 says:

Quote:
If the effect of a card or special ability requires you to perform an action and you cannot, you must perform as much as you can and ignore the rest.

With dispatched with haste, lets assume that you CAN spot your possession. The above statement only applies if you CANNOT fulfil the criteria. I cannot find any statement in the rules saying that you MUST fulfil as much of an effect as you can, only the statement above, and this one:

Quote:
If you meet all the requirements and pay all the costs for playing a card, you may play that card even if the card will have no effect.

This statement also only applies when it is impossible for the effect to take place, so it is totally unclear whether you can pay the costs and then choose not to do the effect.

Thranduil
'We do what we do because of who we are. If we did otherwise, we would not be ourselves.'
- Dream of the Endless

Check out my block based on The Hobbit, my remake of Age's End, and the Fall of Eregion
Vote for your favourite Bilbo, Retired Adventurer(V)
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:41 pm
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
As far as Iím concerned, you canít pay the cost and then ignore the effect. Cost -> effect. If you canít carry out the effect, then donít. But if you can, do. Itís only logical.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and weíre gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)
Gandalf's Evil Twin
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:45 pm
Joined: 17 Jun 2007 Posts: 32 Location: Somewhere in the Field
Actually the point I was trying to make is you donít ignore the effect. But to get the combo to work all you need to activate the Regroup Action. Pay the cost of spotting 2 Rohan companions then discard your possession to discard another possession. If there is no other possessions in play then you ignore the effect. But if there is and they are youíre own just discard them. Youíll have infinite power. It was a poor choice of words on my part that I didnít make it more clear. I apologize. Embarassed Embarassed
lem0nhead
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:51 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
Sorry GET fair enough i dont think we were getting at you, as CLEARLY infinite strength is a lot better than a spear Razz It was just an interesting gameplay point.

Cheers
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boyís juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer
NBarden
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:14 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
Yep. But this would just send all your possessions to Sword Racks so it really doesnít matter, they just have a little extra twilight to use against your infinite strength.

And more tokens on Cast from the Hall, BTW.
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
Apopatos
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:01 pm
Joined: 10 Mar 2007 Posts: 629 Location: Hellas
Itís simply no broken since quickly you are gonna run out of possessions.
"...I stomp round and round, / Never lie on the ground, / Not even to die. / Oliphaunt am I..."

Apop's trading list
My references
Your deck is small...
NBarden
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:02 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
But then you donít have to carry out the effect, and can continue to do it.
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
MR. Lurtzy
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:37 am
Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 423 Location: Living with the Governator
Carry out as much as you can and ignore the rest? If thatís what it really says................. You could seriously make a deck that just carries out the easiest, smallest part to get a wonderful effect. That rule is f*cking messed up. You should have to carry out all of it. Why ever do all the things if you donít seriously have to?
'On and on old war shall go,
Without respite my blood will flow
Oíer your eyes Ďtil they cannot see
The impossibility of victory.'

MR. Lurtzy's Have/Wants
Thranduil
Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:58 am
Joined: 01 May 2007 Posts: 2256 Location:
MR. Lurtzy wrote:
Carry out as much as you can and ignore the rest? If thatís what it really says................. You could seriously make a deck that just carries out the easiest, smallest part to get a wonderful effect. That rule is f*cking messed up. You should have to carry out all of it. Why ever do all the things if you donít seriously have to?

Thatís one serious bump. I saw the title of the thread in my inbox, and thought íI didnít reply to a thread like that!í

Thranduil
'We do what we do because of who we are. If we did otherwise, we would not be ourselves.'
- Dream of the Endless

Check out my block based on The Hobbit, my remake of Age's End, and the Fall of Eregion
Vote for your favourite Bilbo, Retired Adventurer(V)

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG: Treachery and Deceit
All times are UTC - 4
Page 3 of 4 [40 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
View previous topic   View next topic