LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
Mythdracon
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:34 am
Joined: 03 Jan 2007 Posts: 439 Location:
Ok, so my friends and I play a LOT of LOTR these days. Our board game group is slowly becoming the LOTR TCG with a few board games on the side group. So these questions we need to know the answers to ASAP, if you please:

-What is a special ability? Is it something that you MAY choose to do on a characterís text? What is the difference between game text and special abilities? Is Legolasí +3 bonus against Nazgul an ability, or game text?

-Non-unique conditions with abilities: Letís take Final Strike, where you can exert Gollum to cancel the effect of a manuever or archery special ability. I have two copies of this non-unique condition in play. Can I exert Gollum twice to trigger both, or can I exert him endlessly until exhausted (regardless of how many copies of the condition I have in play)?

-One of the FOTR sites (no. 1) says you can exert a hobbit to play a companion or ally for -1. You canít draw that companion or ally from the draw deck, right?

-Can you play limitless numbers of allies, or do they count with the rule of 9 max. for companions? As they can all skirmish now (they are all at their home sites in the recent rulings), it looks like you could just sacrifice unlimited masses of them to the shadow while your fellowship of 9 surges forward and triple moves.

-When you win the burden bid at the start of the game and choose to go second, do you still play the first site on the adventure path?

-How many cards can you discard in the regroup phase normally? 1? (then draw back up to 8 ) ? I know muster makes this no. higher, right? But what use is muster if youíre not moving again in the regroup phase?

-When you play the first site, do you still pay the twilight cost for that?

-How many cards do you need in your hand to have initiative?

-Artifacts canít be discarded unless one uses them, right? (like Sapling of the White Tree?)

-What is expanded, open, standard and block format? I am guessing Block format is for the movies exclusively? Standard is everything allowed except movies?

(And why does no one sell Hunters, Rise of Saruman or Treachery and Deceit booster boxes anymore? Anyone know where I can buy boxes of each at the best price?)
gil-estel
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:40 am
Joined: 25 Apr 2007 Posts: 545 Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Mythdracon wrote:
Ok, so my friends and I play a LOT of LOTR these days. Our board game group is slowly becoming the LOTR TCG with a few board games on the side group. So these questions we need to know the answers to ASAP, if you please:

-What is a special ability? Is it something that you MAY choose to do on a characterís text? What is the difference between game text and special abilities? Is Legolasí +3 bonus against Nazgul an ability, or game text?

-Non-unique conditions with abilities: Letís take Final Strike, where you can exert Gollum to cancel the effect of a manuever or archery special ability. I have two copies of this non-unique condition in play. Can I exert Gollum twice to trigger both, or can I exert him endlessly until exhausted (regardless of how many copies of the condition I have in play)?

-One of the FOTR sites (no. 1) says you can exert a hobbit to play a companion or ally for -1. You canít draw that companion or ally from the draw deck, right?

-Can you play limitless numbers of allies, or do they count with the rule of 9 max. for companions? As they can all skirmish now (they are all at their home sites in the recent rulings), it looks like you could just sacrifice unlimited masses of them to the shadow while your fellowship of 9 surges forward and triple moves.

-When you win the burden bid at the start of the game and choose to go second, do you still play the first site on the adventure path?

-How many cards can you discard in the regroup phase normally? 1? (then draw back up to 8 ) ? I know muster makes this no. higher, right? But what use is muster if youíre not moving again in the regroup phase?

-When you play the first site, do you still pay the twilight cost for that?

-How many cards do you need in your hand to have initiative?

-Artifacts canít be discarded unless one uses them, right? (like Sapling of the White Tree?)

-What is expanded, open, standard and block format? I am guessing Block format is for the movies exclusively? Standard is everything allowed except movies?

(And why does no one sell Hunters, Rise of Saruman or Treachery and Deceit booster boxes anymore? Anyone know where I can buy boxes of each at the best price?)


1. A special ability is an optional thing. Take Greenleaf. His text is: Archery: exert legolas to wound a minion. A special ability is always introduced by a bold written word that says in what phase you can use it...stupid none-native language! The legolas you named is indeed his gametext....it is not optional. Whether you like it or not, legolas is strenght +3 vs Nazgul.

2. You can exert him once for each special ability. Itís not like because you have two conditions, that one exertion triggers both conditions

3. No, or otherwise should be stated. I have never communicated with the legend here, but Bib would say: each card does exactly what it says.

4. hence Boromirís horn from Realms of the Elf lords was banned. Or restricted. There is no limit to the amount of allies. They can only fight on their homesite -which is restricted by block- or with certain cards.

5. No if you let the other person start, he will put down the first site

6. you can discard 1 card and then reconcile. If you have more then 8 cards, you just discard until you have 8 cards, no less. Muster is awesome to get rid of extra cards you donít need. Before reconciling you discard one, you pull one. If that card stinks as well, discard it to reconcile

7. no

8. at least 4, or there must be cards in play that increase that number

9. they are not affected by cards that discard conditions or possesions. I know a card -gandalf event- that can discard an artifact...there will be more. Grond from Siege of Gondor is also a very effective way of getting rid of artifacts.

10. the different formats are all worked out in the Lotr Deck Clinic topic. They are all named and they have a sticky that works them out entirely!
My trading list
My main wants
My refs
lem0nhead
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:48 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
Mythdracon wrote:


-What is a special ability? Is it something that you MAY choose to do on a characterís text? What is the difference between game text and special abilities? Is Legolasí +3 bonus against Nazgul an ability, or game text?

Its gametext. An bility is something preceeded by a bold phase action like Skirmish: Do X or Archery: Exert do do X. If a line says this companion is resistance +2 while you can spot X. This is not an ability it is just text.

-Non-unique conditions with abilities: Letís take Final Strike, where you can exert Gollum to cancel the effect of a manuever or archery special ability. I have two copies of this non-unique condition in play. Can I exert Gollum twice to trigger both, or can I exert him endlessly until exhausted (regardless of how many copies of the condition I have in play)?

You can respond to both i guess by exerting him twice although why you would want to do that is beyond me. Mind you i could be wrong as once you exert the first time it cancels the ability so the second trigger would be pointless. Hmm tricky. I suppose that doesnt answer your question about exerting til exhaustion either. Sorry its a toughy. If the first exertions cancels the ability then your second exertions is responding to nothing so perhaps u cant. Bib? M_H? Help!

-One of the FOTR sites (no. 1) says you can exert a hobbit to play a companion or ally for -1. You canít draw that companion or ally from the draw deck, right?

No unless otherwise stated "to play" is from hand.

-Can you play limitless numbers of allies, or do they count with the rule of 9 max. for companions? As they can all skirmish now (they are all at their home sites in the recent rulings), it looks like you could just sacrifice unlimited masses of them to the shadow while your fellowship of 9 surges forward and triple moves.

Indeed. Allies do not count to the rule of 9. Which is why the horn of boromir was x listed cos it by-passed the rule of 9 and allowed "infinite" allies to take the flak and ur comps never got involved.

-When you win the burden bid at the start of the game and choose to go second, do you still play the first site on the adventure path?

No the player who goes first plays the first site.

-How many cards can you discard in the regroup phase normally? 1? (then draw back up to 8 ) ? I know muster makes this no. higher, right? But what use is muster if youíre not moving again in the regroup phase?

You can discard 1 card if you choose to in the regroup. Muster is great for cycling. Say you just ended you fellowship phase and have a clogged hand of freeps stuff that is useless for your shadow u can only discard 1 and hence only draw 1 (plus whatever u have played out this turn). Muster allows more discard of the cards in ur hand that are useless and if theyre no good you can still reconcile and hope to get better cards.

-When you play the first site, do you still pay the twilight cost for that?

No cos you havent moved to the site you just started at it. When you place starting companions the twilight pool hasnt started yet.

-How many cards do you need in your hand to have initiative?

4 or more unless some other card affects that like streaming inot the field..

-Artifacts canít be discarded unless one uses them, right? (like Sapling of the White Tree?)

The only thing that can currently discards your artifacts is Grond.

-What is expanded, open, standard and block format? I am guessing Block format is for the movies exclusively? Standard is everything allowed except movies?

Expanded is making a deck from all the sets currently out using the expanded x and r list. Open is using all the sets like expanded but with no x or r list. Standard is a Decipher defined format which currently includes all cards from rotk block onwards. Fotr and TTT are illegal in thsi format and it has a standard format x and r list. Block format is sticking to the set of 3 expanions from one block.

(And why does no one sell Hunters, Rise of Saruman or Treachery and Deceit booster boxes anymore? Anyone know where I can buy boxes of each at the best price?)

Theyre all incredibly rare as print runs were not high so most have been snaffled up by collectors and players. I cannot easily say a good place to buy them from is. They will be expensive and hard to get.



Cheers!

EDIT: Dang all that and GE has already replied a second before me!
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boyís juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer
Shieldmaiden
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:57 am
Joined: 07 May 2007 Posts: 389 Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Yeah, but at least your answers pretty much matched each other! Laughing GP ís to the two of you, there was one question in there (about special abilities) that I wanted to know the answer to.
Trade With Me, I went to Middle Earth, and all I got was this stupid ring!

Veni, vidi, velcro - I came, I saw, I stuck around.
gil-estel
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:12 am
Joined: 25 Apr 2007 Posts: 545 Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Dance like a butterfly, sting like a bee!!! Iím too fast!!
My trading list
My main wants
My refs
Mythdracon
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:16 pm
Joined: 03 Jan 2007 Posts: 439 Location:
Thanks for your responses guys! All answered my questions, but I have a clarification to make on the condition exertions one. Basically I think playing 2 of say íTrust Me As You Once Didí would be good, cuz then you could use Gandalf to exert twice, right, where the limit would be one exertion if only one copy was out? I guess thatís why people usually have 4 copies of that condition in their decks? Or is that just so they have a higher chance of drawing that condition?
gil-estel
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:19 pm
Joined: 25 Apr 2007 Posts: 545 Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
well Iím not entirely sure, but Trust me isnít as good as it used to be.....I will go after it..or maybe someone beats me to this...like LH Wink
My trading list
My main wants
My refs
Kralik
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:10 pm
Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 223 Location: The Pacific Northwest
I am sure. You can exert with Gandalf as many times as you want, however, each card has a maximum strength bonus of 3. This specific card is covered in the Complete Rulebook.

Examples:

1) I can spot 2 Gandy signets and I have one copy of Trust Me as You Once Did. If I exert Gandalf twice, I can make a companion strength +2 and +2, but the maximum is +3 for that one card. So thatís what I get, +3.

2) I can spot 2 Gandy signets and I have two copies of Trust Me as You Once Did. Now I can have +4, but if I exert three times, itís only +5 (+3 from one card and +2 from the other), or +6 for four exertions.

Makes sense?
hawkeyespf
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:07 pm
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 198 Location: Round Lake IL
gil-estel wrote:
Dance like a butterfly, sting like a bee!!! Iím too fast!!


....float....butterflies float, my friend.
When we do it in Iraq, it's called progress. When we do it here in the US, it's called socialism.

http://trade.mahasamatman.com/Rings/list_show.pl?user=florents
TheJord
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:33 am
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
You are obviously not familiar with Muhammed Ali...
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 4 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
View previous topic   View next topic