LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
bibfortuna25
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:58 am
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Iím not understanding your Bilbo question. What sort of effect are you trying to prevent with healing Bilbo?

If you mean you exert Bilbo to get some effect and later on you heal him, the two have absolutely nothing to do with each other. They are two completely separate actions.
All cards do what they say.
Mythdracon
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:44 pm
Joined: 03 Jan 2007 Posts: 439 Location:
Well, the exertion would allow the effect to come into play (not prevent an effect) and then the healing would heal that exertion--in the rule book (under ípreventioní I think) it says if you exert then heal, the effect you exerted for is cancelled. I donít understand why such a rule is in place, but apparently it is. :S
Elessar's Socks
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:10 pm
Joined: 29 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location:
Can you quote the passage in the rule book or give a specific example? I didnít see the example you were describing.
Mythdracon
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:44 pm
Joined: 03 Jan 2007 Posts: 439 Location:
Darn. I forgot the details of the exact situation. =(
Elessar's Socks
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:05 am
Joined: 29 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location:
Laughing Guess I can take a potshot.

Cards that directly prevent an action from happening tend to follow one of these formats:

- "If X is about to happen, prevent that."
- "If Y is about to happen, do Z instead."

In these situations the original action never happens. So if Bilbo attempts to exert as a cost, and the exertion is prevented or replaced with another action, then since the cost wasnít paid the effects arenít carried out.

For example if the preventive card says "Response: If Bilbo is about to exert, heal him instead" it might seem like healing is preventing the exertion from happening. But the real issue is Bilbo wasnít able to exert in the first place; a card that said "Response: If Bilbo is about to exert, draw a card instead" wouldíve worked just as well.

As for doing other things in between, the "about" part takes precedence over cards that trigger when Bilbo actually exerts. For example a card that says "Each time a Hobbit exerts, add 3" canít trigger between Bilbo attempting to exert and the preventive card from being played, so thereís no mess with having to undo everything and sort things out.

And if the first "about" prevents or replaces the action, that stops a second "about" that could trigger off the same from happening, since the original situation has changed. (Incidentally, this differs from "at the start of the X phase" stuff, where multiple cards can trigger.)

Hope that helps a bit!
Mythdracon
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:17 am
Joined: 03 Jan 2007 Posts: 439 Location:
Kinda confusing. But then rules explanations have always confused me. I shall look it over several more times before I get it, I think, but I will get it eventually. Thanks. Smile

More questions:
-If an Orc that makes a site underground is killed during the skirmish phase, is the site no longer underground?

-Letís say Pippin is skirmishing a Dunlending and so is Aragorn. I resolve Aragornís skirmish first, then cancel Pippinís skirmish. Does this mean Pippin lost the skirmish? The Advanced Tutorial for the LOTR TCG seems to think so. Yet when I am in the midst of Aragornís skirmish and cancel Pippinís skirmish, the fight is not considered won. Why is this?
bibfortuna25
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:26 am
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
1) Yes
2) If a skirmish is canceled, there is no winner or loser. However, if you wish to cancel Pippinís skirmish, you must do so during Pippinís skirmish, not Aragornís.


BTW, none of the rules in this game are difficult to understand. I understand them all, and I have access to the same rules documents that you do.


But going back to your Bilbo question, healing is completely different from exerting. If a card says "Exert Bilbo to do X," and another card says "Do Y to heal Bilbo," then they are two separate actions that have absolutely nothing to do with each other.
All cards do what they say.

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 4 of 4 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
View previous topic   View next topic