LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
Which LOTR TCG tournament format is the best?

Standard  
21%
  [ 13 ]  21%
 
Expanded  
36%
  [ 22 ]  36%
 
Open  
33%
  [ 20 ]  33%
 
Block  
8%
  [ 5 ]  8%
 

Total Votes : 60
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:37 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
CG: What exactly is this combo? Think
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
sperzdechly
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 5:35 am
Joined: 05 May 2006 Posts: 131 Location: Warsaw (Poland)
Uruks X-listed? Broken Isengard cards have been already X-listed (Saruman, Sarumanís Snows and The Palantir of Orthanc). I doubt if there is something else, which should join them.

But surely there should be added some Nagul card. Here is the combo (in Expanded):
You need fellowship with wounded companions. Lets say, that opponentís fellowship has 5 companions and 3 of them are exhausted. You have 4x Gates of the Dead City in your support. You play Dark Fell About Him, heal exhausted companion and add a burden. Imediatelly he has to assign 4 exerts! Then next wound healed and next 4 exerts. You can easly count that there will be a situation, when companion healed by you will need to be exerted from Gates of the Dead City, so you could heal him endlessly (and add burden for each wound healed)...Game Over
Last edited by sperzdechly on Mon May 29, 2006 2:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
bibfortuna25
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 12:58 pm
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Well, you can only use DFAH once per NazgŻl played, so itís not as broken as you might think.
All cards do what they say.
sperzdechly
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 2:21 pm
Joined: 05 May 2006 Posts: 131 Location: Warsaw (Poland)
bibfortuna25 -> Read again what Iíve written, because you probably didnít get it. You use DFAH only once! You heal all the time the same companion, bacuse he or she is exerted each time you heal him or her. So you need only one DFAH, one Nazgul with 3 vitality and Gates of the Dead City in your support area (the more the better)
bibfortuna25
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:06 pm
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Well, the FP chooses which companion exerts, so unless theyíre dumb, they wonít choose the Ring-bearer.

Of course, your scenario would work if everyone in the fellowship was exhausted, but thatís a rare situation.
All cards do what they say.
sperzdechly
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:42 pm
Joined: 05 May 2006 Posts: 131 Location: Warsaw (Poland)
First of all - why ring-bearer? It doesntí matter which companion.
Secondly - assume that you see exhausted companion with 4 vitality (I think it is quite probable). It means 12 exerts afetr adding 3 burden for compleate healing. This can exhaust 4-6 copmanions, when you have some wounded companions even more...So eventually FPP player will have to exert companion helaed by SP.

So you donít need to have all the fellowship exhausted. Please, use some imagination before you replay.
bibfortuna25
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:51 pm
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Sorry, I confused it with Dark Temptation.

Yes, this is a powerful combo, but in Expanded you also have to consider the massive amounts of condition removal available. Plus, getting an exhausted companion in a burdening deck isnít as easy as youíd think, nor is getting a NazgŻl to survive till regroup. The FP can use archery, alternate wounding or simply win the skirmish(es) to make sure the NazgŻl canít exert.

Trust me, itís not as powerful as you think.
All cards do what they say.
Gagnut
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:59 am
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 846 Location: Ames, Iowa
I see a card I like. I put it in my deck, I like open not as many Xís and Rís.
I don't have an avatar, I don't have a sig, my posts speak for themselves.
Anonymous Prodigy
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 4197 Location: United States
Gagnut wrote:
I see a card I like. I put it in my deck, I like open not as many Xís and Rís.


I agree. I also like Standard and Expanded.
I had to put something here.
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 5:20 pm
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
AnxiousChieftain wrote:
CG: What exactly is this combo? Think

Brutality and Suffered Much Loss. At the later sites, thatís a +7 or +8 strength boost for Uruk-hai minions! Not to mention a possible initiative boost. And all for 4? True, itís not a broken card, but it seems overpowered here.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and weíre gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 2 of 9 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
View previous topic   View next topic