LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: limit....  (Read 7340 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 17, 2008, 02:46:06 AM
Read 7340 times

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
limit....
« on: November 17, 2008, 02:46:06 AM »
There are a few cards in Lotr tcg that have a inbuilt limit. Such as Mordor Warrior. But to what does this limit refer? The maximum bonus, so you can only make a companion -3, or the maximun bonus per card discarded, so maximum -3 per card even when you have like 6 other minions out?
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

November 17, 2008, 03:19:59 AM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: limit....
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2008, 03:19:59 AM »
Limit refers to the inbuilt effect of the action. So for Mordor Warrior, its the reverse of Trust Me as you Once Did.

From the CRD
When a card has a limit, such as "(limit +3)," the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.

Specifically, Mordor Warrior can only make 1 companion -3 per skirmish phase. If you can only spot 1 minion, you can discard 3 cards to make that companion -3. If you can spot 2, the first card would be -2, then the second card would only be -1.

Hope this is clear enough.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

November 17, 2008, 08:33:39 AM
Reply #2

FingolfinFinwe

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 507
Re: limit....
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2008, 08:33:39 AM »
The limit applies to that card only.  So if you have two Mordor Warrior's skirmishing one companion you can get up to -6.  Just as if you played two of Trust Me as you Once Did you would get a max of +6.  But yeah TJ is right, one Mordor Warrior cannot discard 6 cards to make a companion strength -18.   :(

November 17, 2008, 09:07:43 AM
Reply #3

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: limit....
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2008, 09:07:43 AM »
But he could make 6 companions -3, right?

November 17, 2008, 09:13:02 AM
Reply #4

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: limit....
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2008, 09:13:02 AM »
But he could make 6 companions -3, right?

Unlikely, since you would have to have had 10 cards in hand during your Shadow phase (Mordor Warrior + 3 orcs + 6 cards to discard). ;)

November 17, 2008, 09:28:43 AM
Reply #5

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: limit....
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2008, 09:28:43 AM »
Double-move?

November 17, 2008, 10:43:23 AM
Reply #6

Ulmo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 141
Re: limit....
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2008, 10:43:23 AM »
Mordor Warrior only applies to the companion it is skirmishing, so only one companion gets to be down-sized.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world.  Those who know binary and those who don't.
You don't have a backpack. What you have there is an invisible leather TARDIS.

November 18, 2008, 03:10:31 PM
Reply #7

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: limit....
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2008, 03:10:31 PM »
Mordor Warrior only applies to the companion it is skirmishing, so only one companion gets to be down-sized.

 #-o Good call. :gp:

January 06, 2010, 10:07:45 PM
Reply #8

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: limit....
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2010, 10:07:45 PM »
Just to confirm, each copy of Trust Me as You Once Did only works to a maximum of three per site or skirmish? My understanding is site, as posted by TheJord from the CRD and per my debate (and being proved wrong) by Kralik.
-wtk

January 07, 2010, 08:00:34 AM
Reply #9

Alazzar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 92
Re: limit....
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2010, 08:00:34 AM »
Anything that has a limit "per phase" has its limits applied to individual skirmish phases.  So, with one copy of Trust, you could give each of your companions strength +3 in their skirmishes (assuming you have the exertions and Gandalf signets to do so, of course).

January 07, 2010, 10:23:12 AM
Reply #10

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: limit....
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2010, 10:23:12 AM »
Just to confirm, each copy of Trust Me as You Once Did only works to a maximum of three per site or skirmish? My understanding is site, as posted by TheJord from the CRD and per my debate (and being proved wrong) by Kralik.
-wtk

We were talking about the Sting limit, which is "once per site" (if you put it that way) since you can only have one Fellowship phase per site. It's really once per phase. You could actually use it at one site during your Regroup and then during Fellowship at the same site next turn.

January 07, 2010, 01:36:31 PM
Reply #11

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: limit....
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2010, 01:36:31 PM »
We were talking about the Sting limit, which is "once per site" (if you put it that way) since you can only have one Fellowship phase per site. It's really once per phase. You could actually use it at one site during your Regroup and then during Fellowship at the same site next turn.

Just to further clear up, it is not actually once per phase, but limits the twilight removed per phase. You could look at the opponent's hand as many times as you wanted (or had exertions for) but the maximum twilight that could be removed that phase is [4].
-wtk

January 07, 2010, 02:10:25 PM
Reply #12

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: limit....
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2010, 02:10:25 PM »
Yes, you are right ket. I meant "limit per phase" - poor choice of wording on my part. Thanks!

January 10, 2010, 01:23:46 PM
Reply #13

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: limit....
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2010, 01:23:46 PM »
Unlikely, since you would have to have had 10 cards in hand during your Shadow phase (Mordor Warrior + 3 orcs + 6 cards to discard). ;)

Which should be possible :)