LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling  (Read 8275 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

February 13, 2009, 08:24:00 AM
Read 8275 times

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« on: February 13, 2009, 08:24:00 AM »
   I have a  [Gondor] man wearing Armor (only takes one wound per skirmish phase). If he is exhausted and lose a skirmish to a damage +1 minion and i choose to prevent the wound with Sapling of The White Tree, the "extra" wound of damage +1 now applies? Or Sapling just prevent the only wound he can take?

  In other words, the wound prevented count as the only wound he can take or since it was prevented it doesn't count?

February 13, 2009, 08:43:27 AM
Reply #1

daisukeman

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 182
  • Evil Bilbo is always appropiate for this forum
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 08:43:27 AM »
I think you prevent the only damage done, with Sapling and that's it.
He would take no more than 1 as long as he has the armor.

yeah, but I understand it has gotten confusing since the Boromir's RB case.
My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that i'm right...

February 13, 2009, 10:02:09 AM
Reply #2

Gate Troll

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 971
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 10:02:09 AM »
Yes. Discarding Sapling only prevents one wound, it even says
"If a [Gondor] Man is about to take a wound, discard this artifact to prevent that."
If would have to say:
"If a [Gondor] Man is about to take any number of wounds discard this artifact to prevent that."
To be capable of blocking all damage.

February 14, 2009, 05:43:44 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 05:43:44 AM »
I think you'd have the other wound to deal with. The Sapling prevents the first wound, so it was never taken.

February 14, 2009, 07:20:06 AM
Reply #4

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2009, 07:20:06 AM »
But isn't Armor kinda like a replacement effect? It doesn't say you ignore damage bonuses, it just changes how you deal with it. Instead of taking 2 damage, you take 1. Period. Then, in response, you discard Sapling, and prevent that one wound, no questions asked. You already "cleared" the part about dealing with the wounds, only one would be placed.

February 14, 2009, 08:05:23 AM
Reply #5

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2009, 08:05:23 AM »
It just seems strange that Armor would register a wound being taken when it was prevented--but if you can argue that damage bonuses are ignored beforehand, I'd have no problem. Would you say the same if it was something like Frenzied Attack ("wound that character twice")?

February 14, 2009, 08:09:12 AM
Reply #6

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2009, 08:09:12 AM »
Not sure, the wording on Armor makes it looks like it means lost skirmishes, not skirmish events played during the resolution of a skirmish...

February 14, 2009, 08:12:16 AM
Reply #7

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2009, 08:12:16 AM »
I think that it's more along the lines of: You take the first wound in a skirmish, and then any wounds after the first are ignored. If you prevent the first wound, it was never taken, so you have to take the damage +1.

I do think Armor would negate the second wound from cards such as Red Wrath.

February 14, 2009, 10:11:06 AM
Reply #8

Zoskan

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 31
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2009, 10:11:06 AM »
I think you still have to take the damage +1 wound since with sapling you PREVENT a wound; you didn't TAKE a wound so my guess is that armor text cannot save you this time!

Still armor is excellent against Red Wrath, Scouting Orc bearing any warg and many other possibiliies, but if your character wearing an armor is exhausted and facing a minion with damage + X you'll probably die painfully unless you have enough sapling for each wound or you find a card that says something like: if you're about to take wound, place no token for that wound.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2009, 11:46:15 AM by Zoskan »

February 14, 2009, 01:36:11 PM
Reply #9

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2009, 01:36:11 PM »
I think FM is right. Armor "collapses" the damage bonus into 1 wound, then Sapling prevents the wound.

But, I'm just thinking about Lorien Protector. Does the fact that it has a very different wording to Armor mean that it would work differently? (Obviously preventing the wound on Lorien Protector means he takes no wounds).

Thranduil

February 14, 2009, 03:39:03 PM
Reply #10

Zoskan

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 31
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2009, 03:39:03 PM »
I think FM is right. Armor "collapses" the damage bonus into 1 wound, then Sapling prevents the wound.

That's rather like the mithril-coat which make minions loses all damage bonus, but Armor doesn't say that.

February 14, 2009, 04:19:10 PM
Reply #11

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2009, 04:19:10 PM »
The damage bonus section simply says "...then each losing character takes one additional wound for each damage +1." So the way I figure it is, if a minion with damage +2 wins the skirmish, the companion will have to take three wounds. Sapling responds to the first; the companion did not take a wound. Second wound is taken. Third wound is then ignored.

Same for something like Frenzied Attack. It says to wound a character twice. If the first wound is prevented, I think the second wound will be taken.

But, I'm just thinking about Lorien Protector. Does the fact that it has a very different wording to Armor mean that it would work differently? (Obviously preventing the wound on Lorien Protector means he takes no wounds).
Let's say a companion is killed in a skirmish and threats trigger. You can assign only one threat wound to a companion bearing Armor, assuming no wounds were taken by the companion during that skirmish. The rest will have to be assigned to companions who can take wounds. In the case of Lorien Protector, after he takes the first, he turns into a walking Gimli's Helm--you can assign the rest of the threat wounds to him, and they'll all be ignored.

February 14, 2009, 04:48:58 PM
Reply #12

GarrisonofGondor

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 622
  • Let the armies of Mordor know this....
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2009, 04:48:58 PM »
 I am in complete agreement with ES. Even if your opponent played Red Wraith, You can only take 1 wound from that. Even if you lose that skirmish, you don't take a wound becaouse you already took 1 wound.
"Never Again, will the land of my people, fall into enemy hands! For Gondor! For Gondor! For Gondor!

https://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php?topic=426.120

February 16, 2009, 02:09:32 PM
Reply #13

Gate Troll

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 971
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2009, 02:09:32 PM »
Instead of taking 2 damage, you take 1.

But you take each wound, one at a time. They aren't grouped together, they're in line.
The first wound comes up and is negated by SotWT. The second wound arrives
and since Armor says, "Bearer takes no more than 1 wound during each skirmish phase."
and the first wound was not 'taken' the second wound comes up and finishes the guy.
The key word is 'takes'. Since the guy never 'takes' the first wound the damage is around to finish him off.

February 16, 2009, 03:44:09 PM
Reply #14

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Damage bonus X Armor + Sapling
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2009, 03:44:09 PM »
Yeah, I think I've come round to the popular consensus: preventing 1 wound does you no good because you still have to take the other one.

Thranduil