If a skirmish is canceled with Hobbit Stealth at site 5, can the Final Cry still use it's abilities? Is it still in the skirmish phase even though the skirmish is canceled.
I don't know the answer on that, but looking at the second part of your question, skirmishes involving the Ring-Bearer cannot be canceled. Some people play that you can in the Fellowship block, but that's something to keep in mind.
But I don't know the official ruling because the skirmish is canceled, not "ending" so much...
Also, can Frodo (assuming he's fighting the rog) then put on the one ring to add 2 burdens instead of wounds as it's still in the skirmish phase?
It depends on what copy of the One Ring you are using. One of the reasons I really like
The One Ring, Isildur's Bane is because you can assign as many wounds as you want and then use the
Response action to put the rest in the form of burdens. But if you are using
The One Ring, Answer to All Riddles, for instance, you would have to use that as a skirmish action.
Or
The One Ring, Such a Weight To Carry...I love that card but you have to have some serious foresight to use it during the maneuver phase.
But it sounds like you are playing Fellowship block, especially if
Final Cry is in a deck (and
Hobbit Stealth cancels skirmishes). So if your Frodo has 2 wounds on him, you can assign one more and then the rest of the wounds in burdens with the response action of either ring.
-wtk