The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: buhja97 on April 09, 2019, 03:52:43 PM



Title: Can you exert multiple times to get multiple effects?
Post by: buhja97 on April 09, 2019, 03:52:43 PM
Hello, this has probably been answered before, but I can't find the answer anywhere.

For example, the card The Twilight World (1 R 228) says "If the Ring-bearer puts on The One Ring, exert a Nazgul to add 2 burdens."

Can the Nazgul exert 2 times to add 4 burdens, or 3 times for 6 burdens?

Thanks.


Title: Re: Can you exert multiple times to get multiple effects?
Post by: Air Power on April 09, 2019, 04:20:08 PM
In the specific case you gave, no, you cannot exert more than once for multiple effects.  The Twilight World is an event, and playing the event is a requirement for the effect of adding 2 burdens.

Contrast this with Morgul Answers: this is a condition, so it remains in play.  As long as it is active, it gives you a skirmish action to remove (3) and spot 3 nazgul to have its effect.


Title: Re: Can you exert multiple times to get multiple effects?
Post by: buhja97 on April 09, 2019, 04:38:54 PM
Okay, that makes sense. I didn't think you could, but I wanted to check and make sure. I played with my brother years ago and am just now getting into the game again. I don't think we were playing with correct rules all the time.  :P

Thanks for the help!


Title: Re: Can you exert multiple times to get multiple effects?
Post by: ket_the_jet on April 12, 2019, 08:18:38 AM
Even better, compare to His Terrible Servants. Both The Twilight World and His Terrible Servants are response actions, but because The Twilight World is an event, you would need multiple copies to achieve the effect multiple times. By comparison, you can use His Terrible Servants to prevent an infinite number of wounds, presuming you have an infinite number of twilight.
-wtk