LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Magic: The Gathering » MTG Deck Clinics » Extended (Type 1.X)
Elessar's Socks
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:30 am
Total Magic beginner here. Smile I’ve been looking up cards and playtesting them against myself for kicks, so feel free to suggest any cards you like. Advice on how many lands to run and the general mana curve would be very much appreciated.

---

The first deck is a bit top-heavy, but after the shaky start it can explode with Saprolings courtesy of Saproling Symbiosis, and generate life with Patron of the Kitsune.

4 Brushland
1 Eiganjo Castle
14 Forest
1 Okina, Temple to the Grandfathers

4 Birds of Paradise
3 Patron of the Kitsune
4 Llanowar Elves
4 Utopia Mycon
2 Verdant Force

4 Aura Mutation
3 Copy Enchantment
4 Fists of Ironwood
4 Natural Order
4 Saproling Burst
4 Saproling Symbiosis

If I draw Natural Order I can usually get a Verdant Force down by turn 3; the next best thing would be a Utopia Mycon, if one isn’t out already. The Mycon sacrifices Saprolings to add mana of any color, which is great for squeezing out Bursts and Symbioses in a chain reaction, as well as casting off-color spells. Copy Enchantment is primarily there to combo with Bursts. The deck lacks global creature pumps so if the Verdant Force is held up, the win will probably depend on sheer numbers.

The deck I’ve mostly been testing against runs 4x Pestilence so I’ve needed some form of enchantment removal. Aura Mutation lets me make use of my own enchantments if I don’t have a more pressing target.

---

The second deck fits the mana curve better (I think), and this time I’m stocking Overrun instead of Saproling Symbiosis. Less Saproling generation, but hopefully an earlier kill. I’ve kept heavier hitters like Verdant Forces and Bursts though so I wouldn’t be relying on Overrun as the kill card too much.

4 Brushland