LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Spotting Twilight Tokens  (Read 4694 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 18, 2008, 05:22:25 AM
Read 4694 times

CCCORNIV

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 167
Spotting Twilight Tokens
« on: September 18, 2008, 05:22:25 AM »
 I was sorting through some cards last night when this card caught my eye, 5R18 Fury of the White Rider.  The game text reads Maneuver: Spot 3 twilight tokens and exert Gandalf to wound a minion twice.  My question is if the twilight pool has no twilight tokens can this card still be played?  The cost of the this event is 3 twilight tokens, at what point is the twilight cost of the event paid?  In the past we have just slapped the event down, threw in three twilight and wounded away, but I think we have played this wrong.
 
 I'd assume that Keep Your Forked Tounge is the same.  You would have to spot 3 twilight tokens before paying the cost of the event.  While the game text for Gandalf, The White Wizard would be added at any point there is 3 twilight tokens in the twilight pool.   Thanks in advance. ~ Chris
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 05:39:52 AM by CCCORNIV »

September 18, 2008, 07:49:46 AM
Reply #1

Malachi

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 229
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 07:49:46 AM »
I assume it's the same as with Under the Living Earth. So you add tokens before the action triggers and the tokens are spotted.

September 18, 2008, 08:06:10 AM
Reply #2

CCCORNIV

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 167
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 08:06:10 AM »
Why even spot 3 tokens then?  There will always be 3 tokens when the card is played.  Strange card.

September 18, 2008, 09:03:05 AM
Reply #3

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 09:03:05 AM »
Incorrect. There are two parts to the card, cost and effect.

Cost: This condition must be met before the card is even played.
Card is then played.
Now you get effect.

So, in order to play the card, you must meet the cost of playing the card, spotting three twilight tokens.

Then the card is played, adding 3 more.

Then you get the effect.

Which explains the difference between Under the Living Earth and this card, the effect occurs after the card is played, thus the twilight is counted. So the card isn't QUITE as good as you thought, but still sweet with Ents. Actually, with ents, go Deep In Thought. Totally go Deep in Thought.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 09:04:40 AM by NBarden »
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 18, 2008, 09:10:52 AM
Reply #4

Ulmo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 141
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2008, 09:10:52 AM »
I understand what you're saying and I agree on your ruling, but playing devil's advocate: the spot and the exertion is in the same line of game text joined by the word 'and'.  You shouldn't be exerting before playing the card.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world.  Those who know binary and those who don't.
You don't have a backpack. What you have there is an invisible leather TARDIS.

September 18, 2008, 09:12:51 AM
Reply #5

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2008, 09:12:51 AM »
Why not? If Gandalf  is exhausted, you play the card and oops, can't pay the cost, I get the effect anyways.

Nope. Its part of the cost that must be met before the card is played.

Correction: Must be ABLE to be met. Then you play and exert.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 18, 2008, 11:13:54 AM
Reply #6

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2008, 11:13:54 AM »
NB is correct, as you play a card you must be able to meet its cost requirements before playing it. This is why Strength of Spirit cannot be used on an exhausted companion, as an exhausted companion cannot meet the cost requirement originally.

Bit of a tangent, but understanding cost and effect is an essential part of the game
« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 09:36:07 AM by TheJord »
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

September 18, 2008, 02:37:39 PM
Reply #7

CCCORNIV

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 167
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2008, 02:37:39 PM »
So for example, Under the Living Earth has a cost of 1 twilight token and there are two tokens in the twilight pool.  So I pay the cost of 1 twilight to make Gandalf +3 or +2?

September 18, 2008, 04:29:33 PM
Reply #8

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2008, 04:29:33 PM »
Since under the living earth counts twilight as part of the effect, you'd be able to spot 3.

But since spotting twilight is part of the cost on cards like KYFT, you have to spot the tokens first.

See the difference?
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

September 18, 2008, 05:00:10 PM
Reply #9

CCCORNIV

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 167
Re: Spotting Twilight Tokens
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2008, 05:00:10 PM »
Got it.   :up: