The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Myshob on December 30, 2015, 06:14:32 AM

Title: Effects of multiple copies
Post by: Myshob on December 30, 2015, 06:14:32 AM
Hi, this might seem as an absolutely straightforward thing, but i've not been able to find a clear answer.

If you have multiple cards with the same effect in play and pay the cost for one, does it activate all of them, or do you have to pay the cost for each one separately?

For example, you have both Orophin, Silvan Elf and Rumil, Silvan Elf on the table. You exert a hunter and add a threat. Can you now place two wounds or just one? (providing that you exert someone else than one of them)

Similar thing with Shadowplay if you have 4 copies on the table, can you exert a hobbit once to exert a minion up to 4 times?

And one more example, pipes from the early sets, i.e. Aragorn's Pipe If you discard one pipeweed, does it trigger all pipes in play or only one of them?

Many thanks for clarifying this for me :)
Title: Re: Effects of multiple copies
Post by: Dictionary on December 30, 2015, 06:41:17 AM
If a card has a bold word like Fellowship or Archery followed by an action, then you must fully perform one action before performing another (From the Comprehensive Rulebook: Each phase action must be completely performed before another phase action can be performed. Phase actions cannot be combined.)

So you can't combine the effects of Rumil and Orophin or the effects of the pipes. To give another example, you cannot combine Pippin, Mr. Took with The Prancing Pony*, because they are both separate phase actions.

Shadowplay works a bit differently, however, and I've never used the card, so hopefully someone else will clarify this. It's not a phase action, it simply says "Each time a minion is played", so you can exert multiple hobbits to exert one minion multiple times (Or exert several minions) but you need multiple copies of Shadowplay to do this because each one says "limit once per turn". So while you could exert a minion 4 times, it would cost 4 exertions.

Hope that makes things a bit clearer :)
Title: Re: Effects of multiple copies
Post by: Ringbearer on December 30, 2015, 06:55:25 AM
There difference here is between an activated ability and a triggered ability.

Let me explain them first: an activated ability is something you choose to do. Example: Aragorns Pipe. You pay the cost just for that one card and do as much as possible. That means you cannot activate Arargorns pipe and expect all pipes to trigger. The cost is for Aragorns Pipe only.

A triggered ability is an ability that you cannot activate at will, but its needs a sort of trigger. Shadowplay is a good example here. For those, they simply go off as the condition is met, and then multiple cards can go off at the same time. Note that you still handle them one a a time since they can  feed cards like Unheeded.
Title: Re: Effects of multiple copies
Post by: Myshob on January 09, 2016, 06:17:58 AM
So even with 4 Shadowplay out, you still have 1 minion exert for 1 hobbit exert. Ok.

Thank you again guys, me and my friends have undusted our cards after a 4 year break and we want to play it properly :)

One more question, is a spot requirement satisfied even if the card that needs to be spotted is stacked on a condition, i.e. can you play Sweeter Meats with Gollum stacked on a Web in your support area?

Title: Re: Effects of multiple copies
Post by: Dictionary on January 09, 2016, 07:08:41 AM
Nope. From the Comprehensive Rules: "Stacked cards are not in play and are not active. You cannot spot them. They do not count for uniqueness." You'd have to have Gollum in play to use Sweeter Meats.

Thank you again guys, me and my friends have undusted our cards after a 4 year break and we want to play it properly :)
Sounds great! Hope you guys have a good time. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask. I don't know whether or not you have the rulebooks, but if not you can find them here: http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,345.0.html