The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: NappyKorn on November 25, 2008, 09:31:06 AM
-
Ok here is a genius question, that I'm sure is pretty simple, but I better ask anyway.
If the fellowship has threats piling up and for the regroup phase the shadow player plays Sting of Shelob can the companion going to hand eat some of the threats before he goes to hand? Or does this action happen all at once placing one companion in the dead pile and the other to hand at the same time meaning they can't place threats wounds on the companion returning to hand. Either way please explain the logic of your answer (hopefully referencing the rule books).
Seems like a pretty stupid question since Sting of Shelob is one of the most useless rares in the game and who would really build a deck around it seeing as it takes quite a bit of twilight adding to pull of, but would be good to know just in case I dabble into it or perhaps face something like this one day :up:.
Thanks,
Nk
-
Actually, I used Sting of Shelob to devastating effect in my Ninja Gollum deck. Ask bib. I killed his WtG deck.
I would think that it could not eat threat wounds.
-
i built a deck around it.... haha, i never played anyone with it though, i think it would stink. it's more of a card you use in another strategy, like NB's ninja gollum. :up:
-
I concur with Nbarden.
"He or she then chooses to place one of those companions in the dead pile and return the other to his or her hand."
Seems to me it all happens at once.
-
Ok, thanks all. I will play it this way for now unless others can prove a valid point to alter this decision :up:.
-
I love Sting of Shelob - it's one of my favourite cards ever printed. Not because it's especially good, but because it's fun and well designed.
I think the timing goes like this:
1) Cost of SoS is met (ie. removing [1](0), spotting Shelob).
2) The effects of the card take place in the following order (given by the card):
i) The Free Peoples player chooses 2 companions.
ii) The Free Peoples player puts one of those companions into their hand and the other in their dead pile.
3) Threats trigger.
I could of course be wrong, but I think the companion going to the dead pile and the companion returning to hand happen at the same time so threats are triggered only after the companion has been bounced.
Thranduil
-
Sweet, I think I made a pretty fun deck then. I will post it on the boards in a few and see what everyone thinks.
-
I'm thinking they don't happen at the same time. English is read from left to right, so I'd assume that a companion has to be placed in the dead pile first. It's for the same reason that with Gorgoroth Swarm, you can't take control of a site before playing a Besieger (say, Gothmog, LoM) from your discard pile.
-
I'm inclined to agree with ES on this one. Not much happens simultaneously in this game.
Threats happen when a companion hits the dead pile... which would be before you return the other to hand as per the cards gametext.