The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Centurion on December 18, 2008, 05:04:10 AM

Title: Rohan Question
Post by: Centurion on December 18, 2008, 05:04:10 AM
Say you have Eomer Skilled Tactician and you use Simbelmyne to play a companion would you then be able to pull Simbelmyne back and use it again.  Just curious cuz GT said no and I have no idea so I thought I'd take it to the experts.
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Elrohir on December 18, 2008, 05:08:57 AM
Firstly, Simbelmyne is a fellowship event, but you are just allowed to take back an skirmish event anyway (or possesion).
Further more, you can either use Eomers ability OR Simbelmyne.

It would work, if Eomer says: "Each time, a companion is played...." But you have to play the companion from hand in the fellowship phase with Eomers "ability".

The same situation: Dark Approach and Buckland Homestead.
You can use the event, to play a Nazgul and get its cost reduced, OR you play a Nazgul to discard a condition. But you can not combine these cards to get the minion cheaper an do get rid of conditions.
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Centurion on December 18, 2008, 05:14:54 AM
OK thanks a ton  :gp: :lol:
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on December 18, 2008, 06:28:45 AM
Actually, even if Eomer's text was "Each time..." and he took back any event, he still couldn't take back Simbelmyne, because it has not yet hit the discard pile. Similar ruling to They Are Coming.
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Gil-Estel on December 18, 2008, 02:00:08 PM
and Toldea and Dark Approach....
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Elrohir on December 18, 2008, 05:44:58 PM
@Gil-Estel: Are you sure? I had heared you are allowed to take Dark Aproach  :-? I think this example is listed on a so-called list.
I know, it does not hit the actual topic, but its mechanic. Gil-Estel, can you assure me that? According to your statement, I have to change some decks.
I am like a factory know - I can not stand it to challenge other players!  :uh-huh:
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on December 18, 2008, 07:11:51 PM
Nope, GE is correct, it is the same concept. Toldea may NOT take into hand the same Dark Approach used to play him at a discount; he must take into hand a different physical card.
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 18, 2008, 11:55:12 PM
@NOLINKElrohir: The Toldea / Dark Approach and similar issues are covered by the "playing a card" summary in the CRD. The abbreviated version goes like this:

- Reveal Dark Approach and it enters the void (doesn't count for initiative, can't be discarded to pay costs)
- Perform effects: Play Toldea.
-- Respond to the playing of Toldea: Exert him to take a [Wraith] event into hand.
- Dark Approach goes to the discard pile.
Title: Re: Rohan Question
Post by: Elrohir on December 19, 2008, 05:34:49 AM
@Elessars Socks: Thank you, but I have already known how it works  ;). I just thought, there is a kind of exception in that case about Toldea. But it seems, there is not.