The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Kralik on January 10, 2009, 11:24:02 AM
-
So, for Boromir, Bearer of Council:
If he is wearing Armor, is it possible to fulfill the two wounds requirement? Or would you HAVE to add burdens? This also came up in a game where it was asked whether Sapling of the White Tree can prevent a wound (add two, prevent one?)
-
Unless I am mistaken, I believe I read that if Boromir is wearing Armor he cannot choose the 2 wound option... hence making it a foolish idea!
In the rules it says if actions have choices you must choose the one that you can complete the most. In this case it would be adding burdens.
http://lotrtcgdb.com/community/viewtopic.php?search_id=1644915166&t=5236 - A previous discussion on the same topic back at CC
-
Makes sense. What about Sapling of the White Tree?
-
In the same vein, if you prevent one of the actions, you will then have to complete the other action you can fully complete. The rulebook has an example of Sapling and Morgul Brute, where preventing one causes the other to occur.
-
Got it, thanks! :gp:
-
Man, I so need a new rulebook.
-
I agree about Armor, but I don't see the problem with Sapling of the White Tree. You choose to wound Boromir twice, then you respond by preventing one of those wounds. Seems fair enough to me. :-k
Thranduil
-
I agree about Armor, but I don't see the problem with Sapling of the White Tree. You choose to wound Boromir twice, then you respond by preventing one of those wounds. Seems fair enough to me. :-k
Thranduil
Seems fair but in fact you can´t do it. The rulebook example involves exactly the sapling-RB issue and states that if you do something that alter the effect and you have another option that you can fullfil better you have to do the second option.
-
That doesn't make any sense to me, but fair enough I agree with you that those are the rules.
Thranduil
-
That doesn't make any sense to me, but fair enough I agree with you that those are the rules.
Thranduil
Sometimes the rules doesn´t make sense at all...at least for or good sense
-
Its to stop abuse of the options. Morgul Brute should add a burden, but you can wound the RB to prevent. Preventing the prevention would be OP
-
Its to stop abuse of the options. Morgul Brute should add a burden, but you can wound the RB to prevent. Preventing the prevention would be OP
My problem is that the FP player has already chosen the option and to make them go back in time and choose a different option just because they were smart enough to prevent the option they chose doesn't actually make game sense to me. If you're packing Intimidate or Sapling of the White Tree and you use them to negate Morgul Brute, I'd say that was smart deckbuilding and good play, not overpowered.
Thranduil
-
Its to stop abuse of the options. Morgul Brute should add a burden, but you can wound the RB to prevent. Preventing the prevention would be OP
My problem is that the FP player has already chosen the option and to make them go back in time and choose a different option just because they were smart enough to prevent the option they chose doesn't actually make game sense to me. If you're packing Intimidate or Sapling of the White Tree and you use them to negate Morgul Brute, I'd say that was smart deckbuilding and good play, not overpowered.
Thranduil
The point is, you choose to wound, you have to wound. If you say "I choose to wound and prevent the wound" LMAO Did you wound? Oops, I guess not!
Same as Frodo, CH and DDotR... you can't choose to discard and then don't discard because of Frodo's text.
-
LK's simplistic approach probably sums it up best. If you're saying you're gonna do something, you either do or it doesnt work. :P
-
Ok just to clear this up with my friend Berry (And sorry, whoever made this thread, for posting another question that doesn't relate to the topic), You can't have two ring-bearers in the same deck right? And of course sam and frodo don't count cuz that's part of sam's text.
-
Well, you can only use one "The One Ring." And you can only use it on your desired Ring-bearer (unless it changes hands to Sam because of his game text).
However, you can use ARB's as normal companions, for example, just not bearing the ring. Then you have to pay their twilight costs and other such things. Except for Frodo - he's not an ARB (just a Ring-bearer) so you can't use him other than as the Ring-bearer. And there's no way to "give" the ring to an ARB you're using as a regular comp, either.
-
Ok so you can have ring bearer's in your deck except Frodo (Unless it's Frodo, ff). But What's an ARB?
-
Nor can you, in tournament play, switch which companion you're using as your Ringbearer between games/rounds.
ARB = Alternate Ringbearer (eg, Boromir, BoC or Gimli, BoG)
-
K thanks.
-
Its to stop abuse of the options. Morgul Brute should add a burden, but you can wound the RB to prevent. Preventing the prevention would be OP
No it wouldn't be OP. You still have to discard the card, nothing wrong with that, just plain old cause and effect, man. I mean come on, its just one measly burden! 8-)