The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Zoskan on January 21, 2009, 04:08:57 PM
-
Bill Ferny, Swarthy Sneering Fellow game text says: Nazgûl are not roaming. What happen then if Faramir, Bearer of Quality wounds himself to make a Nazgûl roaming when Bill is in play? Is the the Nazgûl gonna be roaming or not???
-
It's the paradox of the millennium!
The solution? Don't play Expanded. :P
-
I think this particular quandry is similar to the question not long ago about 'preventing' wound and 'not being able to take' wounds.
Bill Ferny, SSF says Nazgul cant be roaming. Faramir pays the cost of his action, but his effect is nullified by SSF.
-
I'm thinking too that Bill should nullified Faramir's special ability if he targets a Nazgûl but I can't find a specific rule to support that theory. At least, Faramir could always make Bill roaming.
-
Don't they have yes-no interaction? I recall it existed bck in the day... Basically, when two abilities say "yes" and "no" to something, the "no" prevails. So if a minion is unable to gain fierce and you play a card that says it makes it fierce, it won't be fierce. If a card says to wound and they can't take wounds, they don't take wounds. Same with Bill.
-
I guess since Bill just says "Nazgul are not roaming" you could really make one roaming - it'd just be un-roaming-ed immediately after.
-
I'd use what FM was saying, although the rulebook might not explicitly cover it. Tossing another example in there, if Shelob HL prevents a companion from being assigned to a skirmish, Mauhur RH won't be able to assign himself to that companion. So my feeling is that, based on precedence, the "no" from Ferny will also stand.
-
It doesnt really matter if the effect occurs whilst Ferny is on the table. He flatly stops nazgul from roaming and nothing can prevent that. Its like having something out that says your conditions cant be discarded and then you play a card that says discard a condition. You cant overule a card unless it specifically says you can, i dont think.
-
Line of Defense and Greenleaf
-
OK, but this is definetly more clear than the original comparison, I mean, when you cannot wound, you cannot wound. This does not leave space for discussions. But thanks for the original question GIl- Estel. Good to know
-
Bill have an active text that states that Nazgul are not roaming. As long as Ferny´s text still there (and active) there is no way that Nazgul can be roaming cause he insert a new condition (state) to the game. If some card nullifies Ferny´s text (like Phial of Galadriel, SG) then Nazgul can become roaming, cause that condition no longer exist.