The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Gerontius on February 05, 2009, 04:08:25 PM

Title: Vision From Afar
Post by: Gerontius on February 05, 2009, 04:08:25 PM
I have one more rules question..........
If I have 2 easterlings out and my opponent assigns one to the Ringbearer, can I interrupt the assignment phase with vision from afar and "swarm" the ringbearer?
Or, what if I have 2 copies of Vision From Afar in hand?
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Elrohir on February 05, 2009, 04:14:29 PM
"Assingment" actions take place, before the Free People players assigns the minions.

But: If a character is already assigned, you can not assign him to another skirmish by an assignment action.
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Gerontius on February 05, 2009, 04:30:53 PM
Thanks.
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: leokula on February 06, 2009, 02:59:16 AM
Or, what if I have 2 copies of Vision From Afar in hand?

You use the first one: if the FP player adds aburden, then you can try again with the second.. otherwise there's no point in playing it again ;)
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Imrahil on February 26, 2009, 08:33:34 AM
so, if I've got a Bill Ferny (first set) and a Witch-King out there, I can't let the freep player assign "the king" and then assign Ferny in the same skirmish, can I?
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Thranduil on February 26, 2009, 09:27:39 AM
so, if I've got a Bill Ferny (first set) and a Witch-King out there, I can't let the freep player assign "the king" and then assign Ferny in the same skirmish, can I?
Well no, but that's for 2 different reasons, 1) because unless a companion has defender bonuses, it can only be assigned to 1 minion by the FP player and 2) because Bill Ferny forbids the Free Peoples player from assigning him to a skirmish in the first place.

However, in your example, FP player assigns Witch-King to say, Aragorn, then you get to put Bill wherever you like, even on Aragorn.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Elessar's Socks on February 26, 2009, 01:55:21 PM
Leftover minions (minions still unassigned when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments) can be assigned anywhere the Shadow player wishes, including to an already assigned companion. That's usually the case with Ferny.

Also I think the ruling went that neither player can use assignment actions (special abilities, events) to assign a minion to an already assigned companion, even if that companion has a defender bonus. To do this both must be unassigned. Just in case that comes up.
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: lem0nhead on February 27, 2009, 12:45:10 AM
Also I think the ruling went that neither player can use assignment actions (special abilities, events) to assign a minion to an already assigned companion, even if that companion has a defender bonus. To do this both must be unassigned. Just in case that comes up.

Yup all assignments are done on a one to one basis, unless there are more minions than companions after assignment actions and the freeps player has finished assigning.
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Alkarin on May 19, 2009, 06:00:35 PM
sorry for the ask.. but if my opponent have 2 gorgoroth assassin in play, he can assign both to same companion?  or he only can do this if the companion have def+1 bonus?
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 19, 2009, 07:37:51 PM
Juicy Fruit said it. ;) The exact quote from the rulebook goes: "Many assignment actions assign a minion to a companion. You cannot do this unless both of them are unassigned."

Your opponent won't be able to assign both Assassins to the same companion (with their assignment actions), even if the companion has a defender bonus.
Title: Re: Vision From Afar
Post by: Alkarin on May 20, 2009, 08:25:45 AM
i think in the same way... thanks!!