The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Gerontius on February 19, 2009, 09:28:37 PM

Title: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Gerontius on February 19, 2009, 09:28:37 PM
1. If I have a Bilbo ring-bearer with Consorting with Wizards and The one ring, atar and I'm wearing the ring do I have to take a burden? It sort of makes sense that CwW doesn't activate until atar has already added a burden, but I'm not sure...... #-o
2. With Sting, BotEL, does it's effect trigger before or after the wounds have been taken in the skirmish? If I cancel the skirmish, can I still use its effect?
Thanks! :P
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Zoskan on February 19, 2009, 10:20:43 PM
1. The cost is to add burden to wear the OR, AtAR and get a +2 strength bonus from it during the skirmish phase: You're not taking a wound to pay the cost, so CwW doesn't apply there if that's what you want to know.

2. Sting, BotEL effect triggers after the wounds have been taken.
As long as Frodo or Sam aren't the Ring-bearer (you can't cancel a ring-bearer's skirmish) my guess is that you can use BotEL even if you cancel the skirmish.
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Thranduil on February 20, 2009, 04:08:52 AM
1. If I have a Bilbo ring-bearer with Consorting with Wizards and The one ring, atar and I'm wearing the ring do I have to take a burden? It sort of makes sense that CwW doesn't activate until atar has already added a burden, but I'm not sure...... #-o
No, you don't take burdens. This is because "cannot take wounds" prevents the wound from even materialising and so at no point is Bilbo "about to take a wound" because he can't, therefore he cannot take a burden instead.

2. With Sting, BotEL, does it's effect trigger before or after the wounds have been taken in the skirmish? If I cancel the skirmish, can I still use its effect?
Thanks! :P
Zoskan is all over this one.

Thranduil
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Kralik on February 20, 2009, 06:21:22 AM
2. With Sting, BotEL, does it's effect trigger before or after the wounds have been taken in the skirmish? If I cancel the skirmish, can I still use its effect?
Thanks! :P
Zoskan is all over this one.

Thranduil

Well, you are not exactly canceling the skirmish, but discarding the minion. This happens after the skirmish is resolved. For example, if you pit Frodo vs. Sauron, he is overwhelmed before you can use the gametext to discard Sauron.
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Elessar's Socks on February 20, 2009, 07:25:44 AM
I think they meant using something like No Visitors to cancel a fierce skirmish, and then discarding the minion with BotEL. Even a canceled skirmish has to end, so that should be fine.
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Gerontius on February 20, 2009, 10:08:29 AM
Thanks!
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Gerontius on March 14, 2009, 06:34:10 PM
I have yet another question.... In a game against Imrahil, it was the start of the regroup phase and I had Shelob out and a copy of web. He had Galadriel, LR. Can he wait until I stack shelob on web to use Galadriel's effect and discard Shelob and web at the same time? Can I wait until he has said whether or not he's going to move on before I stack Shelob?
Thanks again! 8-)
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Elrohir on March 14, 2009, 06:44:01 PM
FPP goes first with regroup actions - if he do not want to do anything, the shadowplayer takes his regroup action. If he pass, the shadowplayer reconciles, the FPP decides to move again or to stay afterwards.

You see, there are some possibilities:

1: LR discards the web. Shelob is still in play. SP take next action....
2: LR waits, you pass - > no more regroup special abilities possible. Shelob is still in play, but not stacked.
3: LR waits, you stack, LR discard web and stacked shelob
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on March 14, 2009, 06:48:16 PM
Here's the sequence of events as it would most likely go down:

Beginning of Regroup Phase
  FP Player passes
  S Player stacks Shelob on Web
  FP Player uses Galadriel, LR to discard Web
  S Player passes (no more actions)
  FP Player passes (no more actions)
S Player reconciles
FP Player chooses whether they will move again (if able) or reconcile.

It's all laid out in the Hunters Starter rulebook, pages 30 and 31:  http://lotrtcgdb.com/rules/starter.pdf
Title: Re: A few more rules questions...
Post by: Gerontius on March 14, 2009, 07:52:52 PM
Thanks!