The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: cdwalkley on February 27, 2009, 12:43:31 PM

Title: Do X to play a card from Y - new player question
Post by: cdwalkley on February 27, 2009, 12:43:31 PM
Another noob question for the gurus....

Many cards have an effect which allows you to play a card from somewhere other than your hand.

In the rules, under effects, it seems pretty clear that the part before the 'to' is the cost, and playing a card is what you get to do if you pay that cost.

My question is that if the quote below is also true, do you still need to pay the twilight cost?
Quote
Some cards allow you to play a card directly from your draw deck. You must still pay any costs and meet requirements necessary for playing that card.

The above quite and the following one seem to suggest you do:

Quote
In the upper left corner of each Free Peoples and Shadow card is that card’s twilight cost. This is the number of twilight tokens that must be added to or removed from the twilight pool to play that card.


But then, if the following is true it seems that you only need to do 'X' to get the effect 'Y', in this case playing the card:

Quote
A cost of an action could be adding or removing twilight tokens, exerting a character, discarding a card, or any number of other possibilities. The costs for an action are usually listed before the word “to” (so the action takes the form of “pay X to do Y,” with X being the cost and Y the effect).

But if the definition of 'to play' includes paying the twilight cost, then I suppose you might have to add or remove twilight tokens from the pool in addtion to any other costs.

.... my sanity is slipping away!   :o


Title: Re: Do X to play a card from Y - new player question
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on February 27, 2009, 12:50:35 PM
Yes, when a cost or effect is to "play X from Y", you must still pay all costs associated with playing that card as if from hand, including adding or subtracting from the twilight pool.
Title: Re: Do X to play a card from Y - new player question
Post by: cdwalkley on February 28, 2009, 03:33:23 AM
Great. Thanks very much!

Chris