The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: TheJord on March 24, 2009, 05:57:41 AM

Title: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: TheJord on March 24, 2009, 05:57:41 AM
Can The One Ring, The Ruling Ring add burdens if LotN exerts to wound him twice?
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: lem0nhead on March 24, 2009, 06:20:11 AM
Id say yes.
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Pepin The Breve on March 24, 2009, 06:36:42 AM
  Yes, he can. There is a clarification somewhere that say that the RB can put the ring to prevent wounds in this case.
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Thranduil on March 24, 2009, 07:41:44 AM
Well, the point is that it's a skirmish phase when the Ring-bearer is taking those wounds, hence he can wear the Ring.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: TheJord on March 24, 2009, 09:55:06 AM
Back when I was a n00b, I played against TTT Ents with a terrible beatdown Nazgul deck, this guy was supposed to win me the game... then the guy I was playing just said "Ok so I will put on the Ring..." "NOOOOOOOOOOO!"
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: GarrisonofGondor on March 25, 2009, 02:06:24 PM
 But the ring says SKIRMISH not skirmish phase. I'd say you only wear it when you are in a skirmish.
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Aragorn_Ellessar on March 25, 2009, 02:39:47 PM
By golly, GoG is right. It says while the RB is in a skirmish he can wear the one ring. not before.
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: FM on March 25, 2009, 04:12:41 PM
But the ring says SKIRMISH not skirmish phase. I'd say you only wear it when you are in a skirmish.

No, there'sa  difference between the skirmish phase and skirmishing. Even if a different skirmish is resolving, I can still use "skirmish" abilities from other characters, otherwise, for instance, those Uruks from Towers block that pumps other Uruks would be useless.
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Thranduil on March 25, 2009, 04:52:41 PM
Yes, FM is right. You are still taking the wounds "in a skirmish", it's just not the Ring-bearer's skirmish.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Aragorn_Ellessar on March 25, 2009, 05:23:16 PM
Is it the same with other rings?
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Thranduil on March 25, 2009, 05:25:01 PM
Yes. this will be true for all rings with the wording "about to take a wound in a skirmish". And it's obvious that something like Isildur's Bane or the Ring of Rings will be able to take burdens instead of wounds.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Witch-king, LotN
Post by: Aragorn_Ellessar on March 25, 2009, 05:44:03 PM
Ok, thanks. :gp: