The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Bombadil on April 04, 2009, 12:47:39 PM

Title: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Bombadil on April 04, 2009, 12:47:39 PM
If I use, for example, Gorgoroth Garrison (7C273), and discard an isengard orc from hand, can I stack that orc on Iron Fist of the Orc (6U64) (or any other of these isengard stacking cards)?
I know that when a card tells you to discard something it should be from play, but Im not sure if it is the same when a card is discarded. Last Days (12U71) and some more cards say "discarded from play"...

Thanks!
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: TheJord on April 04, 2009, 12:52:23 PM
All the [Isengard] stacking cards say if discarded by a regroup action, and as you say the default meaning is always from play.
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: GarrisonofGondor on April 04, 2009, 06:31:46 PM
 So in other words... NO [-X
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Elessar's Socks on April 05, 2009, 02:19:33 AM
The "from play" addition on some cards is probably for clarity.
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Bombadil on April 05, 2009, 03:58:20 PM
 :( I was hoping I oculd use Larder + Scaffolding + Isengard Tender   :mrgreen:   [-X

Thanks for helping  :up:
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: MR. Lurtzy on April 05, 2009, 04:55:36 PM
I don't see why you can't use that combo.
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Bombadil on April 05, 2009, 06:07:34 PM
Because larder discards from hand, so I wouldnt be able to stack on scaffolding when using it...
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: MR. Lurtzy on April 05, 2009, 08:02:34 PM
Where is it clarified that scaffolding only accepts minions from play?
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Elessar's Socks on April 05, 2009, 08:55:20 PM
Here's the relevant section from the rulebook:

Quote
The default meaning of the word “discard” is “discard from play.” Discarding from other locations (such as from your hand or from the top of your draw deck) is always specified.
Scaffolding doesn't specify a location, so it uses the default meaning. A similar example would be Plundered Armories responding only to [Moria] weapons discarded from play.
Title: Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
Post by: Vroengard on April 06, 2009, 05:38:30 AM
otherwise it would be a bit unfair, doesn't it?!