The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Cw0rk on May 22, 2009, 11:35:30 AM
-
Let's say the fellowship choose to move again from Minas Tirith First Circle.
I have Window of the Eye in my support area and Wizard Storm is placed on the site.
What triggers first? The exertions from Wizard Storm or the wounds?
-
Window of the Eye would go first. Then the Free Peoples gets the choice of which of the other two activates first.
-
Windows of the Eye would go first. Then the Free Peoples gets the choice of which of the other two activates first.
No, other way round. Minas Tirith and Wizard Storm are required actions and therefore have to happen before the optional action of Windows of the Eye can trigger. In general, if there are 2 things responding off the same trigger, the Free Peoples player does choose which goes first, you I think you should be able to wound every guy, then exert them, and after all that has happened, the Shadow player gets to remove a threat to wound someone.
Thranduil
-
As a similar question..
Does What Did You Discover trigger before or after the shadow player reconciles?
-
As a similar question..
Does What Did You Discover trigger before or after the shadow player reconciles?
It triggers after because the shadow player has to reconcile before the fellowship choose to stay or move.
For my first question... I need more opinions as Thradnuil and TheJord can't agree.
-
Required actions must be resolved before optional ones. The Free Peoples player chooses the order in which to resolve Minas Tirith First Circle and Wizard Storm, has the first opportunity to perform an optional action (passes), and then the Shadow player has the opportunity to resolve Window of the Eye or pass.
-
Agreed, mandatory actions are being performed first, after that the optional.
-
More importantly than the "mandatory actions come first" rule is the order in which actions occur during movement:
1. "When the fellowship moves from" actions
2. "When the fellowship moves" actions
3. "When the fellowship moves to" actions
The easy way to remember it is that they start by leaving the site ("moves from"), then they're in transit ("moves"), then they arrive at their destination ("moves to").
The Minas Tirith First Circle and Wizard Storm cards are both "moves from" actions, and they're both mandatory; thus, the Free Peoples player gets to choose in which order they occur.
Window of the Eye is a "moves" action, so, mandatory or not, it would be happening after the other two.
-
Good catch!
And welcome to the forums, Alazzar! :gp:
-
Thanks, glad to be here! I used to be quite an avid player back in the day, and a friend of mine and I (he's Rubbercarp on the forums, and the one that directed me here) recently dusted off our cards and decided to play a few games.
As expected, I'm hooked again. Man, this game was -- er... IS -- SO good!
I love that you folks had the CRD and Comprehensive Rulebook archived here. I'd been lookin' for those for a while, just to brush up on my rules. =P
-
More importantly than the "mandatory actions come first" rule is the order in which actions occur during movement:
1. "When the fellowship moves from" actions
2. "When the fellowship moves" actions
3. "When the fellowship moves to" actions
The easy way to remember it is that they start by leaving the site ("moves from"), then they're in transit ("moves"), then they arrive at their destination ("moves to").
The Minas Tirith First Circle and Wizard Storm cards are both "moves from" actions, and they're both mandatory; thus, the Free Peoples player gets to choose in which order they occur.
Window of the Eye is a "moves" action, so, mandatory or not, it would be happening after the other two.
Thanks Alazzar, this quote was the one I got mixed up when I made my OP.
-
so if I have a regroup action like that of "Attack on Helm's Deep" I have to discard my Uruk-Hai before the fellowship decides whether or not to move twice?
-
Deciding to move happens after all regroup actions, including "at the end of the regroup phase" actions.
-
so if I have a regroup action like that of "Attack on Helm's Deep" I have to discard my Uruk-Hai before the fellowship decides whether or not to move twice?
That's part of what makes it so much fun!