The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Not a Zombie on June 26, 2009, 09:24:16 AM
-
Lets say you have Merry, friend to sam and 3 everyone knows in play. Merry is fully healed, so is 6 str. Now you use his text and exert him twice to add his str to another companion. Does the other companion get 6 str or 4?
-
I think Merry counts his strength when his ability is used, and so you would add 6. This is only gut instinct, I'm afraid. I'm not sure there is an official ruling on this, but if there is someone here will find it!
Thranduil
-
I'd say you get the reduced strength. Since you have to pay the cost before the effect, after exerting twice, he no longer has the high strength to add. Hmmm... :-k
-
I go with Kralik. You first pay the cost (two exertions) then you perform the ability (add his strenght). So in this case he only boost 3 to another companion strenght.
-
Yeah, on second thoughts I also disagree with myself - I'm probably thinking too much like Magic.
The order of a card's text tells you the order in which they happen, therefore you exert Merry twice and then count his strength.
Thranduil
-
What about other strength bonusses (e.g. Hobbit Sword)? Or: Could you use Boromir, Son of Denethor 's skirmish ability to boost Merry's strength and then use Merry's ability to add his increased strength to another companion?
-
Yes. Anything which affects Merry's strength will be added to the other companion when he uses his ability.