The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: legolas3333 on August 31, 2009, 08:50:26 AM

Title: Orc Scout
Post by: legolas3333 on August 31, 2009, 08:50:26 AM
if an event is played that spots a companion, say aragorn or arwen, and they're a ranger can you cancel that with orc scout or does the event's text have to say ranger?
Title: Re: Or Scout
Post by: macheteman on August 31, 2009, 09:05:50 AM
true, and you may be right, but i think a legit case can be made that if you play say, Voice of Rauros and you are playing with a ranger aragorn, then that fulfils the requirement of an even that has exerted a ranger. again, maybe i'm wrong, because the obvious intent was to stop ranger cards.
Title: Re: Or Scout
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on August 31, 2009, 09:15:30 AM
Quote from: Comprehensive Rules 4.0, page 20, first column
ORC SCOUT 2 C 89
The special ability of this minion may only cancel an event that specifically requires a ranger in its game text.

This is truly one amazing document.
Title: Re: Or Scout
Post by: macheteman on August 31, 2009, 09:30:46 AM
Quote from: Comprehensive Rules 4.0, page 20, first column
ORC SCOUT 2 C 89
The special ability of this minion may only cancel an event that specifically requires a ranger in its game text.

This is truly one amazing document.

i should read it sometime...
Title: Re: Or Scout
Post by: HawkeyeSPF on August 31, 2009, 09:45:47 AM
It's not like I have it memorized or anything like that - it's just the first place I go when I have a question about a card. The second place I go is the CRD 8/13/07. If it's not there, I look through both documents again for a similar precedent. If I still can't find what I'm looking for, then I'll either post here or not worry about it.
Title: Re: Or Scout
Post by: Kralik on August 31, 2009, 10:26:02 AM
It's not like I have it memorized or anything like that - it's just the first place I go when I have a question about a card. The second place I go is the CRD 8/13/07. If it's not there, I look through both documents again for a similar precedent. If I still can't find what I'm looking for, then I'll either post here or not worry about it.

Or... *ahem*... follow the link through to the card database entry and you will see the clarification printed in the notes section! :P