The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Ulmo on September 25, 2009, 07:21:38 AM

Title: End of Skirmish
Post by: Ulmo on September 25, 2009, 07:21:38 AM
If a skirmish is canceled with Hobbit Stealth at site 5, can the Final Cry still use it's abilities?  Is it still in the skirmish phase even though the skirmish is canceled.

Also, can Frodo (assuming he's fighting the rog) then put on the one ring to add 2 burdens instead of wounds as it's still in the skirmish phase?
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: ket_the_jet on September 25, 2009, 07:28:07 AM
If a skirmish is canceled with Hobbit Stealth at site 5, can the Final Cry still use it's abilities?  Is it still in the skirmish phase even though the skirmish is canceled.
I don't know the answer on that, but looking at the second part of your question, skirmishes involving the Ring-Bearer cannot be canceled. Some people play that you can in the Fellowship block, but that's something to keep in mind.

But I don't know the official ruling because the skirmish is canceled, not "ending" so much...

Also, can Frodo (assuming he's fighting the rog) then put on the one ring to add 2 burdens instead of wounds as it's still in the skirmish phase?

It depends on what copy of the One Ring you are using. One of the reasons I really like The One Ring, Isildur's Bane is because you can assign as many wounds as you want and then use the Response action to put the rest in the form of burdens. But if you are using The One Ring, Answer to All Riddles, for instance, you would have to use that as a skirmish action.

Or The One Ring, Such a Weight To Carry...I love that card but you have to have some serious foresight to use it during the maneuver phase.

But it sounds like you are playing Fellowship block, especially if Final Cry is in a deck (and Hobbit Stealth cancels skirmishes). So if your Frodo has 2 wounds on him, you can assign one more and then the rest of the wounds in burdens with the response action of either ring.
-wtk
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: CCCORNIV on September 25, 2009, 07:32:44 AM
 Ulmo and I have always played that you couldn't cancel the Ring-Bearer's skirmishes, but since we currently only play Fellowship, Tower, King and War blocks, we've decided to allow it for Fellowship and Tower blocks.  This will really change the approach of some of our decks.  I don't know the answer to this either, my thinking is that you could use Final Cry, but Frodo could not put on the one ring.
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: ket_the_jet on September 25, 2009, 07:35:17 AM
Ulmo and I have always played that you couldn't cancel the Ring-Bearer's skirmishes, but since we currently only play Fellowship, Tower, King and War blocks, we've decided to allow it for Fellowship and Tower blocks.  This will really change the approach of some of our decks.  I don't know the answe to this either, my thinking is that you could use Final Cry, but Frodo could not put on the one ring.

Because the Ring is a response action, you can use it whenever the Ring-Bearer is about to take a wound. If I have a Frodo with two wounds and the One Ring, the Ruling Ring and someone plays Final Cry, I can wound Frodo once and then use the Response action of the One Ring. Even though it says "wound twice," those wounds are still placed one at a time. It's a response to a response.

Edit: Also, that's cool that you are going back to some of the rules of the game from back when it was. Personally, Fellowship Block, Towers Standard, and Movie Block are my three favorite games to play (actually, in reverse order of my listing). But I miss the Legolas, Dauntless Hunter days of Towers Standard.
-wtk
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Thranduil on September 25, 2009, 07:56:22 AM
If a skirmish is canceled with Hobbit Stealth at site 5, can the Final Cry still use it's abilities?  Is it still in the skirmish phase even though the skirmish is canceled.

Also, can Frodo (assuming he's fighting the rog) then put on the one ring to add 2 burdens instead of wounds as it's still in the skirmish phase?
While I'm not 100% sure, I think the answer to both of those questions is yes. The timing looks like this:

Hobbit Stealth - skirmish is about to end
      Shadow player responds with Final Cry
             RB responds by putting on Isildur's Bane (or the Ruling Ring - it's still a skirmish phase)
Skirmish ends

Thranduil
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Kralik on September 25, 2009, 08:24:52 AM
I'm fairly certain that when a skirmish is canceled it doesn't "end" as a normal skirmish. But it is tricky to figure out the wording...

Off topic, someone needs to bring back Towers Standard as a format! We need an X-list. :)
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: CCCORNIV on September 25, 2009, 08:27:13 AM
I forgot that the Rings in the Fellowship block didn't have the Skirmish keyword.
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Thranduil on September 25, 2009, 08:34:12 AM
Quote from: LotR Comprehensive Rules
If a skirmish is canceled, it ends immediately with no winner or loser.
When a skirmish resolves (or is canceled) for any reason, no more skirmish actions may be taken.
This does not say anything about response actions. I think response actions to the following triggers can still be taken: 1) the skirmish ending, 2) playing Hobbit Stealth etc. (or using a special ability that cancelled the skirmish).

Thranduil
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Ulmo on September 25, 2009, 08:52:23 AM
Well, the rulebook even says that a canceled skirmish ends immediately, so if it ends you can play the response.  I guess it does play that way.

Towers Standard - what X-List?   :twisted:
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Elessar's Socks on September 25, 2009, 09:26:05 AM
I'd treat Final Cry the same way as Sting, Bane of the Eight Legs. A canceled skirmish still has to end ("ends immediately"), and I see "about to end" as a valid response to that.
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Kralik on September 25, 2009, 09:58:49 AM
Well, the rulebook even says that a canceled skirmish ends immediately, so if it ends you can play the response.  I guess it does play that way.

Towers Standard - what X-List?   :twisted:

Ah, good call on "ends immediately." Settles it then.

X-list for Towers would presumably be Movie list + Filbert Bolger. But perhaps some cards on the Movie list were not there previously, so you'd have to check old CRD's.
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: Ulmo on September 25, 2009, 10:34:04 AM
Thanks everyone.
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: CCCORNIV on September 25, 2009, 10:44:22 AM
Thanks fellas. 
Title: Re: End of Skirmish
Post by: ket_the_jet on September 25, 2009, 11:32:51 AM
Towers Standard - what X-List?   :twisted:

As far as I remember, Kralik is correct. I don't remember any other cards that were on there.
-wtk