The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: OneFathom on October 07, 2009, 11:05:12 AM
-
First, can you play with extra copies of Frodo (Ring-Bearer...not Frenzied Fighter) in your draw deck? If you can, then proceed with the read. If you can't, this post is already a moot point.
Let's just say it is (I'm sure I'll get the official ruling from somebody).
I have an extra copy of Frodo, Weary From The Journey in my hand and I have Borne Far Away.
If I exchange the Frodo in hand with a companion in the dead pile, is the game over?
Thoughts?
-
No, it is not. Borne Far Away is a great card in concept that just doesn't end up working very well...it allows you to have a character in play and the dead pile as well.
It was intended to be that you would rotate stock characters (Lorien Elf, Dwarf Guard, etc.) with main companions, but because they did not specify a non-unique companion, you can end up having three copies of Aragorn in your dead pile and a copy in play.
Just make sure you don't go over nine companions!
-wtk
-
Interesting. Thanks, WTK. LMK when you get that 'Gorn, ET too! Peace.
-
Interesting. Thanks, WTK. LMK when you get that 'Gorn, ET too! Peace.
I got it today. I really appreciate it...:gp:
Let me know if I can send you something in the future. I owe you one.
-wtk
-
First, can you play with extra copies of Frodo (Ring-Bearer...not Frenzied Fighter) in your draw deck?
Yes, but as a exception, only three times - not 4 times as other cards. Useful for healing.
-
Interesting. Thanks, WTK. LMK when you get that 'Gorn, ET too! Peace.
I got it today. I really appreciate it...:gp:
Let me know if I can send you something in the future. I owe you one.
-wtk
No worries, man. Just pay it forward. Enjoy!
-
What if Frodo dies and Sam got the ring, can you use Borne far away to play Frodo... but without his ring?
And if you can, is Frodo still considered as Ring-Bound?
-
I think if you did play Frodo (not Frenzied Fighter) and he had already died and the ring had gone to Sam, I think the space-time continuum would unravel and all matter would be destroyed.
This seems the most logical answer.
Right after why you would choose to make such a play?
-
Right after why you would choose to make such a play?
Maybe you are playing a deck with Frodo-Sam-Gandalf and have 4x A Promise on the table. Frodo died and you want your A Promise to be useful again... Or you use Saved from the Fire to burn Frodo and grab 3x A Promise.
-
From the Rule Book:
If a character other than Frodo is your Ring-bearer, you cannot play any version of Frodo with the Ring-bearer keyword during the game.
Frodo, Frenzied Fighter, of course, is the exception.
-wtk