The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Cw0rk on October 14, 2009, 03:51:42 PM
-
If I take control of a site and I have Suffered much loss in my support area, is it still considered as a battleground or it isn't because the site is remove from the adventure path and placed in my support area?
-
That's a good question, technically if a site is no longer on the adventure path, (and is in your support area because you control it), I think it would lose the keyword granted it from suffered much loss
-
A more common example is as the follow:
Arwen, Staunch Defender and Lost in the woods. <- (all forests you can spot, even those in the FPP support area)!
^ Search for Fleet Footed
|
(Only those on path)
So, as soon as you take control of a site, it is not on the adventure path anymore. So the answer is: It is not considered to be Battleground.
-
Sorry, I'm going to disagree - citing this entry in the Comprehensive Rules 4.0
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply. A player may "control a battleground."
Chuck
-
Sorry, I'm going to disagree - citing this entry in the Comprehensive Rules 4.0
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply. A player may "control a battleground."
Chuck
But the wording on Suffered Much Loss says, "Each site on the adventure path is a battleground." If the site gets controlled, it's no longer on the adventure path, and is thus unaffected by Suffered Much Loss.
-
Alazzar is right. Suffered much loss won't work for controlled sites.
But Lost in the woods will work. (assuming you have controlled forests)
-
OK, I finally found a definitive reference to whether or not a controlled site in on the adventure path. CRD August 13, 2007: A controlled site, once played in a player's support area, is no longer a site on the adventure path. So does that mean if the card were to have said spot X battlefields then do controlled cards count. The rule I cited earlier would seem to imply that it does. You are correct in that Suffered Much Loss specifically says adventure path.
Thanks - interesting....
Chuck
-
Suffered Much Loss does give the Towers Uruk a definite boost... but it would be too much if it wasn't worded the way it is.
-
Off topic: I use suffered much loss in an evil men deck built around whistling death
-
So does that mean if the card were to have said spot X battlefields then do controlled cards count.
Should work, with controlled sites being both in play and active (as listed under the "active" entry).
-
Suffered Much Loss does give the Towers Uruk a definite boost... but it would be too much if it wasn't worded the way it is.
And it's totally awesome in a battleground [uruk] deck.