The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Ulfmane on October 16, 2009, 01:30:43 PM

Title: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Ulfmane on October 16, 2009, 01:30:43 PM
question:

If my opponent is in (my) site 8 and I´m on site 6, I play something that gives me +1 mov and in reg I play deft in their mov to reduce shadow site´s number... then i try to triple move, but my opponent said deft in their mov does not affect site 9 since when it was played site couldn´t be spotted... is this right?

thx
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Not a Zombie on October 16, 2009, 01:34:59 PM
I would say no, you are right. it doesn't say each site you can spot, just each site.
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Alazzar on October 16, 2009, 01:46:13 PM
This is actually something that is specifically addressed in the Comprehensive Rulebook... certain cards take a "snapshot" of what's already in play and modify those cards only.  I think they examples they used were Deft in Their Movements and... uh... Eregion's Trails, maybe?

Anyway, point is, Deft in their Movements unfortunately will not affect sites that aren't already in play.

If you'd like, I could crack open the Comprehensive Rulebook and find the actual excerpt.  =P

Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Kralik on October 16, 2009, 02:17:16 PM
Are you sure? It says, "until the end of the turn."
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Kralik on October 16, 2009, 02:18:25 PM
Lo and behold, you are right! That significantly changes the deck I use it in. From the Comprehensive Rulebook 4.0:

Quote
Some event cards affect only cards that are
currently in play, even though their effects
might seem to apply to cards played later in the
same turn. These events take a “snapshot” of
the current game state, and only those cards are
affected.
Eregion’s Trails (“Maneuver: Exert a ranger to
make each roaming minion strength –3 until
the regroup phase.”) affects only minions that are
roaming when that event is played.
Deft in Their Movements (Regroup: “Spot 2
Hobbits to make each site’s Shadow number –2
until the end of the turn.”) affects only sites that are
in play when it is played.
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Ulfmane on October 16, 2009, 07:37:47 PM
so, in another example, let say I´m ahead and able to use thror´s map or pathfinder or any card that lets me play the nrext site.... in this way I think I could use deft in their movements.... but unfortunately not to do the triple move my deck meant to :(
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Alazzar on October 16, 2009, 08:25:23 PM
Yeah, as long as the site is already on the adventure path, Deft in Their Movements will affect it.  If the site isn't in play yet, it won't be affected.  Sorry.  =(
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Malachi on October 17, 2009, 01:28:03 PM
Wow, that's interesting. I shouldn't have lost that game after all!
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: rubbercarp on October 20, 2009, 10:52:55 AM
Yeah, as long as the site is already on the adventure path, Deft in Their Movements will affect it.  If the site isn't in play yet, it won't be affected.  Sorry.  =(

So Deft in Their Movements only works if you are behind your opponent on the site path?
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Alazzar on October 20, 2009, 11:00:52 AM
So Deft in Their Movements only works if you are behind your opponent on the site path?

Or if you played your own site before moving to it, like with Pathfinder or Get on and Get Away.
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Kralik on October 20, 2009, 11:04:45 AM
Ah, Get On and Get Away seems to be the only way to use it when tripling.
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Alazzar on October 20, 2009, 11:08:20 AM
Well, Get on and Get Away is a Fellowship event, and Deft in their Movements is Regroup, so GOaGA would only allow DitM to affect one site.  You'd move to the first of the two sites you played in the Fellowship phase, then play Deft in their Movements in regroup, thus affecting the second site you'd played.

Ah, Get On and Get Away seems to be the only way to use it when tripling.

And Pathfinder could work while tripling; you'd just have to play a Pathfinder before each Deft in their Movements, so you'd need two of each.  =P
Title: Re: Deft in Their Movement
Post by: Kralik on October 20, 2009, 11:22:31 AM
 #-o

Good point. Pathfinder it is then...