The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:08:21 AM

Title: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:08:21 AM
So, Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea, DH... how can you spot a race that doesn't exist? If you want Smeagol to be unassignable to him, is that even possible? Or does his lack of race somehow prevent that?

Same idea for Gollum vs. Argument. Since you cannot spot Gollum's race, does that mean he has to be discarded, even if he is the only minion in play?
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 13, 2009, 09:28:09 AM
The 8/13 CRD in the Archives sticky goes into this in greater detail.

Smeagol (and Gollum) do not have a race, so the text of Dark Horseman can't avoid assignment with him. Likewise Argument Ready to Hand can't discard Gollum, because he's not a minion of any race.
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:42:42 AM
So they are considered every race I guess. Cool! I actually played a game where all 4 of these problems came up... it was really random.
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 13, 2009, 09:59:49 AM
Wha-where...? No race, not every race! :lol:
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 04:51:54 PM
I know, not actually, just considered. If it was no race, it would have to be discarded.
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: Kralik on December 13, 2009, 05:32:03 PM
Likewise Argument Ready to Hand can't discard Gollum, because he's not a minion of any race.
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 05:42:37 PM
So his race can't be spotted, and all minions of races that weren't spotted must be discarded. You have to spot his race to save him, but he has no race. Does that mean he gets discarded if you choose, say, troll?
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: MuadDib85 on December 13, 2009, 05:53:36 PM
So his race can't be spotted, and all minions of races that weren't spotted must be discarded. You have to spot his race to save him, but he has no race. Does that mean he gets discarded if you choose, say, troll?

It says discard from play all minions of all other races.... Gollum has no race, so he cannot be discarded.
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: TheJord on December 13, 2009, 05:58:52 PM
This is specifically dealt with in the rulebook

Its not that his race cant be spotted, he doesnt have a race to spot
Title: Re: Smeagol vs. Ulaire Nertea and Gollum vs. Argument Ready to Hand
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 08:23:18 PM
Ya know, it would have just been easier to give him a race, like hobbit or near-wraith or creature or whatever. Oh well, I get it :)