The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: MuadDib85 on December 29, 2009, 02:00:38 AM

Title: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: MuadDib85 on December 29, 2009, 02:00:38 AM
Legolas, OTWR

Is the plus 3 limit per exert, or is it per turn?


Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Gil-Estel on December 29, 2009, 02:23:38 AM
from the CRD:

When a card has a limit, such as “(limit +3),” the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Witchkingx5 on December 29, 2009, 11:11:28 AM
I think it means that even if you can spot 4 hunter minios, Legolas, OTWR makes the fellowship archery total still only +3 and not +4.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Gil-Estel on December 29, 2009, 12:40:26 PM
but you cannot exert Legolas X times to add X times 3 to the fellowship archery.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: ket_the_jet on December 29, 2009, 12:47:16 PM
But, if there is only two Hunter minions, you can exert Legolas twice to add three to the archery total.
-wtk
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Gil-Estel on December 29, 2009, 12:53:05 PM
agreed, almost as usual
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: MuadDib85 on December 29, 2009, 03:49:23 PM
from the CRD:

When a card has a limit, such as “(limit +3),” the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.

Thanks.

That's what I thought.. But I have witnessed many a game of gccg where Legy is being abused:

3 Uruk Hunters in play.... Exert Legolas twice... Fellowship archery total 7 (plus 3 for each exert plus Legy's archer).

7 archery just from exerting Legy twice seems a little OP but I was unsure of the rule at the time (lucky I was only watching and not playing) As both people playing seemed to not know the limit +3 per phase rule either..


 
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 30, 2009, 04:19:25 AM
I would've loved to do that with Southron Archer Legion (ran it in Moria archery so twilight wasn't too bad), but nope, the total extra archery using its ability is capped at 4 per archery phase.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Gil-Estel on December 30, 2009, 04:47:13 AM
But still, with 5 companions out, that would be 20 pool for 5 arrows. I'd rather have 3x moria archer troop
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 30, 2009, 06:58:53 AM
At least you gave me 5 companions and not, like... 4. :lol: The important thing is to punish large fellowships, getting as good as 5 archery for 11 twilight (plus another potential wound with 13 strength), and especially through just one card (if for example you're getting tight on your hand with They Are Coming). Rest assured, the deck has a full set of Moria Archer Troop.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: Gil-Estel on January 21, 2010, 01:22:26 AM
Each skirmish is a seperate skirmish phase, so as along as gandalf has vitality you can perform the action. But yes, only once per single skirmish.
Title: Re: Legolas, of The Woodland Realm
Post by: MuadDib85 on January 21, 2010, 01:23:59 AM
Wow that was a fast response!

I realized after posting how it worked.. Thanks though.


Edit: Just so it doesn't look like GE is just quoting facts for the fun of it... I removed a post above his last post in which I was asking about trust me as you once did and the limit +3 thing.

His response was so fast I removed my post before I even read it!