The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Cw0rk on January 06, 2010, 10:07:53 PM

Title: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Cw0rk on January 06, 2010, 10:07:53 PM
I played vs wtk tonight and we had an argument on Trust me as you once did.

He claimed that "limit +3" means "limit +3 per site".
I claimed that "limit +3" means "limit +3 per skirmish" (ex. I can make Legolas +3, then make Gimli +3).

What is the true meaning of this "limit +3"?
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: ket_the_jet on January 06, 2010, 10:09:49 PM
I played vs wtk tonight and we had an argument on Trust me as you once did.

I would call it a "debate."

I stole from this topic (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,1235.0.html) which I bumped which said:

Quote from: CRD
From the CRD
When a card has a limit, such as "(limit +3)," the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.


Thanks to everyone who can clear this up.
-wtk
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: ket_the_jet on January 06, 2010, 10:18:26 PM
This card appears specifically and it appears I was wrong. That's what I get for trusting TheJord! (Actually, I just misinterpreted TheJord).

Each skirmish phase is a separate phase so the bonus is maximum per phase. This is directly from 4.0:

Quote from: Comprehensive Rules 4.0
When a card has a limit, such as “(limit +3),” the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.

Trust Me As You Once Did reads: “Skirmish: Exert Gandalf to make a companion strength +1 for each companion with the Gandalf signet you can spot (limit +3).”

With one copy in play, assuming you have sufficient signets and exertions, during a single skirmish phase:
• You may add +3 to one companion in a single action (if you can spot at least 3 signets).
• You may add +1 to three different companions in three different actions (if you can spot only 1 signet).
• You may add +2 to one companion and +1 to another in two different actions (if you can spot only 2 signets). Once the limit is reached, no more may be added, and the last +1 is ignored.
A limit does not does not span multiple phases.

Trust Me As You Once Did could be used for +3 in each of two or more separate skirmish phases during the same turn.

A limit does not apply to a different copy of the same card.

With two copies of Trust Me As You Once Did in play, you could give up to +6 in strength bonuses during a single skirmish phase (+3 from one copy, and +3 from the other).

Sorry c-work.
-wtk
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Cw0rk on January 06, 2010, 10:45:24 PM
No problem. It didn't change anything to our game anyway.

Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Thranduil on January 07, 2010, 04:13:21 AM
Limits apply per card per phase. So if you had 4 copies of TMAYOD, you could with 4 exertions make someone strength +12, then theoretically make someone else strength +12 in the next skirmish phase etc.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Gil-Estel on January 07, 2010, 07:48:19 AM
Limits apply per card per phase. So if you had 4 copies of TMAYOD, you could with 4 exertions make someone strength +12, then theoretically make someone else strength +12 in the next skirmish phase etc.

Thranduil

I thought this got an errata? That only one copy of the card can be used? I am not sure though, but there has been a change in the past that involved TMAYOD.
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Thranduil on January 07, 2010, 07:51:49 AM
I don't think it got any errata. I'm sure that it works the way I said it does. Only 1 copy of it can be used at one time (which is why you can't get +9 for 1 exertion and 3 copies and 9 companions with the Gandalf signet). Is that what you mean?
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Cw0rk on January 07, 2010, 08:14:02 AM
Limits apply per card per phase. So if you had 4 copies of TMAYOD, you could with 4 exertions make someone strength +12, then theoretically make someone else strength +12 in the next skirmish phase etc.

Thranduil

I thought this got an errata? That only one copy of the card can be used? I am not sure though, but there has been a change in the past that involved TMAYOD.
I think the errata they made was simply adding the (limit +3). I'm not sure but I think there was no limit when the card was made.
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Kralik on January 07, 2010, 10:20:53 AM
I used to own this card and it did indeed have the limit printed.

I think that knowing that each skirmish is a separate skirmish phase clears it up nicely.
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: sharkey on January 07, 2010, 12:10:57 PM
Wait... is it a permanent effect?
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Elessar's Socks on January 07, 2010, 12:28:20 PM
No: "Each phase action lasts for the duration of the phase named in the boldface word (unless otherwise specified)."
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: ket_the_jet on January 07, 2010, 01:35:10 PM
I think that knowing that each skirmish is a separate skirmish phase clears it up nicely.

Yessir-y. That was the mistake I made. Again, apologies to c-work!
-wtk
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Argonmann on June 18, 2011, 03:39:02 AM
There is still one thing I do not understand:

1)
I think that knowing that each skirmish is a separate skirmish phase clears it up nicely.

2) (from the CR 4.0):
Quote
With one copy in play, assuming you have sufficient signets and exertions, during a single skirmish phase:
 [...] You may add +1 to three different companions in three different actions (if you can spot only 1 signet) [...].

How is it possible to add +1 to three different companions, since there is a seperate skirmish phase for each companions assigned. Or is it possible to assign multiple companions to one minion (i wouldn't know there is)? As I read the discussion here, the +3 limit just resets for each new skirmish phase (= each companion).

(Sorry for replying to lots of topics recently, but I just discovered this forum after playing again LOTR TCG after a long time with two friends. We startet this (in Germany) in 2002, but stopped pretty soon so we only use cards from the FOTR set and a few Towers Cards. Now we played again and looking through all my cards while building a deck, there are lots of questions. Btw, thank you all for this forum and the DB!)
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: macheteman on June 18, 2011, 04:32:14 AM
while in theory you CAN add 1 to 3 comps (in three actions) this would be dumb. because like you said the limit resets for each skirmish, and having a companion strong during someone else's skirmish doesn't help very much.

Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: Argonmann on June 18, 2011, 04:45:05 AM
Right, that's what I thought about. Although you made something else clear to me: You can strengthen other companions who aren't in the skirmish. Maybe there are cards who make use of the strength of other companions as a requirement for an effect (e.g., "spot a companion with a strength of 9 or more who is not in a skirmish to cancel a skirmish"). So you could use TMAYOD to make a Boromir strength 9... But actually, i don't think there is something like that :)
Title: Re: Trust me as you once did
Post by: ket_the_jet on June 18, 2011, 05:20:41 AM
The classic example is making Merry, Friend to Sam stronger before using his ability.
-wtk