The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Bag End => Topic started by: menace64 on June 28, 2008, 11:40:22 PM
-
Dain, AC, and Bib will surely remember this from the old SWCCG boards on Decipher's website. In this game, the leader of the round (me) thinks of a LotR card, and you - the mindless masses - must guess my card using only yes-or-no questions.
Now, there are a few additional rules:
>> You cannot ask "Is it Free Peoples" or "Is it Shadow" (or any question that effectively does the same thing) as either question eliminates too many cards in one go. Questions like "Is it a possession" are fine, however;
>> There is no mind-reading allowed;
>> Repeat questions do not result in a penalty - you should check to see what has already been asked but accidents happen;
>> On that note, it's up to the leader of the round to decide what warrants as a repeat question. If, for instance, the card is narrowed down to a card from the Black Rider set and one person asks "Is the card an [Isengard] card" (of which there is only 1 in the set), and then someone else asks "Is the card in a culture that has less than 5 cards in the set", that could or could not be a repeat question;
>> If you attempt to guess the card and are wrong, not only does the guess count as 1 of the 20 questions, but you are eliminated from the round;
>> The first person to guess the card correctly becomes the leader of the next round;
>> Under no circumstance is there to be giggling of any kind
All right. Let me think of a real good one. Hmm. Got one!
You have 20 questions remaining.
-
Is it a character?
-
It is a character.
You have 19 questions remaining.
-
I just realized we could probably guess the collector's info (all we need is the set and card number), which can be nailed down within 14 guesses, I think. Maybe one more in case of errata. Might be risky though if others don't follow along. ;)
And actually I do have another question for NOLINKmenace: how many guesses should we wait for before making another one?
-
Does this character have any strength bonus references within it's game text?
-
Is this cdard legal in stardard play?
-
Does this character have any strength bonus references within it's game text?
No.
Is this card legal in standard play?
Yes.
You have 17 questions remaining.
Oh, and I'd prefer it if you didn't ask 2 questions in a row, to make sure everyone gets a chance.
-
Does it have a subtitle?
-
Is the character in the Hunters Block?
-
Does this caracter have a resistance more than zero (0)?
-
Whoa whoa whoa, fellas. Menace kindly asked for one question at a time. :P Patience.
-
I believe Menaca asked for 1 person to not ask more than one question in a row to allow others to have a shot :up:. Anyway Olorin85 all companion techincally have a resistance great than 0. The characters with the signets have resistance of 6 it's just not shown because of the signet :up:.
-
yes, all companions got a resistance more than zero... but Minions don't have got a resistance... btw, are follower characters?
Allies' resistance is zero... with my question I tried to figure out, if it's companion or not... ;-)
-
ok I got you LOL. Got confused guess I figured asking if the character was a companion would have been easier to say :up:.
-
Sorry for the delay. House-sitting and two jobs is eating my time!
Does it have a subtitle?
No. 16.
Is the character in the Hunters Block?
No. 15.
Does this caracter have a resistance more than zero (0)?
I should refuse to answer this question (since one could argue this eliminates all Shadow cards), but I'll be generous this round. No, it does not. 14.
-
Is this character unique?
-
Is this character unique?
'Tis. 13 questions left.
-
A unique ally or minion with no subtitle narrows things down considerably! I think there are around 20 matches left.
Is it an Orc?
-
A unique ally or minion with no subtitle narrows things down considerably! I think there are around 20 matches left.
Is it an Orc?
...and it's a standard card - right? so, if it's no Orc, we should have a good chance to get this riddle done! ;-)
-
Yup, unless I've grossly miscounted, the Orc question should rule out about half the remaining ones. :mrgreen:
-
A unique ally or minion with no subtitle narrows things down considerably! I think there are around 20 matches left.
Is it an Orc?
It's not an Orc! 12.
-
Is it a Man?
-
Is it a Man?
Yes. This card is a Man. 11.
-
Is it Mumak Commander, Giant Among the Swertings?
-
Does this character have strength of more than 8?
-
Is it Mumak Commander, Giant Among the Swertings?
Dude...he already said it doesn't have a subtitle. :roll:
-
Is it Mumak Commander, Giant Among the Swertings?
No. 10. NappyKorn is eliminated!
Does this character have strength of more than 8?
No, sure doesn't. 9.
-
Is it Gondorian Merchant?
-
Is it Gondorian Merchant?
Good call, man. I think it HAS to be. The only other unique Men that are Standard-legal with strength less than 9 are Grima and Bill Ferny, and they each have subtitles. I can't find ANY other character that meets the criteria but the Merchant.
-
Is it Gondorian Merchant?
Sure is!
All right. If you want, it's your turn to pick a card.
-
Anyone can start the next round and be asked instead of you, good sir?
-
Woohoo!
I can't find ANY other character that meets the criteria but the Merchant.
Hehe, or Leowyn. Lucky guess. ;)
Anyone can start the next round and be asked instead of you, good sir?
Hmm? You want someone else to choose? :'( I think my card is a good choice! But there's only one way to really know...
Card selected. Guess away!
-
Is it a possession?
-
Is it a possession?
No.
19 questions remaining.
-
is it a condition?
-
is it a condition?
Yes. It's a condition.
18 questions remaining.
-
Is it legal in standard play?
-
is it unique?
-
Is it legal in standard play?
No.
is it unique?
Yes. It's unique.
16 questions remaining.
-
Is it in a culture that appears in Fellowship block?
-
Is it in a culture that appears in Fellowship block?
Yes.
15 questions remaining.
-
is it a moria condition?
-
is it a moria condition?
No.
14 questions remaining.
-
well if it is a unique condition from a culture that is in fellowship block that isn't moria and is standard legal that leaves only 4 choices if my sda search is right. Then again I am going on 0 sleep in the past 26 hours so my vision and searching skills could be letting me down :up:.
Not sure if I can go again or not but is it an [sauron] card?
Edit: nevermind stupid me forgot to include the other cards from those culture outside of fellowship block lol. *slaps self in face with an old tennis shoe and takes some advil*
-
Not sure if I can go again or not but is it an [sauron] card?
No, it's not a [Sauron] card.
*slaps self in face with an old tennis shoe and takes some advil*
:o Not to NOLINKworry, still lots of questions left. Get some sleep!
13 questions remaining.
-
lol I have to keep guessing, its an addiction my friend. Is that a hint in your post LOL. anyway does this card collect tokens? Last one until we get another player, I promise this will narrow it down to either 2 possible cards or 3 I believe.
-
An almost-hint was already given. *LOL*
anyway does this card collect tokens?
No, it doesn't collect tokens.
12 questions remaining.
-
well if it is a unique condition from a culture that is in fellowship block that isn't moria and is standard legal that leaves only 4 choices if my sda search is right. Then again I am going on 0 sleep in the past 26 hours so my vision and searching skills could be letting me down :up:.
Actually, I believe he said it was NOT legal in Standard play...
Is it legal in standard play?
No.
...which is why I asked the Fellowship block question. Eliminates [Dunland], [Rohan], [Gollum], and [Raider] entirely. With [Moria] and [Sauron] also now eliminated, it's down to the original five FP cultures ([Shire], [Gandalf], [Gondor], [Elven], [Dwarven]) and only two Shadow cultures ([Wraith] and [Isengard]). Still a LOT of choices in there, though. :-\
Hmmm...does it play to the owner's support area?
-
Does this condition have lore?
-
Hmmm...does it play to the owner's support area?
Yes.
Does this condition have lore?
Yes.
10 questions remaining.
-
Does it have more than two words in its title?
-
Does it have more than two words in its title?
Yes.
9 questions remaining.
-
Blast...didn't QUITE change my question in time. Too late to re-answer without it counting as another question?
-
Blast...didn't QUITE change my question in time. Too late to re-answer without it counting as another question?
Go ahead. ;)
-
I already did. ;) Just 13 seconds after your reply/answer, actually.
-
Updated my previous response.
-
Thanks, dude. :up:
Gotta sleep on it now. That eliminates quite a few conditions, especially FP ones....
-
Is this card rare?
-
Is this card rare?
No, it's neither R nor R+.
8 questions remaining.
-
Is your card an [isengard] card?
-
Is your card an [isengard] card?
No.
7 questions remaining.
-
Can the card's text be used to exert a character?
-
Can the card's text be used to exert a character?
Yes, it can exert/exhaust a character.
Very good question, Dain!
6 questions remaining.
-
Thanks. Another, then....
Does it have an unbound keyword (like tale, as an example)?
-
Does it have an unbound keyword (like tale, as an example)?
Yes, it has a bold, unloaded keyword.
5 questions remaining.
-
Is it a tale?
-
Is it a tale?
No.
4 questions remaining.
EDIT - Corrected to "no."
-
Last question, then...is it a [Dwarven] card?
-
Last question, then...is it a [Dwarven] card?
EDIT - question does not count (see below)
-
/me takes a deep breath.
Okay, I THINK I've got it.
Is it The Choice of Luthien?
-
It could not be The Choice of Luthien, he said it wasn't a rare!
-
...Oops. This is what I get for answering questions too fast. It is actually NOT a tale. Also R and R+ cards were already ruled out, but I won't count that question because of my slip-up.
Is it a tale?
This should be no.
Questions remaining reset to 4. The [Dwarven] card question also does not count (but you can ask it again if you wish).
-
It's NOT a tale, but DOES have an unloaded keyword? And is NOT rare?
Hmmm...in THAT case, is it A Talent For Not Being Seen?
-
Hmmm...in THAT case, is it A Talent For Not Being Seen?
Ah! You got it! I thought it was a good choice. Obviously the name didn't live up to its standards. *veinpop*
Start a new round if you'd like, Dain!
-
w00t! :mrgreen:
I would start the next one, but I'm not going to be around for questioning tonight or much of the day tomorrow, so that wouldn't be very fair. Someone else can take it for now, and hopefully I can run another one later. I have a couple goodies in mind.... :hey:
-
I've got one.
-
Is it an event?
-
No.
-
Is it a character?
-
Yes.
-
That's not a Question or solution and should not count: but probably it's Garrison of Gondor? ;-)
-
Gee your pretty good!
-
So, is it?
-
TOTALLY!!!!!!!
-
So may I?
I got one!
-
Be my guessed.
-
Let's start!
-
Is it a Character?
-
Nope...
19 Questions left...
-
Is it an event?
-
Eventually... means yes!
-
Is it a Gandalf event?
-
Is this card legal in stardard play?
-
Is it a Gandalf event?
Yes!
-
Is it You Shall Not Pass!
-
Is this card legal in stardard play?
No!
now it should be very easy...
16 questions left
-
Is it You Shall Not Pass!
No! (but you're creative!)
15 questions left.
-
Is it rare?
-
Yes!
14 Questions left...
This will be a easy round...
-
Is this card from the fellowship block?
-
Yes!
13 Questions left... and I guess our MR. Lurtzy is tracking the prize... ;-)
-
Is it a spell?
-
Yes, it's a spell...
Wow, you're really good!
12 Questions left... and I think now it's really easy! ;-)
-
Does the card title have less than 5 words in it?
-
Yes!
-
Does it cost (0)?
-
Yes!
-
Is it staff asunder?
-
Hi,
YESSS! It is. (Olthough it is Staff asunder Foil... I am looking so proud on... ;-))
You may choose to be the next, mate... (you should now choose a Lurtzy... ;-)
-
That would be a bit obvious... alright I got one. ;D
-
Is it unique?
-
No.
19.
-
Is it a character?
-
Yes.
18.
-
Is it a Man?
-
No.
17.
-
Is the card legal in standard play?
-
Is it an Orc?
-
Is the card legal in standard play?
No.
16.
Is it an Orc?
No.
15.
-
Is it a companion?
-
No.
14.
-
Does it have a strength of 10 or more?
-
Yes.
13.
-
Is it a [wraith] minion?
-
No.
12.
-
That leaves Uruk-hais and Trolls, I think. What course of action should we use now? Try to figure out something about gametext?
-
And creatures. Could be The Watcher. Or maybe the Balrog, too.
...Is it a minion which triggers the strength bonus on Stone Trolls?
-
Yes. Getting closer you are. :twisted: :twisted:
11.
-
Does this minion become fierce at a battleground?
-
Yes.
10.
-
does it have twilght cost of [7] or more?
-
Yes.
9.
-
Is it Uruk Assault Band?
-
Is it Uruk Vanguard?
-
Haha, I guess both of them fit the criteria, but NappyKorn is correct. :gp: to you sir.
-
ok I have one, I might not be very active today as I need some sleep and I have to work tonight. I will do what I can and catch up to all the questions I miss :up:.
-
Is it Standard-legal?
-
Is it Standard-legal?
Yes.
19 questions left
-
Is it unique?
-
Is it unique?
Yes.
18 questions left
-
Do you play it to your support area?
-
Yes.
17 questions left.
-
Is it a condition?
-
Yes.
16 questions remaining, and now I'm off to work for the night. Feel free to keep the questions coming and I will answer them in the morning when I arrive back home :up:.
-
Do we have no more?
-
Is it from the war of the ring block?
-
No, finally a NO!
-
Does it use tokens?
-
Is it a [Wraith] card?
-
Does it use tokens?
NO.
Is it a [Wraith] card?
NO.
13 questions left.
-
Does it affect minions or companions?
-
Yes.
12 questions left
-
Can it be used in movie block format?
-
Yes.
11 questions remaining.
-
Ok, so were looking at a unique condition from Return of the King that plays to your support area and somehow affects minions and/or companions, and is NOT in the [Wraith] culture. Check?
-
Ok, so were looking at a unique condition from Return of the King that plays to your support area and somehow affects minions and/or companions, and is NOT in the [Wraith] culture. Check?
Not neccessarily Return of the King, but King Block.
-
Is the card rare?
-
Yes.
10 questions remaining.
-
Does it have a keyword in its game text?
-
No.
9 question remaining.
-
Does it have more than two words in its title?
-
No.
8 question remaining.
-
Is this card from siege of gondor?
-
yes.
7 question remaining.
-
Is the card Promise Keeping?
-
Bingo :up:. AD's turn.
-
Alright, got one.
-
Is it Standard legal?
-
Yep.
19 questions remain
-
Is it unique?
-
Also yep.
18 Q's left
-
Is it a shadow card?
-
Don't think you can ask that.
Is it a character?
-
Is it a shadow card?
Yeah, Ulmo's right; according to menace's original rules, that strikes out too many possibilities, and is therefore not allowed.
Don't think you can ask that.
Is it a character?
Yes.
17 queries in reserve
-
Does it have a subtitle?
-
Yes.
16 to go
-
Does it have a keyword?
-
Can it be on the gameplay area legally during the Fellowship Phase?
-
Does it have a keyword?
Um... as in "is there a keyword mentioned somewhere in its text" or, "does it inherently possess/is inherently capable of gaining a keyword through its own text" or what exactly...? Because it does sorta matter.
Can it be on the gameplay area legally during the Fellowship Phase?
Yes.
15 unused
-
Can it bear possessions?
-
Yes
14 Questions available for use
-
What I meant was, does the card itself have a keyword? Not asking (yet, at least) if it's capable of gaining or giving a keyword, just if it comes with one by default.
-
Ok, so it's not an ally, minion or follower. That should help a lot.
Can it bear a Flaming Brand?
-
What I meant was, does the card itself have a keyword? Not asking (yet, at least) if it's capable of gaining or giving a keyword, just if it comes with one by default.
Alrighty then. It does not have a keyword by default.
Ok, so it's not an ally, minion or follower. That should help a lot.
Ah, my good sir; you have forgotten A Dark Shape Sprang! ;) I could be thinking of Gollum! Well, if you count the the suspension of the fellowship phase as "during" the fellowship phase, which is sorta iffy.
Can it bear a Flaming Brand?
Yes.
12 questions. (I give up trying to find a unique way of saying it every time. Too much hassle.)
-
Does it have resistance of 5 or less?
-
Yes.
11 left.
-
is it a [gondor] card?
Edit: I will take a stab at it here anyway, just because you needed clarification on the keyword bit. Is your card Duinhir, Tall Man of Blackroot Vale?
He gains a keyword if you can spot a mount, is standard legal, can bear flaming brand, Is legally in oplay during the fellowship phase, and has resistance of 5 or less :up:. If I'm wrong I seat so that is my guess good sir :mrgreen:.
-
is it a [gondor] card?
Edit: I will take a stab at it here anyway, just because you needed clarification on the keyword bit. Is your card Duinhir, Tall Man of Blackroot Vale?
He gains a keyword if you can spot a mount, is standard legal, can bear flaming brand, Is legally in oplay during the fellowship phase, and has resistance of 5 or less :up:. If I'm wrong I seat so that is my guess good sir :mrgreen:.
A very good guess!
But it's wrong.
Sorry.
10 left.
(NOTE: I didn't answer the [Gondor] question because I wasn't sure if NK still wanted it asked, and that would make two Qs in a row for him. So if anyone else still wants to know, they'll have to ask.)
-
Is it a [gondor] card?
-
Nope. 9 left.
C'mon, guys.... how many possibilities are there?
-
Is it rare?
-
No.
8 left.
-
Is it a [gandalf] card?
-
Is it a [Rohan] card?
-
Is it a [gandalf] card?
Yes. (I'll skip over FM's Q, because counting it would just be mean. Sorry for the delay.)
7 left
-
Is it Librarian, Keeper of Ancient Texts?
-
Nope. Nice try, though.
Lurtzy is now out as well, and you have 6 questions remaining.
Anyone want a hint?
-
Now I see. :-X
-
Got it! With it not being Librarian, it was down to Ghan-buri-Ghan or Jarnsmid, Barding Emissary. But with it also not being a rare, and with Ghan being able to potentially gain defender +1....
It's Ghan-buri-Ghan, Chieftain of the Woses, or I'm an Elf.
-
You are most certainly not an elf, my good sir.
Ghan-buri-Ghan it is.
Dain's turn.
-
Got one. Ready...set...go!
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Is it standard legal?
Why, yes it is.
-
Can it bear a possession?
-
Can it bear a possession?
Hmmm...no.
-
Is it an event?
-
Is it an event?
Nope.
-
Is it a condition?
-
Is it a condition?
No, it is not.
-
Is it a [Moria] card?
-
Is it a [Moria] card?
No, sir. Not many Standard-legal [Moria] cards anyway....
15 questions left.
-
Is it a site?
-
Is it a site?
A good thought, but unfortunately not.
-
Is it an artifact?
-
Is it an artifact?
Sorry, but no.
A baker's dozen of questions left....
-
Is it a character?
-
Is it a character?
Nope.
Now just a regular dozen left.
-
So that should just leave possessions, right?
-
So that should just leave possessions, right?
Two card types still left, actually. Care to guess at one?
I won't count your inquiry as a question...unless you MEAN to ask if it's a possession.
-
May it only be borne by a ring bound companion?
-
May it only be borne by a ring bound companion?
No, it's not The One Ring. :P Or any other Ring-bound-borne-only card either.
11 questions to go.
-
So then, is it a possession?
-
So then, is it a possession?
There we go! Yes, it is indeed.
Halfway there. 10 questions to go.
-
Is it from the king block?
-
Is it from the king block?
So it is!
-
Is it unique?
-
Is it unique?
Nope. Now we're getting somewhere, eh? Good thing too, because there are only eight questions left.
Not that I mind Lurtzy's enthusiasm, but uh...anybody else still in this? :P
-
Is it common?
-
Is it common?
It most certainly is.
Seven left.
-
Is it a hand weapon?
-
Is it a hand weapon?
Yep. Getting close to single-handedly solving this one. :up:
-
Does it cost [1]?
-
Does it cost [1]?
Yup.
Five to go. Use them wisely....
-
Does the bearer have to be a man?
-
Does the bearer have to be a man?
No sir.
-
Does it give a strength +2 bonus?
-
Does it give a strength +2 bonus?
Sure does.
Three left....
-
Does it have lore?
-
Cheeze, Lurtzy! Do you do anything else all day?!?
Is it Morgul Axe?
-
Is it Morgul Axe?
Nope. AgentDrake is eliminated for this round.
I presume Lurtzy knows what it is, but just in case I'll answer his question, too. Only fair since I was in the middle of doing so when Drake posted.
Does it have lore?
This King block card does not, no.
Last question. Time to guess...though I suspect there won't be any real "guessing" involved....
-
Aw, curses! :P
-
Cheeze, Lurtzy! Do you do anything else all day?!?
I do work on a computer. :clown: :roll:
Hobbit sword I guess?
-
Hobbit Sword I guess?
Yes indeedy. :D Figured that would be an interesting choice...the most common card in LOTR TCG!
You're up, Mister.
-
Start the guessing then!
-
One good turn deserves another. ;)
Hmmm...is it Standard-legal? Always a good one to start off with.
-
One good turn deserves another. ;)
Hmmm...is it Standard-legal? Always a good one to start off with.
Nope.
19.
-
Is it Expanded-legal?
-
Is it Expanded-legal?
Yes sir.
18.
-
Is it in the banned/restricted list?
-
Is it in the banned/restricted list?
No.
17.
-
Is it a character?
-
Is it a character?
No.
16.
-
Does it play in its owner's support area?
-
Does it play in its owner's support area?
Nope.
15.
-
Is it an event?
-
Is it an event?
Yes it is.
14.
-
Ah, finally a good lead. Okay. Hmmm....
Expanded-legal but NOT Standard-legal event, so almost certainly from Fellowship or Tower block. Let's see if we can narrow that down a bit more.
Is it legal in Fellowship block?
-
Ah, finally a good lead. Okay. Hmmm....
Expanded-legal but NOT Standard-legal event, so almost certainly from Fellowship or Tower block. Let's see if we can narrow that down a bit more.
Is it legal in Fellowship block?
Hehe, no.
13.
-
Alright, so almost certainly a Tower block card.
Is it from a culture that appears in Fellowship block? ;)
-
Alright, so almost certainly a Tower block card.
Is it from a culture that appears in Fellowship block? ;)
Yes.
12.
-
13.
Woo-hoo! I didn't even have that last question counted against me, apparently. :P
Okay, so that eliminates [Gollum], [Rohan], [Dunland], and [Raider].
Does it cost [1] or less?
-
13.
Woo-hoo! I didn't even have that last question counted against me, apparently. :P
Okay, so that eliminates [Gollum], [Rohan], [Dunland], and [Raider].
Does it cost [1] or less?
Yes it does.
11.
-
Is it an [Isengard] card?
-
Is it an [Isengard] card?
Yes.
10.
-
Oh, wow. That was lucky.
Okay...does it affect a character's strength?
-
Oh, wow. That was lucky.
Okay...does it affect a character's strength?
Yeah, it does.
9.
-
Does it have parenthesis in its game text?
-
Does it have parenthesis in its game text?
Nope.
8.
-
Can its text spot an [Isengard] Man?
-
Can its text spot an [Isengard] Man?
No, 'tis not possible.
7.
-
Is it an uncommon?
-
Is it an uncommon?
No.
6.
-
Alright, here goes....
Is it Still They Came?
-
Yes, it is.
-
Hmmm...I guess that means I'm up, though I ain't going to be around here much this weekend. So perhaps if we could have a volunteer...?
-
I'm in. Go!
-
Is it a character?
-
No.
19 left.
-
Is it Standard-legal?
-
No. 18 left.
-
Is it a Fellowship-block card?
-
Is it unique?
-
Yes to AD, no to MR. Lurtzy. 16 left.
-
Is it an event?
-
Nope. 15 left.
-
Does this card have a culture?
-
Yes. 14 to go.
PS: Nice catch, I think it'd spell a lot of trouble to actually pick a site or The One Ring.
-
Hmmm...is it a condition?
-
Is it a common?
-
No to both. 12 left.
-
Is it an artifact?
-
No. 11 left.
-
Is it a hand weapon?
-
Yes. 10 left.
-
[gondor] Culture?
-
Is it flaming brand?
-
Yes and NAILED it, respectively. Actually, it's a pair of foil Flaming Brands I'm staring at. ;)
Go ahead, MR. Lurtzy.
-
I've already gone twice... so if anyone else wants a shot, go ahead. :up:
-
So I'm thinking of a card...
-
standard legal?
-
It isn't. 19 remaining.
-
From the [Elven] culture?
-
Is this card a character?
-
From the [Elven] culture?
No. 18.
[/quote]Is this card a character?
No. 17.
-
Is it an event?
-
Yes. 16.
-
does it have a twilight cost of [2] or more?
-
Yes. 15
-
Does it have toil?
-
No. 14.
-
Hmm...is it a Free Peoples card?
-
Yes. 13.
-
does it discard conditions?
-
Is it in the banned/restricted list?
-
Does It smell Like cardboard or paper? J/K of course with that one ;D. I will wait until you answer the other questions before I ask a serious one :up:.
-
@aperson: No, 12.
@Lurtzy: No, 11.
-
Is it a Fellowship block event?
-
Is it a [gandalf] card?
-
@Dain, Yes. 10.
@NK, Yes, 9.
This should be easy now.
-
Is it Rare?
-
Is it Durin's Secret?
-
@ NK, Yes. 8.
@TheJord, No. 7. You may not guess again.
-
Is it Questions That Need Answering?
-
Indeed it is.
Rather fitting, isn't it?
Your thread.
-
Ok, game's on!
-
Is it a character?
-
Yes. 19.
-
Does it play to your support area?
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Yes and no, respectively. 17.
-
is it any [elven] card?
-
Is it rotated out of play?
-
No to Nappykorn and to CG, I'll assume you mean Standard play, so yes. 15 left.
-
Is it a [Gandalf] card?
-
No. 14 left.
-
Is it a [shire] card?
-
Yes. 13 .
-
Uncommon is it?
-
Nope. 12 left.
-
Unique?
-
No. 11 left.
-
Is the first word in it's lore capitalized?
-
Yes. 10 left.
-
Is you card Bounder?
-
Right!
-
ok I have one, lets go!
-
Is it a character?
-
no, 19 left
-
Does it rhyme with octopus?
-
not in the english language but perhaps in another language. 18 left :mrgreen:.....................J/K still 19 left
-
Wow, that's got to be some kind of record.
-
What has?
-
Got it in...what, 11 questions? Not bad. Not bad at all.
-
Someone got Garrison of Gondor in, like, 2-3 questions...
Does it play to your support area?
-
no, 18 left
-
Is it standard legal?
-
yes, 17 to go.
-
Is the twilight cost more than [2]?
-
no, 16 left.
-
Is it an event?
-
no, 15 to go.
-
Does it transfer in any way?
-
yes, 14 to go
-
Is it a follower?
-
no, 13 to go.
-
Is it a condition?
-
no, 12 to go.
-
Is it a possession?
-
no, 11 to go
-
I believe this means the card must be an artifact.
So, does the fact that it can be "transfered" in some way simply mean that it can be replayed from one character to another?
-
No, 10 questions to go.
EDIT: I've been notified by a person who knows my card that the proper term for the action isn't really transferred. I thought that any card being moved from one place to another was indeed transferring it, but the proper term is it is 'placed' from it's starting position and moved (transferred as I called it) to another. Hope this helps in some form or another I will give back 3 questions since apparently I got terms confused here.
All the question are still the same none the less but now there are 13 questions remaining and not 10
-
Huh. Well now I'm a bit baffled.
Let's review: not a character, event, follower, condition, OR possession, and does not play to the support area. Costs [2] or less. Standard-legal.
Okay, uh...I STILL think artifacts are about the only thing left, so...is it an artifact?
-
Does this card provide a resistance bonus?
-
Dain: No, 12 left.
TJ: No, 11 left
-
Is it a site?
-
yes, 10 left.
-
Good thought, Felipe. Hadn't thought of that.
Does it have a Shadow number of 2 or more?
-
yes, 9 left.
See where the transferring bet could have been confusing. When a player controls a site it is placed in that players support. I considered that as a site being transferred from the sitepath to a support area. Anyway you are on the right path now (no pun intended) with 9 questions left to get it :up:.
-
Does it have an activated ability? (meaning one that can/has to be activated during a certain phase, or as a response, instead of an ability like Caras Galadhon, for instance).
-
yes, 8 left
-
Is it a marsh?
-
no, 7 left.
-
Is it a plains?
-
no, 6 left.
-
...really? What definition are you using for "activated ability", then?
Okay, uh...does it have a Shadow number of [3]?
-
no, 5 left
-
I need to quit LOL I have once again answered wrong to a question. I guess that is what I get for answering questions after a 12 hour shift at work. The ability of the site isn't activated but passive. And to correct my error once again my site is a forest so guess my card and end my shame Mr. Ironfoot.
-
Heheh. Okay.
Well, it must be Caras Galadhon, then. All other forests cost (0), [1], or [3], which have all been eliminated.
-
Yes, my shame has come to an end. Thank you dear friend :up:. It is your game now.
-
No problem, my friend. It happens to the best of us. ;)
Okay, got one. Let's rock and roll!
-
Is it a shadow card?
-
Sorry, but according to the rules as originally laid out by Menace (back on Page 1), that is not a valid question. So still 20 to go.
-
Oops sorry joined late didnt realise there were rules.
Does it cost any twilight to play?
-
You mean does it cost [1] or more? No. Good question. :up: Probably eliminated more than you would have with Shadow or Free Peoples anyway.
19 left.
-
Awesome struck :gp:.
Do i have wait for someone else to ask now? If so ok. If not does it play to your support area?
-
No, you do not have to wait.
It does not, however, play to your support area.
18 left.
-
Is it a condition?
-
Nope.
17 to go.
-
is it a site?
-
Not this time around. :P
16 left.
-
Is it a version of the one ring?
-
No, man! I ain't that crafty. Think normal cards! :P
15 remaining.
-
ok is it a companion?
-
That's better. But no, it isn't. Remember, it does NOT cost [1] or more, so that pretty much eliminates companions. Well, mostly.
14 left.
-
I think that leaves events, possessions and artifacts.
Is it an event?
-
Not an event.
Lucky #13 to go.
-
Heheh. Okay.
Well, it must be Caras Galadhon, then. All other forests cost (0), [1], or [3], which have all been eliminated.
I can't believe I actually got it right in an example! LOL.
-
So, is it an Artifact?
-
Nope.
An even dozen questions left.
-
It could be a possession...
But this question will pretty much ensure that it's a possession if I get it wrong.
Is it... White Hand Sieger?
-
A very good thought...but wrong, unfortunately. EL is done for this round.
11 questions left for everyone else.
-
Is it standard legal?
-
No, it is not.
10 to go!
-
Does the card provide a strength bonus?
-
Is it a [Dwarven] card?
-
No, it does not provide a strength bonus.
And no, it is not a [Dwarven] card.
8 questions left.
-
is it a [Gondor] card?
-
It is indeed a [Gondor] card.
7 left, though I'll be surprised if you need them all.
-
does it need a specific unique bearer (like bearer must be Boromir or bearer must be Faramir)?
-
It's one of those exactly, actually. :P
6 remaining.
-
figured it was the only ones that need unique bearer with cost 0 and no strength bonuses LOL.
Does it require an exertion to uses it abilty?
-
Yep.
5 more.
-
ok that means it's one of the 2 hmmm..... Is it Rare? that will get this round over, but I will leave the actual answering to someone else since I jacked my last turn up being so sneaky and all.
-
Yep.
4 questions left. Anyone want to take a stab at it?
-
I know what it is, but like I said I will let another person get the answer their is but one card that meets these requirements now.
But since we have enough questions for me to waste another does it's text read:
Bearer must be Boromir.
Maneuver: Exert Boromir and spot an ally. Until the regroup phase, that ally is strength +3 and participates in arcehry fire and skirmishes.?
-
And I don't have my database with me >:(
-
hey Ulmo read my above post if he answers yes to that you should no the card LOL.
-
But since we have enough questions for me to waste another does it's text read:
Bearer must be Boromir.
Maneuver: Exert Boromir and spot an ally. Until the regroup phase, that ally is strength +3 and participates in arcehry fire and skirmishes.?
Heheheh. Yes, it does.
Gee, I wonder what it could be...? :roll:
Well, you've got 3 more questions to guess.
-
Well geez, if would don't have any takers by morning I will answer this then and try to regain my past shames :up:.
-
Is it the Horn of Boromir?
-
Yeah!
-
Well, I'll assume that was the card.
I've got one - game on.
-
Is it standart legal?
-
No it is not.
19 left.
-
Unique?
-
No.
18 questions remain.
-
Is it a character?
-
No it is not.
17 to go.
-
Does it have a culture?
-
If you mean that it has a culture icon in the top right, then yes. :)
16 left.
-
Does it have a twilight cost of [2] or more?
-
Is it on the banned/restricted list?
-
Does it have a twilight cost of [2] or more?
No
Is it on the banned/restricted list?
I don't see it on the list.
14 questions left.
-
Hmmmm....
Does it play to its owner's support area?
-
No.
13 left.
-
Alrighty then...is it an event?
-
Yes.
12 questions remain.
-
Is it from the Tower block?
-
Does it play during the Maneuver phase only?
-
Rare is it?
-
Is it from the Tower block?
No, 11
Does it play during the Maneuver phase only?
Yes, 10
Rare is it?
No, 9 q's left.
-
does it play for free?
-
Negative, 8 left.
-
is it a [Wraith] card?
-
no, 7.
-
is it a [Gondor] card? Looks like you might be the first to stump us :up:.
-
is it a [Gondor] card? Looks like you might be the first to stump us :up:.
Unless I've messed up, which I don't think I have.
No, 6 left.
-
is it an [Elven] card?
-
No, 5.
-
Does it have three words or less in its title?
-
No, 4.
-
is it a [Gandalf] card?
Either way this might make it 1 of 2 possible cards so we might have it now if we play our cards right (no pun intended). I love puns :up:.
If my calculations are right we have these left to choose from:
One of You Must Do this (if not a [Gandalf] card)
Disquiet of Our People (if not a [Gandalf] card)
Wielder of the Flame (if a [Gandalf] card)
His First Serious Check (if a [Gandalf] card)
Correct me if I missed one or more though :up:.
-
Yes, it is a [Gandalf] card.
3 questions remain. You should get it from here. :up:
-
so it is either Wielder of the Flame or His First Serious Check. I will guess.....
Is your card Wielder of the Flame? I have a 50/50 chance anyway.
-
Is your card his first serious check?
:lol:
-
Actually, unless I missed something, there are actually five cards left that qualify:
Wielder of the Flame
His First Serious Check
Risk A Little Light
Treachery Deeper Than You Know
Speak Friend and Enter
Whoops...nevermind. Forgot the critical piece of maneuver only! :-[
Good detective work, guys. Hope I was able to get it a little closer, at least.
-
Wow, was worried I had screwed this up :suspect:
so it is either Wielder of the Flame or His First Serious Check. I will guess.....
Is your card Wielder of the Flame? I have a 50/50 chance anyway.
No
Is your card his first serious check?
Yes.
-
the event in question plays only during the maneuver phase :up:.
EDIT: to late lem0n got it anyway :up:.
-
Ok fire away people.
-
is it a promo (and by this I mean is it a promo or have a promo version)?
-
No 9teen questions remaining before you lose.
-
Does it have a twilight cost of [3] or more?
-
No 8teen left before loss.
-
Aha. [2] or less. That helps quite a bit....
Is it a character?
-
No 7teen remaining til failure.
-
A condition, then?
-
Indeed 6teen remaning before impending doom.
-
Ah. A condition with a cost of [2] or less. Making good progress already. ;D
Hmmmm...does it play to the support area?
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Is this card uncommon?
-
It plays to your support area, is not uncommon and is not standard legal (by which i mean you need expanded to play it).
You have 13 questions to defeat me.
-
Okay...a support area condition, common or rare, that costs [2] or less. And is NOT Standard-legal. That begs the question....
Is it legal in Tower Block?
-
It be so laddie.
-
Awesome.
Is it from a culture that appears in Fellowship Block?
-
Youre a sneaky little dwarf, arent you? You just have to keep prying dont you.
Are you in my head? ARGH! GET OUT!
The answer to your question is no.
-
Is it rare?
-
does it have more than 2 words in it's title?
-
Dunland culture?
-
Is it Hides?
-
Is it Hides?
I think it was determined it was a condition and Hides is a possession :up:.
-
Yeah, that kind of intrigues me... Well, in my defense, I was sleepy. ;)
-
Yes its rare, yes it has more than 2 words in title and no its not dunlending, nor is it hides.
8 questions left.
-
is your card a [raider] culture card?
-
No good sir it is not a raider card.
-
is it a [Gollum] culture card?
-
Yes monkey face it is.
6 questions left
-
ok that leaves 2 possible cards from my calculation (not always right of course).
Well both pretty much do the same thing other than one targets a minion and the other targets a companion.
Does your card wound a companion?
-
No it does not.
*sigh*
5 left.
-
is your card they stole it?
-
I believe your card is Don't Look at Them?
-
No as i said it does not wound a companion :D
4 left.
:P
EDIT: TJ no its not "Don't Look at Them" :lol:
-
I bet it is the AI version of Don't Look at them because you mentioned something to me about being a dirty cheater :up:.
-
Haha yes indeed congrats NK it is Dont Look At Them AI.
Your turn.
-
I refuse to go as I screwed up and named the wrong card before The Jord guessed what I meant. I will run an auction to fill my place this round. Do we have any takers.
-
I got screwed
-
You didnt get screwed i specifically picked that one in an attempt to win the game unlike anyone else has done.
You guessed at 6R39 and i was thinking of 6R125. So i played by the rules and you were wrong!
:twisted:
-
Hey The Jord it is your round if you want it. If not I will go ahead and give it a try if I don't hear anything from you soon :up:.
-
NK has gifted it to me :gp:
Now go, I have one
-
Does it cost [2] or more?
-
No.
19 left
-
Is this card a condition?
-
No.
18 left
-
Is it a character?
-
No.
17 left
-
Does it play on a character?
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Yes
16
Yes
15
-
Is it unique?
-
No
14 left
-
Is it a possession?
-
Yes
13 left
-
Is it Ithilien Blade?
-
No, F_M is out this round
12 left
-
does it only play on a man (by this I men races eg. [Rohan], [Gondor], [Men] etc...)?
-
Yes
11 left
-
Is it legal in the movie block?
-
No
10 left
-
Is it a hand weapon?
-
No
9 left
-
[gondor] Culture?
-
Yes
8 left
-
Does it give a strength bonus?
-
No
7 left
-
More than 1 word in it's title?
-
Yes
6 left
-
Cards that it could be:
Ranger's Cloak, Shield of the White Tree, Armor of the Citadel, Faramir's Bow, IL, Brego, Loyal Steed, or Aragorn's Bow, RL.
Could also be The Great Horn, but I doubt it as technically it can provide a strength bonus.
Is it unique?
-
Does it have a regroup special ability?
Elf_Lvr, the unique question has already been asked.
-
No
5 left
I will ignore EL's question
-
Does it give a vitality bonus?
-
Yes
4 left
I believe there is only one possible card left
-
Is it ranger's cloak?
-
Correct! MR Lurtzy's turn
-
Alright, shoot.
-
Is it a character?
-
no.
19
-
Does it play to your support area?
-
Nope.
18
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Tis.
17.
-
Is it an event?
-
Tisn't.
16
-
Does it play on a character?
-
Nope.
15.
-
Ok, is it a site?
-
Ah, yes.
15.
-
Is it Mount Doom?
-
Does it have a Shadow number of [1] or less?
-
No and no.
13.
-
Does it have a Shadow number of [3] or more?
-
Yes.
12.
-
May as well ask the obvious.... :P
Does it have a Shadow number of [4]?
-
Nope.
11.
-
Is it from the Shadows set (not block)?
-
Nope.
10.
-
Is it a River?
-
No.
9.
-
A Forest?
-
No.
8.
-
Is it a battleground?
-
A dwelling?
-
This is kinda weird but we were at page 40 last time I checked, this round and another had been completed. Malachi guessed that this answer was caves of aglarond and he was correct. We then proceded to play two more rounds so I dunno what happened to those pages...
-
So what? Let's just keep going, then. C'mon, guys, I'm thinking of a card...
-
Ok, is it a character?
-
Sure is. 19.
-
Standard Legal?
-
Not really, no. 18.
-
Perhaps it is an ally?
-
Hum... nope. 17.
-
Is the culture present in the fellowship block?
-
Sure is. 16.
-
Unique is it?
-
is it a Condition?
-
No to both, which means 14 now.
-
Does this character cost [2] or less?
-
Yes. 13.
-
Is this card on the banned or restricted list?
-
Nope. 12
-
Is it from the fellowship block?
-
Yes! 11.
-
Is it common?
-
Of course. 10.
-
Is it a [Moria] card?
-
Nope. 9.
-
Is it a minion?
-
Not really, no. Not at all, actually. ;) 8.
-
So a companion, then?
-
YES! Getting close... 7.
-
Is it a fellow Dwarf?
-
Didn't think you could ask if it was a minion, but too late now ;)
-
You can ask if it's a companion or minion, just not if it's a Shadow or FP card, as that eliminates too many cards in one pop.
-
It's not! 6 left...
-
Then it must be...Lorien Elf. AKA the most useless companion EVER. :P
What do I win? I want the Porsche!
-
Bingo! ding ding ding ding ding whaaaaaat did he win, Tom?!?
Yay, it's a brand new mithril broad-axe!
Congratulations, DáinIronfoot for playing, come back next week for the champion's rematch! :D
-
Since no one has started the next round, I will. Start the guessing.
-
is it a character?
-
Yes.
19
-
Is this character a minion or companion?
-
It must be a yes or no question.
-
ah sorry.
let me try again.
Is this character a ring bearer?
-
No.
18
-
Is it a common?
-
its it a rare?
-
It is not a common.
17
-
It is not rare.
16
-
Is it a P-card?
-
No.
15
-
Is it standard legal?
-
Yes.
14
-
Does it cost [2] or more?
-
Yes.
13
-
is it a minion
-
That question is not allowed.
-
oh.
-
Why not? I thought "is it a shadow card" was not allowed, but this way we can try to narrow it down.
-
let's just ask: does it have a site number?
-
No.
12
-
Does it have a Resistance icon?
-
Yes.
11.
-
Is it from a Culture present in Fellowship Block?
-
Yeah.
10.
-
Is it a man?
-
No.
9.
-
does it have strength more than 4?
-
Yes.
8.
-
Does it have a long beard?
-
No.
7
-
Hmmm.... Unless I'm mistaken that leaves elves or an unusually strong hobbit.
-
my bet is an elf
is it female?
-
No.
6
-
Is it unique?
-
Yes sir.
5
-
That leaves- Aegnor, EE
Hunters Haldir
One of the elves from a starter deck
-
Uruviel is a female. I already said that the character on the card is not a female. :up:
-
I removed her from the list at the exact same time as when you said that! :o
-
Is it the Hunters Haldir?
-
No. GT is eliminated.
4
-
Is it a card with "S" in its collector's info?
-
Yes.
3
-
Does this card have the ability to become an archer without a possession?
-
No.
2
-
It's either Hunters Legolas or Orophin from Rise of Saruman.
(Tell me if you see any other possibilities)
-
Is it Rumil, Silvain Elf?
-
Does this card have the ability to become an archer without a possession?
No.
2
Is it Rumil, Silvain Elf?
Please retract this question!
The remaining options are Orophin, Silvan Elf, Legolas, Swift Hunter or the no name Elven Guardian.
-
It is not Rumil. GoG is eliminated.
1
-
No one guessed Orophin. :suspect:
-
Ah my bad. Post edited accordingly. :up:
-
So IS it Elven Guardian?
-
Nope. Felipe Musco is eliminated.
0
I win. :twisted:
-
Who is it?
-
Legolas, Fleet-footed Hunter
-
Argh GoG what were you thinking!? I asked that question to eliminate Rumil...
-
Sorry :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ I missread the question you asked. :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
-
It was unique, which eliminates Elven Guardian.
Good job, Mr. Lurtzy!