The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: dalkilthur on February 27, 2010, 05:49:58 AM
-
Hi,
If you cancel a skirmish with an event (for example, any of the hobbit events that cancel a skirmish), does that skirmish count as lost for the character?
Thanks,
ROBERTO
-
No, neither side wins or loses.
-
Cancelling skirmishes is the only time that a side isn't designated winning or losing the skirmishes.
It is also worth noting that one side of the skirmish being removed (ex. Merry, Learned Guide being discarded) does not cancel the skirmish--in fact, the Shadow player gets credit for winning that skirmish.
-wtk
-
It is also worth noting that one side of the skirmish being removed (ex. Merry, Learned Guide being discarded) does not cancel the skirmish--in fact, the Shadow player gets credit for winning that skirmish.
Just to clarify: The Shadow wins if the FP side gets removed (like with Merry, LG). If the Shadow side gets removed (e.g. by skirmish wounding knights or rangers), the FP side wins.
One thing I'm wondering about, though, is Sent Back (where all characters are removed from the skirmish). Does the FP win because the minions are removed first, or does the Shadow win because both sides are reduced to 0? It seems to me that if the skirmish ends immediately when one side is removed, the FP wins before the Wizard is placed in your dead pile. Conversely, if the skirmish doesn't end until both players pass, the Shadow wins in a 0-0 tie. I suspect it's the former, but does anyone have a ruling?
-
Thanks Sam, that was worded awkwardly.
With Sent Back, the Free People's side wins the skirmish. The action goes like this:
Play !Sent Back.
Discard all minions skirmishing the wizard.
Place that Wizard in the Dead Pile.
Once Sent Back is played, skirmish events for that skirmish cease to be played. Response events may be played.
-wtk
-
Okay, so the skirmish is resolved as soon as the minions are discarded, before the Wizard is placed in the dead pile. That makes sense. Thanks!
-
If all characters of one side are removed during a skirmish before strength has been totaled, the skirmish resolves and the other side wins.
If all characters of one side are removed from a skirmish before that skirmish begins, that skirmish does not occur.
Straight from the CRD.
-wtk
-
Hold the phone, if I use Merry, LG and discard him the shadow player is credited for "winning" the skirmish!
-
Hold the phone, if I use Merry, LG and discard him the shadow player is credited for "winning" the skirmish!
Yes.
-wtk
-
Only if it's during Merry's skirmish.
-
Good point; as long as the discard ability doesn't talk about "skirmishing," you can discard him during someone else's skirmish and still not "lose" a skirmish (the skirmish simply won't happen at all).
-
so if I discard merry during, say, aragorn's skirmish, it doesn't count as a win for the shadow
-
Correct. Merry's skirmish never happens.
-
Thank you everyone!!!
-
I've been playing it wrong for years. :D
-
I've been playing it wrong for years. :D
Me too...