The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: hrcho on March 22, 2010, 11:30:00 AM

Title: Tom Bombadil
Post by: hrcho on March 22, 2010, 11:30:00 AM
Let's say Rallying call is in play => threats cannot be removed by Free Peoples cards
If I as a Free Peoples player have 2 threats and no burdens, can I play Tom Bombadil?

Tom Bombadil is a Free Peoples card, so you're probably thinking why the #$&*@! am I even asking that question...

well... what confuses me is the fact that removing the threats is not an effect of Tom Bombadil, but the cost of playing him and that is, to my knowledge, the only Free Peoples card that has removing burdens or threats as a cost.

So, can I play him?
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: Thranduil on March 22, 2010, 11:43:12 AM
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on March 22, 2010, 12:15:50 PM
I second Thraunduil's interpretation. Removing 2 threats (or 2 burdens) is the cost of playing Tom Bombadil, you can't remove 2 threats or burdens, so you can't play Tom Bombadil. It's the same as if you have no threats or burdens. If you really want to be sure you can play Tom Bombadil, use a ring that lets you add burdens.
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: putridbreath on March 22, 2010, 01:41:03 PM
or bid two burdens to start play
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: ket_the_jet on March 22, 2010, 02:24:28 PM
or bid two burdens to start play

Watch out for [Sauron] (or other, of course) cards that remove burdens, though.
-wtk
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: hrcho on March 22, 2010, 02:51:51 PM
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil

Thank you. I thought as much, although it confused me whether Tom Bombadil is really the source of threat removal, but now when I think about it, what else could be the source.
Title: Re: Tom Bombadil
Post by: Thranduil on March 22, 2010, 03:09:06 PM
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil

Thank you. I thought as much, although it confused me whether Tom Bombadil is really the source of threat removal, but now when I think about it, what else could be the source.
The source of anything is the card on which it is printed. That's the general rule, which should hopefully make sense for the future.

Thranduil