The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: hrcho on March 22, 2010, 08:54:19 PM

Title: Strong Arms
Post by: hrcho on March 22, 2010, 08:54:19 PM
Does the effect of your Strong Arms apply during the other players Free Peoples turn?

It's played on a site and thus the confusion in my mind... but I suppose it doesn't, along with all other inactive Free Peoples cards.
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Gate Troll on March 22, 2010, 08:57:35 PM
I think it would. I'm not sure, you'd have to ask one of the rules gurus like Thranduil or Czech Rabbit.
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on March 22, 2010, 09:07:57 PM
No. Free Peoples cards are only active during their owner's turn (and Shadow cards are only active when it's not their owner's turn). The card is still there (just like the conditions in your support area are there), it just has no effect.
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Thranduil on March 23, 2010, 05:30:49 AM
No. Free Peoples cards are only active during their owner's turn (and Shadow cards are only active when it's not their owner's turn). The card is still there (just like the conditions in your support area are there), it just has no effect.
Bingo. If it's not your turn, it can't be spotted and it's game text has no effect.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: rujudan on March 23, 2010, 04:07:24 PM
excellent explanation w/ the spotting
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Machine on February 07, 2012, 10:27:36 PM
 Ok so if it plays on a site, and it pumps your Rohan men at that site, it's only useful if you play it on a site you haven't yet moved to, yeah?  (For the pump)
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: bibfortuna25 on February 07, 2012, 11:01:52 PM
Yeah, it's only useful if you're behind on the adventure path (or have played the next site via the FP's many site-playing tricks).
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Yrael on February 11, 2012, 03:30:34 PM
Or in the very rare circumstance where the opponent uses A dark shape sprang and you have that condition on the site for whatever reason (such as emptying you hand)
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Machine on February 11, 2012, 09:58:10 PM
:)
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Stormcrow on February 12, 2012, 01:20:54 PM
Strong Arms only applies during your turn.

The comprehensive rules say, "During your turn, only these cards in play are active:
• sites on the adventure path,
• sites in any player’s support area,
your Free Peoples cards,
• your copy of The One Ring, and
• your opponents’ Shadow cards.
All other cards in play are inactive. Inactive cards are not affected by the game and do not affect the game."

Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: sickofpalantirs on February 13, 2012, 05:34:08 AM
Or in the very rare circumstance where the opponent uses A dark shape sprang and you have that condition on the site for whatever reason (such as emptying you hand)

Except there's no Rohan Ring-bearer...
Title: Re: Strong Arms
Post by: Tbiesty on February 13, 2012, 07:29:50 AM
Or in the very rare circumstance where the opponent uses A dark shape sprang and you have that condition on the site for whatever reason (such as emptying you hand)

Except there's no Rohan Ring-bearer...

True, but how is that relevant?  (I know A Dark Shape Sprang is often used against the Ring-bearer, but it doesn't have to be.)   ;)