The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Marcoliboar on March 29, 2010, 03:26:54 PM

Title: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Marcoliboar on March 29, 2010, 03:26:54 PM
so like this,

Durin is skirmishing Troop of Uruk-hai, he bears lets say, a Dwarven Axe, so is he only 7 or is he 8?

I know he loses str bonus from Dwarven Axe, but does he also loses the bonus from his text, "Durin III is strength +1 for each artifact and each possession he bears." , coz Dwarven Axe is a weapon, and that +1 possession he bears bouns is from weapon.

Hope you got it  :mrgreen:
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Elgar on March 29, 2010, 03:41:26 PM
Any bonus from Durin's card would apply.
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Elessar's Socks on March 29, 2010, 04:00:00 PM
Durin keeps the bonus from his own text, because the source of this bonus (the card on which that effect is printed) is a companion. Like Elgar said, any bonuses from Durin's card would apply when facing Uruk-hai Troop.
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: ket_the_jet on March 29, 2010, 04:13:20 PM
This question was answered before here (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,2042.0.html).
-wtk
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on March 29, 2010, 06:10:38 PM
To quote the thread ket's referencing: "The source of an effect is the card the effect is printed on only." For example, if Gollum, DaD wounds the Ring-bearer, and the Free Peoples' player uses the Ring to take that wound as a burden, he can't use Relaxation to discard Gollum. So Durin III, Fords of Isen, etc., are not effected by Troop of Uruk-Hai.
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Gwaihir on March 29, 2010, 07:32:13 PM
Hey, I was going to ask this question. ;)
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Marcoliboar on March 30, 2010, 03:32:31 AM
Hey, I was going to ask this question. ;)

:))


Hmm, source of the bonus is a weapon...but...if you say so :) ok :)
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Gil-Estel on March 30, 2010, 03:41:25 AM
It is true. I can see the confusion, but the source is Durin, the weapon triggers the source.
Title: Re: Troop of Uruk-hai and Durin III
Post by: Elessar's Socks on March 30, 2010, 09:50:54 AM
That's what the rule is for, to nail down the source. ;) Incidentally the exact text of it is:

"The source of an effect is the card on which that effect is printed. Even though a card like an event may require a minion to exert to pay its cost, the source of that effect is the event card and not the minion."