The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Gerontius on April 08, 2010, 05:33:31 PM

Title: Ordering Question
Post by: Gerontius on April 08, 2010, 05:33:31 PM
Just a quick question about Olog-Hai of Mordor. If he wins the first skirmish and I play a besieger from a site, does that minion participate in one or two skirmishes? What if the Olog-Hai wins its second skirmish too?
On a similar note, where's the official ruling on Above the Battlement? Because I still think I should be allowed to play a besieger from I site I control to play a [Sauron] orc from my draw deck.  :)
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Kralik on April 08, 2010, 07:14:06 PM
For Olog-Hai, all minions he plays can only participate in fierce skirmishes. The regular assignment phase is already past. Lots of [Dunlend] Men use the same mechanic.

Above the Battlement: Yes, you can play a besieger from a site you control to play another one from your discard pile.
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on April 08, 2010, 08:05:45 PM
For Olog-Hai of Mordor and the like, it's like this:

Suppose there are two minions, Olog-Hai of Mordor and Gorgoroth Looter, and two companions, Frodo and Aragorn, HoE.

Assignment Phase: There are two minions: Olog-Hai of Mordor and Gorgoroth Looter. The Free Peoples player assigns Olog-Hai of Mordor to Aragorn and Gorgoroth Looter to Frodo.

Aragorn's Skirmish (assigned to Olog-Hai of Mordor):
Olog-Hai of Mordor wins, Aragorn takes a wound, and the Shadow player plays Gorgoroth Troop from a site.
Frodo's Skirmish (assigned to Gorgoroth Looter): Gorgoroth Looter wins and Frodo takes a wound.
Note that Gorgoroth Troop isn't in either of these skirmishes because he never got a chance to be assigned during the assignment phase.

Fierce Assignment Phase:
There are two fierce minions: Olog-Hai of Mordor and Gorgoroth Troop. The Free Peoples Player assigns both of them to Aragorn, HoE (since he's defender +1).

Aragorn's Skirmish (assigned to Olog-Hai of Mordor and Gorgoroth Troop):
Aragorn is overwhelmed and placed in the dead pile, and the Shadow player plays Gorgoroth Swarm from a site.

Regroup:
Neither player has any regroup actions, the Free Peoples player chooses not to move on (since he only has Frodo against 4 minions totaling 53 strength), and the minions are discarded.
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Gerontius on April 08, 2010, 08:58:45 PM
So the fierce assignment phase is separate? Thanks, that explains a lot.
Above the Battlement: Yes, you can play a besieger from a site you control to play another one from your discard pile.
Really? I looked at the notes for that card in the database, and they seem to suggest otherwise. You'll notice that I asked where was the official ruling; I was just wondering what you had gotten those notes from.
And thanks Sam, for your incredibly detailed reply.  :up:
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Kralik on April 08, 2010, 09:04:24 PM
Ah! I should pay attention to my own notes. That's a clarification from Decipher themselves (CRD), so I guess my understanding was wrong. :P
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: legolas3333 on April 09, 2010, 12:04:43 AM
No kralik, you were right originally, it's in the wording. "Play a bieseger stacked on a site you control or remove a burden to play a [SAURON] Orc from your discard pile."  In order to get the minion from your draw deck you must either remove a burden or play a besieger from a site you control. The cost is playing a besieger or removing a burden, the effect is playing a [Sauron] minion from your discard pile.
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Elessar's Socks on April 09, 2010, 12:54:55 AM
The Comprehensive Rulebook makes it clear where to parse the game text:

Quote from: Above the Battlement entry
When you play this card you must choose one of the following actions: (1) play a besieger stacked on a site you control; or (2) remove a burden to play a [Sauron] Orc from your discard pile.
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Kralik on April 09, 2010, 12:17:52 PM
ES (EA :P) is right -- the notes on the card page are per Decipher, so they cleared it up themselves by indicating the original intention.
Title: Re: Ordering Question
Post by: Gerontius on April 09, 2010, 03:24:34 PM
Darn it- Kralik had my hopes up for a minute there!  ;D
That's two deck ideas gone in one thread.