The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Mythdracon on April 23, 2010, 12:11:52 PM

Title: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Mythdracon on April 23, 2010, 12:11:52 PM
In FOTR, let's say I have Pippin, Mr Took in my fellowship, and add a burden to play a ranger from Prancing Pony. Will Aragorn, if I play him, be twilight cost 2 with Pippin's ability if drawn from the draw deck?
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Faelach on April 23, 2010, 12:14:46 PM
Yes.  Pippin's text comes into effect when you "play Aragorn".  Even though you it's from your Draw Deck, you are still PLAYING Aragorn.

It's a nice chain, I must admit.
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Elessar's Socks on April 23, 2010, 01:02:38 PM
No, phase actions can't be combined; one must be completely performed before another can be performed.
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on April 23, 2010, 01:08:59 PM
No, phase actions can't be combined; one must be completely performed before another can be performed.
This is correct. You must complete the action on The Prancing Pony before you can use Pippin's action. The only exception is responses, which can interrupt other actions.
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Faelach on April 23, 2010, 01:57:26 PM
:O  Looks like my friend cheated me out in quite a few games!
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Marcoliboar on April 23, 2010, 03:35:52 PM
both actions are fellowship, so action by action, so pippins text does not apply.

pippin game text is

Fellowship: Play Gandalf or Aragorn; his twilight cost is -2.

but if his text would be just,

 Play Gandalf or Aragorn; his twilight cost is -2.

whit out Fellowship, then it would cost -2 :)

Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Witchkingx5 on April 26, 2010, 09:37:24 AM
Ahem, Ahem.

It was me who posted these Beginner's articles (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,3668.0.html) which should help the players understand the rules, and as I remember, I wrote "read this before asking any questions" on the thread. However, maybe you should just take a look at this article (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,3668.msg43860.html#msg43860) (Bidding and the Starting Fellowship) where the exactly same example is given.

I must complain that there are many questions which can be taken directly from a certainrulebook. So everyone, if you're not sure, first look into the Rulebook, then ask the community.
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Mythdracon on April 29, 2010, 07:18:52 PM
But it's too long for someone as busy and impatient for me to read! :P

How about this: Castamir of Umbar exerts in Shadow phase to play Corsair Marauder to add 2 tokens to a possession that already has a Corsair token on it. Corsair Marauder reads, "When you play this minion, if you can spot another corsair, you may discard a possession to add 2 Corsair Tokens to a card that already has a Corsair Token on it. Can you effectively play the Marauder, add 2 tokens, then discard a possession to add 2 further tokens? I'm assuming it's yes, since both are not the same phase of action, i.e. "Shadow:".
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: simplegarak on April 29, 2010, 07:32:44 PM
Can you effectively play the Marauder, add 2 tokens, then discard a possession to add 2 further tokens? I'm assuming it's yes, since both are not the same phase of action, i.e. "Shadow:".

You are correct for the right reasons.  If something says "when" or "each" or "every" then it would apply whenever those conditions occur.

So with Corsair Marauder, you get to discard a possession no matter HOW he's played, just as long as he is.
Title: Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
Post by: Witchkingx5 on May 03, 2010, 10:24:29 AM
Agree, that's correct.