The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Hobbiton Lad on April 30, 2010, 12:17:11 PM

Title: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Hobbiton Lad on April 30, 2010, 12:17:11 PM
Bilbo's game text reads:

"Regroup: Add a burden to play a [SHIRE] tale."

I'm assuming since cards do what they say they do, I can use Bilbo's ability to play a card like Nine-fingered Frodo and the Ring of Doom during the regroup phase even though it is a skirmish phase event. Am I correct in this thinking?
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Elessar's Socks on April 30, 2010, 12:33:46 PM
This was cause for debate in an earlier topic (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,3977.0.html). Personally I would say no, due to this specific rule: "You cannot play an event during a phase that does not match its phase action." To me, Bilbo's text doesn't imply he has free reign to start ignoring other requirements.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Hobbiton Lad on April 30, 2010, 12:44:37 PM
Ah yes. This makes sense to me now because you have to do 2 things to play a card:

1) Meet Requirements
2) Pay Costs

Since NFFatRoD is a Skirmish phase event, you cannot meet the requirements to play it during the Regroup phase because of the rule you mentioned.

It's not a dealbreaker for the deck I'm trying to build, thank goodness. It'll just impact certain decisions. :)
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Thranduil on May 01, 2010, 02:22:49 PM
These questions that keep getting asked - can we add the clarifications to Kralik's database?
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 01, 2010, 04:09:34 PM
IMO the integrity of the database would only be kept by limiting it to official rulings.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Thranduil on May 02, 2010, 03:28:58 AM
IMO the integrity of the database would only be kept by limiting it to official rulings.
In the case where there's some rules ambiguity (and there are many... :roll: ) I'd agree with you. But this ruling is official in the way that it follows the rules exactly, it just wasn't specifically issued by Decipher.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: mardukra on July 20, 2010, 10:24:10 AM
Cards break rules.  Been that way forever across many CCGs.  Bilbo, BoTB allows you to play ANY tale (from hand) during regroup.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: ket_the_jet on July 20, 2010, 10:59:47 AM
Cards break rules.  Been that way forever across many CCGs.  Bilbo, BoTB allows you to play ANY tale (from hand) during regroup.

Except for Nine-Fingered Frodo and the Ring of Doom.

Events cannot be played out of their respective phase.
-wtk
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: hrcho on July 20, 2010, 11:06:39 AM
Cards break rules.  Been that way forever across many CCGs.  Bilbo, BoTB allows you to play ANY tale (from hand) during regroup.

Cards don't break rules, but they can override them. However, that is not the case here. You can't play an event outside its predetermined phase unless a card specifically says so (e.g. Diversion). Bilbo, BoTB has no such text and you can't play NFFATROD outside of skirmish phase the same way you can't play Cruel Caradhras or Caradhras has not forgiven us during Maneuver phase using Pass of Caradhras.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: mardukra on July 20, 2010, 11:44:40 AM


Events cannot be played out of their respective phase.
-wtk
[/quote]

Ah yes, that sounds familiar from somewhere.
Title: Re: Need Clarification: Bilbo, Bearer of Things Burgled
Post by: Kev-La on July 20, 2010, 12:08:17 PM
...this ruling is official in the way that it follows the rules exactly, it just wasn't specifically issued by Decipher.
Hear, hear!