The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Anubis1Anpu on May 10, 2010, 01:01:46 PM

Title: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Anubis1Anpu on May 10, 2010, 01:01:46 PM
I have a question about the accumulation of effects on non-unqiue cards like Black Marshal and Bent on Discovery.

If you have, for example, four copies of each card in play, does that mean, in the case of Black Marshal, that you can exert four times to add the one or two twilight four times or does it mean that you may exert once to add one or two twilight four times?


Same sort of scenario with Bent on Discovery: If you have four copies, are four exertions necessary to maintain the cards, or is one exertion sufficient?
Title: Re: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Faelach on May 10, 2010, 01:09:08 PM
Each card that you have on the table must be considered seperately.  The rules are clear that phase actions can not be combined and cannot "accumulate".   

For Black Marshal, having 4 copies out will not be any better than having 1 copy out, as you get the same phase option.  The only use of multiples would be to combat condition removal.  In other words, you can only use the effect once - you can exert a Nazgul and play the other minion to add (1) or (2).

The same thought goes for Bent on Discovery.  You much treat each copy as a seperate card (cards can't be "morphed" into one, in other words) and meet the requirements of each one respectively.  If you had 4 copies, you WOULD have to place 4 exertions - if you had 3, you'd have to do 3, and so on.

It's pretty simple really. :)  Hope this helps!
Title: Re: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Not a Zombie on May 10, 2010, 01:16:39 PM
For black marshal, you can exert four times to add the one or two twilight four times

For bent on discovery, you must exert once per copy on the table. You may however draw 4 cards if you have 4 on the table.
Title: Re: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Faelach on May 10, 2010, 01:21:55 PM
For black marshal, you can exert four times to add the one or two twilight four times

For bent on discovery, you must exert once per copy on the table. You may however draw 4 cards if you have 4 on the table.

Hehe.  :)  We're like duplicate records.
Title: Re: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Elgar on May 10, 2010, 03:19:58 PM
Faelach is correct.

For black marshall, since it is a phase action, cannot be combined with other phase actions.  that means that it is no better than having 1 copy.

Bent on discovery has triggers.  Each triggers at the end of each shadow phase, so if you would have to exert a Nazgul for each to keep it in play.
Title: Re: Black Marshal or Bent on Discovery
Post by: Anubis1Anpu on May 11, 2010, 11:25:07 AM
Interesting...that makes Black Marshal a tolerable card, and Bent of Discovery a great card for an Enduring Nazgul deck.