The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Crabby Imposter on May 12, 2010, 05:55:48 PM
-
So a couple rules questions re: Gimli's Armor. Scenario: Gimli, RB is wearing Gimli's Armor (ROTK) and Gimli's Helm (FOTR).
Scenario 1: he loses a skirmish to a minion with Damage +1. I use the text of Gimli's Armor to prevent a wound. Does Gimli's Helm prevent the second wound as well, or do I have to Gimli's Armor a second time?
Scenario 2: opponent plays a Nazgul, followed by Morgul Brute. Can I choose to wound Gimli, and then prevent that wound with Gimli's Armor?
PS: I couldn't find a Rules forum, so I hope I posted this in the right place...
-
Scenario 1: No, Gimli's Helm blocks no wounds. You'd have to use the Armor to block both. But If you did nothing, he would only take one wound because of the helm.
Scenario 2: Unless your using the Gimli Ring-bearer, You can't choose to wound him. But if you are using Gimli Rb, yes you can block it.
Archives of Minas Tirith is the forum for rules questions. Have a mod move it there.
-
i have to take issue with the answer provided for scenario 1. The first part of the text on Gimli's helm is not a response nor special ability, it is active at all times. Bearer takes no more than one wound during each skirmish phase. Thus minions of damage X can't do more than one wound to the bearer, regardless of damage bonuses. So as long as the freeps player has initiative, they can discard 2 cards from hand to prevent the only wound thrown at gimli. Unless Big D made some sort of ruling which specified the use of those 2 cards together, there is no action combining thus they are both active and capable of complementing each other.
-
I think I see where the confusion is.
Gimli's Helm says "takes no more than 1 wound per skirmish", however, if you prevent a wound with Gimli's Armor, the question then is "did he take a wound in the skirmish yet"?
Hmmm....
-
Topic has now been posted in the Rules Forum.
-
Scenario 1: he loses a skirmish to a minion with Damage +1. I use the text of Gimli's Armor to prevent a wound. Does Gimli's Helm prevent the second wound as well, or do I have to Gimli's Armor a second time?
Gimli's Helm says he can only take 1 wound per skirmish phase. Because you prevented the first wound with the !armor, he hasn't taken a wound yet, and so the second wound sticks.
Scenario 2: opponent plays a Nazgul, followed by Morgul Brute. Can I choose to wound Gimli, and then prevent that wound with Gimli's Armor?
This is an annoying ruling. You can prevent the wound, but then you have to add the burden instead. This is because wounding Gimli is the prevention text. It checks to see whether you actually wounded Gimli (which you didn't because you prevented the wound), and notes that you didn't prevent the burden, and so you have to add the burden.
Thranduil
-
Thranduil is right
I'm pretty sure that in a an older CRD or maybe the comprehensive rule book, there's an example of scenario 2 using morgul destroyer
-
Scenario 1: he loses a skirmish to a minion with Damage +1. I use the text of Gimli's Armor to prevent a wound. Does Gimli's Helm prevent the second wound as well, or do I have to Gimli's Armor a second time?
Gimli's Helm says he can only take 1 wound per skirmish phase. Because you prevented the first wound with the !armor, he hasn't taken a wound yet, and so the second wound sticks.
but you should still be able to prevent the second wound with the armor. The helm doesn't prevent anything, it modifies how much damage a companion can take. I don't understand why you can't use the armor to prevent the single wound your about to take when it clearly says, if your about to take a wound prevent it by discarding 2 cards
-
Looking it over, having these two threads merged is going to make for some confusing reading, so I'll lock this one. The other thread is here (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,4782.0.html).