The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: hrcho on May 20, 2010, 04:04:42 AM

Title: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: hrcho on May 20, 2010, 04:04:42 AM
Phial of Galadriel, Star-glass. I have a few questions regarding that marvelous artifact.

Case 1: Easterling Captain bearing an Easterling Polearm is skirmishing a hobbit bearing Star-glass. Hobbit discards Star-glass and Easterling Captain loses all his game text including his Easterling identity. What then happens to Easterling Polearm since it has a condition of bearer being an Easterling.

Case 2: Lurtz, SoI is skirmishing a hobbit bering Star-glass and Lurtz made himself fierce during regroup phase. If hobbit discards Star-glass, does Lurtz lose fierce? I mean, if the minion was Ugluk, SoS he would lose his fierce because it's a part of his game text, but does Fierce become a part of Lurtz's game text during maneuver phase?
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: legolas3333 on May 20, 2010, 05:12:17 AM
Case 2: Lurtz loses Fierce

I have no idea for case 1, I would guess that it is discarded.
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Pepin The Breve on May 20, 2010, 05:19:54 AM
In case 1 the polearm got discarded cause bearer must be an easterling, which it is not anymore (I told these guys to not drink anything that a small guy offers in a shinny glass... later they can't even remember what they are, and start droping things anywhere)...

In case 2: We have to check if turn into fierce = gain fierce keyword. I personally think Lurtz would lose fierce but i'm not sure. (Fierce? me? Nooooo you must be mistaken... I will just go talk with that little hobbit again cause i forgot something...)
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: legolas3333 on May 20, 2010, 05:30:18 AM
What lurtz text is saying is "Make lurtz gain Fierce until the regroup phase" so since he has gained it, he must be able to lose it
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 20, 2010, 06:19:20 AM
Case 1: Easterling Captain bearing an Easterling Polearm is skirmishing a hobbit bearing Star-glass. Hobbit discards Star-glass and Easterling Captain loses all his game text including his Easterling identity. What then happens to Easterling Polearm since it has a condition of bearer being an Easterling.
The Polearm remains. The bearer part is relevant when playing or transferring the card, but if the Captain loses his Easterling keyword afterward, the rules don't say to do something to the Polearm.

Quote
Case 2: Lurtz, SoI is skirmishing a hobbit bering Star-glass and Lurtz made himself fierce during regroup phase. If hobbit discards Star-glass, does Lurtz lose fierce? I mean, if the minion was Ugluk, SoS he would lose his fierce because it's a part of his game text, but does Fierce become a part of Lurtz's game text during maneuver phase?
The fierce keyword is considered part of his game text, so he will lose it ("Sometimes game text is added to a card by an effect, even though that text is not printed on that card." - 8/13/07 CRD).
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Thranduil on May 20, 2010, 06:34:35 AM
Case 1: Easterling Captain bearing an Easterling Polearm is skirmishing a hobbit bearing Star-glass. Hobbit discards Star-glass and Easterling Captain loses all his game text including his Easterling identity. What then happens to Easterling Polearm since it has a condition of bearer being an Easterling.
The Polearm remains. The bearer part is relevant when playing or transferring the card, but if the Captain loses his Easterling keyword afterward, the rules don't say to do something to the Polearm.
This is correct. It's the same case as with the RoS Wargs with strength limits - you don't need to worry if your Relentless Warg increases the strength of its bearer above 10.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Witchkingx5 on May 20, 2010, 07:04:20 AM
This is correct. It's the same case as with the RoS Wargs with strength limits - you don't need to worry if your Relentless Warg increases the strength of its bearer above 10.

Thranduil

This made everything clear, makes even sense to me now. Have a :gp: !
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: legolas3333 on May 20, 2010, 01:21:17 PM
Case 1: Easterling Captain bearing an Easterling Polearm is skirmishing a hobbit bearing Star-glass. Hobbit discards Star-glass and Easterling Captain loses all his game text including his Easterling identity. What then happens to Easterling Polearm since it has a condition of bearer being an Easterling.
The Polearm remains. The bearer part is relevant when playing or transferring the card, but if the Captain loses his Easterling keyword afterward, the rules don't say to do something to the Polearm.
This is correct. It's the same case as with the RoS Wargs with strength limits - you don't need to worry if your Relentless Warg increases the strength of its bearer above 10.

Thranduil

Ok, so just to verify, a Black Land Observer bearing a Threatening Warg won't lose it as soon as a skirmish begins with Aragorn, Thorongil?
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: TheJord on May 20, 2010, 01:23:56 PM
No, bearer requirements are only applicable when cards are played.
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Gil-Estel on May 20, 2010, 03:55:56 PM
Wasn't it the same with those AE conditions?
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: TheJord on May 20, 2010, 03:58:54 PM
Yes, Rabbit Stew's text on transferring overrides its original bearer requirement.
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Abbott465 on May 20, 2010, 05:23:59 PM
Yes, Rabbit Stew's text on transferring overrides its original bearer requirement.
So you can transfer Rabbit Stew to any Fellowship comp then? Sorry im just not too sure on what you ment by override lol
Title: Re: Psst... Galadriel's secret stash is in her phial
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 21, 2010, 10:23:36 AM
To any fellowship companion. It's been argued several ways; personally I find it a lucky break that "An artifact or possession may be transferred only to a character who may bear it" does not list conditions, as written.