The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: hrcho on May 23, 2010, 05:14:27 PM

Title: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: hrcho on May 23, 2010, 05:14:27 PM
Can Glimpse of Fate be used during regroup phase to make a minion str -4 until the next regroup phase or to be more precise, can it be used at the start of the regroup phase (Nenya)?

I don't think it can because it lasts until the regroup phase and at any time during the regroup phase that condition is met. If it said "until the start of the regroup phase" and it's used after the start of the regroup phase, then it's text would've been in effect until the start of the next regroup phase. Similar to playing Numenor's Pride in the regroup phase with Treebeard, KotW. It lasts until the start of the next regroup phase.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: Tbiesty on May 23, 2010, 07:00:25 PM
Your logic sounds good to me.  Unless someone finds a specific ruling to the contrary, I'd go with your ruling.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: hrcho on May 24, 2010, 01:48:48 AM
Well, I wouldn't even be asking, but it happened to me in a game. My opponent claimed that was possible. Since he said he was quite sure that it's possible and I wasn't so sure, I let him do it (it wouldn't have changed the outcome), but to make sure, I posted the question here.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: legolas3333 on May 24, 2010, 02:27:01 AM
I would say no, Numenors Pride says "At The Start Of The Regroup Phase" while Glimpse Of Fate says "Regroup Phase"
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: TheJord on May 24, 2010, 02:52:42 AM
The -4 is lost during the regroup phase. This is an involuntary action. As such, any initiative lost activating Glimpse of Fate would cause the strength reduction, then immediately be removed by the involuntary action on Glimpse of Fate.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: Thranduil on May 26, 2010, 08:23:22 AM
The -4 is lost during the regroup phase. This is an involuntary action. As such, any initiative lost activating Glimpse of Fate would cause the strength reduction, then immediately be removed by the involuntary action on Glimpse of Fate.
This is indeed the deal. It's the same idea for using Isildur's Bane to soak up wounds during the regroup phase from [Isengard] Orcs – you momentarily wear The Ring, then it's the regroup phase so it immediately comes off.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 26, 2010, 08:37:16 AM
Not sure if there were later changes (besides disappearing from rules documents), but it was ruled differently for the One Ring:

Quote from: 9/3/2002 CRD
The One Ring – How does he take the Ring off?
If your Ring-bearer puts on the Ring during the regroup phase, he then takes it off at the end of that regroup phase.
Though without knowing if this was a special case, I'd go with what TheJord said.
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: Thranduil on May 26, 2010, 10:04:00 AM
I didn't know that ES. But Glimpse of Fate and The One Ring are worded identically, so you'd expect them to work identically. I can't see why the Ring would be a special case... So maybe the strength reduction lasts until the end of the regroup phase?
Title: Re: Glimpse of Fate
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 27, 2010, 01:27:34 PM
Tried to begin this post several times, but between exception and precedence, it's all starting to sound arbitrary in my head. Log down and punt into the future, I suppose.