The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Tbiesty on July 26, 2010, 05:05:10 PM

Title: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Tbiesty on July 26, 2010, 05:05:10 PM
I need this clarified:  How does the limit on Stronghold of Minas Morgul work in a game with multiple opponents?

Does the (limit 1 per site) mean "limit 1 per site per opponent's turn" or "limit 1 per site for the whole game"?
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: MR. Lurtzy on July 26, 2010, 10:07:40 PM
At maximum, 1 token can be placed on that card at each site, provided your [Wraith] minion wins a skirmish.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Tbiesty on July 26, 2010, 10:13:23 PM
If I've already placed a token while one opponent was at site 4, if a different opponent later moves to site 4, am I not able to place a token?
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: MR. Lurtzy on July 26, 2010, 10:25:50 PM
"Limit 1 per a site" I would think that limit stays, regardless of if a second player moves there.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Not a Zombie on July 27, 2010, 08:26:57 AM
so hypothetically, if you had this card in play using shadows sites and switched the site during the skirmish phase after already placing a token, could you place another?
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Witchkingx5 on July 27, 2010, 08:56:00 AM
how the heck can you change sites during skirmish phase!?
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: hrcho on July 27, 2010, 09:13:31 AM
how the heck can you change sites during skirmish phase!?

I don't know for the shadow side... or any other card, for that matter, except Grimbold, MoR.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Tbiesty on July 27, 2010, 09:20:41 AM
Would anyone disagree if the clarification was like this:

The (limit 1) means only one token may be added to that card, using it's game text, at the current site for the rest of the game.
Example:  Once a token is added to that card at any site 4, no more tokens can be added by its game text while any opponent is at any site 4, even if the site itself is replaced.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: MR. Lurtzy on July 27, 2010, 12:12:53 PM
Would anyone disagree if the clarification was like this:

The (limit 1) means only one token may be added to that card, using it's game text, at the current site for the rest of the game.
Example:  Once a token is added to that card at any site 4, no more tokens can be added by its game text while any opponent is at any site 4, even if the site itself is replaced.

That would be fine, I think that's what the designers meant by it anyways.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Cw0rk on July 27, 2010, 01:18:16 PM
Would anyone disagree if the clarification was like this:

The (limit 1) means only one token may be added to that card, using it's game text, at the current site for the rest of the game.
Example:  Once a token is added to that card at any site 4, no more tokens can be added by its game text while any opponent is at any site 4, even if the site itself is replaced.
I think that if the site is replaced, you should be able to use it again.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: hrcho on July 27, 2010, 01:57:01 PM
No, I believe that the limit 1 per site refers to the site's number and not the site itself. Which goes with what Tbiesty said.

If it referred to the site itself, consider this scenario:
A [Wraith] token is added on Stronghold of Minas Morgul on e.g. Stewards Tomb (site's number is irrelevant). Stewards Tomb gets replaced and is again played as a site of higher number. Then you could add no more tokens on that site.

I cannot prove it through any of the rules I know, but I think it makes far more sense if the limit 1 per site referred to the site number. Sites without number effectively gain them once they are played on the adventure path.
Title: Re: Stronghold of Minas Morgul limit per site
Post by: Cw0rk on July 27, 2010, 02:26:15 PM
No, I believe that the limit 1 per site refers to the site's number and not the site itself. Which goes with what Tbiesty said.

If it referred to the site itself, consider this scenario:
A [Wraith] token is added on Stronghold of Minas Morgul on e.g. Stewards Tomb (site's number is irrelevant). Stewards Tomb gets replaced and is again played as a site of higher number. Then you could add no more tokens on that site.

I cannot prove it through any of the rules I know, but I think it makes far more sense if the limit 1 per site referred to the site number. Sites without number effectively gain them once they are played on the adventure path.
Oh. That sounds right.