The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Anautikus on July 26, 2010, 10:30:07 PM
-
So if the Freeps assigns a dude like say, Desert Runner, and the Shadow has initiative, and he assigns to a companion who is exhausted, and the Shadow wounds the companion, and the companion dies, what happens to the minion? Does the FP just assign to a new companion?
-
I'd guess that Desert Runner wouldn't fight anyone else besides the companion he kills.
-
I'd say yes, you continue with wherever you were in the assignment phase, and since the minion is still unassigned, he can be assigned again. No skirmish has taken place yet. Not sure why the FP player is willfully killing off their companions. :)
-
"A player cannot assign more than one companion to the same minion."
This of course, does not include fierce skirmishes.
-
Doesn't that just mean at the same time?
-
Assigning minions is not a series of actions but one action.
You may move and re-assign minions until you are satisified with your assigments and then confirm you have completed the assignments. At that point Desert Runner would use his text and wound the companion he was assigned to.
gk
-
If the FP player used an assignment action to assign a companion to him, then the wounding killed that companion, the FP could still assign desert runner again either by another assignment action, or during the "assign defenders" portion. If desert runner wounds and kills a companion during the "assign defenders" portion, since those assignments happen all at once the FP player woundn't be able to assign desert runner after that.
-
If desert runner wounds and kills a companion during the "assign defenders" portion, since those assignments happen all at once the FP player woundn't be able to assign desert runner after that.
Nothing happens all at once. There is an order to things and in case of assignments, the FP determines that order. Once all companions are assigned or the FP has concluded assigning, the Shadow Player assigns any unassigned minions. I believe that if a companion is killed during assignment phase via Desert Runner text, then Desert Runner is unassigned and since Assignment phase is not over, he can be assigned again.
Of course, situations in which the FP has any benefit of killing his companion during assignment phase are beyond me. Perhaps to get rid of the 6th companion or to get rid of some shadow conditions on that companion such as Sense of Obligation.
-
Doesn't that just mean at the same time?
Potentially, it really could go either way.
-
Of course, situations in which the FP has any benefit of killing his companion during assignment phase are beyond me. Perhaps to get rid of the 6th companion or to get rid of some shadow conditions on that companion such as Sense of Obligation.
It came up because my friend wanted to kill of an exhausted 5th companion to play a fresh 5th guy from his hand. Purely circumstantial, but just wondering regardless. Thanks for all your help!
-
From the comp rules:
"The creation of leftover minions happens only when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments. If an assigned minion subsequently becomes unassigned as a result of a card’s game text (e.g. a triggered ability), it is not a leftover minion and is not eligible to be assigned by the Shadow player."
-
From the comp rules:
"The creation of leftover minions happens only when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments. If an assigned minion subsequently becomes unassigned as a result of a card’s game text (e.g. a triggered ability), it is not a leftover minion and is not eligible to be assigned by the Shadow player."
Tricky word here is "subsequently". Does it refer to the time after the FP has done making assignments or does it refer to the time after the minion in question is assigned, but not before the FP ended assigning.
If it's the former, then indeed, due to the above mentioned rule the minion in question is not a "leftover" minion. However, if it's the latter, then the FP player still can assign that minion and it can be "leftover" only when the FP concludes his part of assignment.
I believe it's the latter, so in case of Desert Runner killing a companion via his text during the Assignment Phase, then Desert Runner is unassigned and the FP has the choice to assign him or leave him for the Shadow Player to assign.
-
From the comp rules:
"The creation of leftover minions happens only when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments. If an assigned minion subsequently becomes unassigned as a result of a card’s game text (e.g. a triggered ability), it is not a leftover minion and is not eligible to be assigned by the Shadow player."
If you assign Desert Runner to a companion and it kills him or her, you don't have to re-assign it. Even if you had to, you could choose not to assign it and the shadow player couldn't even assign Desert Runner because he wouldn't be a leftover minion.
-
If you assign Desert Runner to a companion and it kills him or her, you don't have to re-assign it. Even if you had to, you could choose not to assign it and the shadow player couldn't even assign Desert Runner because he wouldn't be a leftover minion.
It may be that once Desert Runner is assigned and he kills a companion with his text, he can no longer be assigned by any player. That is the main question here.
However, if the FP had to assign Desert Runner again and the FP chose not to, then Desert Runner does become a leftover minion and as such, Shadow Player can assign him.
-
From the comp rules:
"The creation of leftover minions happens only when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments. If an assigned minion subsequently becomes unassigned as a result of a card’s game text (e.g. a triggered ability), it is not a leftover minion and is not eligible to be assigned by the Shadow player."
If you assign Desert Runner to a companion and it kills him or her, you don't have to re-assign it. Even if you had to, you could choose not to assign it and the shadow player couldn't even assign Desert Runner because he wouldn't be a leftover minion.
I agree with this based on the rule quoted. If the companion is killed by the ability, then Desert Runner just doesn't skirmish (unless he's gained fierce).
-
Thank you!