The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Eomerisabeast on August 05, 2010, 06:27:09 PM

Title: Regroup Phase
Post by: Eomerisabeast on August 05, 2010, 06:27:09 PM
For Regroup Phase does the Free Peoples player do their regroup actions first and then the Shadow Player(s)? Just wanted some clarification.
Thanks
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: Cw0rk on August 05, 2010, 07:08:05 PM
FP players always perform their actions first, in the regroup phase as well.
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: Tbiesty on August 05, 2010, 07:13:19 PM
In case you want a little more detail...

You follow the "action procedure" for any optional actions (as in any phase):
"As the Free Peoples player, you get the first opportunity to perform an action, and then the player on your right gets an opportunity, and so on counter-clockwise around the table.
If a player does not wish to perform an action, he may simply pass. Passing does not prevent a player from performing an action later in the same phase."
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: Kev-La on August 06, 2010, 02:09:34 PM
FP players always perform their actions first, in the regroup phase as well.

I would just like to add that the only time when the Shadow player "does his stuff" before the Free Peoples "does his stuff" is archery fire. The minion archery total is calculated and the Free Peoples player assigns the wounds his companions have to take. Then, the fellowship archery total is calculated and the Shadow player assigns the wounds his minions have to take.
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: Cw0rk on August 07, 2010, 03:51:54 AM
The minion archery total is calculated and the Free Peoples player assigns the wounds his companions have to take. Then, the fellowship archery total is calculated and the Shadow player assigns the wounds his minions have to take.
Goblin Bowman vs Exhausted Legolas.
Shadow archery total=1
FP player assigns wound on Legolas. Legolas dies.
FP archery total=0
Goblin Bowman survives.

I think it's more like...
Goblin Bowman vs Exhausted Legolas.
Shadow archery total=1
FP archery total=1
FP player assigns wound on Legolas. Legolas dies.
Shadow player assigns wound on Goblin Bowman. It dies.

Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: ket_the_jet on August 07, 2010, 05:09:42 AM
I think it's more like...
Goblin Bowman vs Exhausted Legolas.
Shadow archery total=1
FP archery total=1
FP player assigns wound on Legolas. Legolas dies.
Shadow player assigns wound on Goblin Bowman. It dies.

This is correct.
-wtk
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: Kev-La on August 09, 2010, 03:28:22 PM
Ah, I'm sorry. My bad. The totals are worked out first and then the wounds are applied :-[
But still, it is an exception to the general "goodies first, baddies second" rule :twisted:
Title: Re: Regroup Phase
Post by: hrcho on August 09, 2010, 04:49:34 PM
But still, it is an exception to the general "goodies first, baddies second" rule :twisted:

That depends on how you look at it.

Freeps get to assign their wounds first, so the general "goodies first" still stands. ;)