The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: ivanap on August 30, 2010, 10:21:16 AM

Title: Toil
Post by: ivanap on August 30, 2010, 10:21:16 AM
i have other question :D jejeje

when i play a card with twilight cost 7 and that card say toil 2 (for example) , to pay cost 0 it's possible to exert 2 companions (twice one of them and the other one) or i must exert 3 diferents companions?

thanks!! :P

Title: Re: Toil
Post by: Tbiesty on August 30, 2010, 10:24:09 AM
From the rulebook:

toil
When you play a card that has the toil keyword, you
may reduce its twilight cost by the number specified.
You do this by exerting one of your characters of the
same culture as that card.
You may exert multiple characters of the same
culture. Each different character you exert reduces
the twilight cost by the number specified. You may
exert a given character only once when playing a toil
card.
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: ivanap on August 30, 2010, 10:30:56 AM
ok! thanks a lot!
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: itjunkie on October 09, 2010, 10:04:12 AM
If, for example, the shadow player plays 3 minions... then an event that has the toil keyword. does the shadow player exert his 3 minions at the same turn or does the FP player have a chance to exhaust 1 minion, thus preventing the shadow player from exerting all 3 minions?
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: Tbiesty on October 09, 2010, 10:41:48 AM
The Free Peoples player could exert a minion with Shadowplay for example.
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: itjunkie on October 09, 2010, 11:02:40 AM
hrm... let me expound on the situation a bit more. for example,

Shadow phase: shadow player plays 3 minions with 2 vitality each.
Maneuver or Archery Phase: shadow player plays an event with the keyword TOIL. he exerts the first minion, (can the Free Peoples player use an event or special ability here to exhaust the second minon??), Shadow player exerts third minion.

or is it,

Maneuver or Archery Phase: Shadow player plays an event with TOIL. he exerts minions 1,2 and 3 (counts as 1 action). then the FP can now react..
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: ket_the_jet on October 09, 2010, 11:08:00 AM
Second. He exerts as many minions as he can/wants and it is part of one action.
-wtk
Title: Re: Toil
Post by: itjunkie on October 09, 2010, 11:11:18 AM
i see..that's tough. i keep getting destroyed by elevated fire hehe