The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Pepin The Breve on August 11, 2008, 12:15:35 PM

Title: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Pepin The Breve on August 11, 2008, 12:15:35 PM
   Hetrhel special hability says: "Skirmish: Heal a minion skirmishing Hrethel to make Hrethel strenght +3 (limit +3)". I have heard some people saying that you can use his hability even in a non wounded minion, is that correct? 

   I don´t think so cause heal is the cost and the pump is the effect, so if you cannot pay the cost then you can´t perform the effects. Or is this one of that cases that you just "do something for no effect"? I hope you can give me some clarifications on this. References to the rulebook (if possible and needed) will be apreciated too   :up:

 
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Ulmo on August 11, 2008, 12:25:12 PM
In that case, if there is no wound to heal, Hrethel would always be strength 9, doesn't make much sense if there is no cost.    I just played him today, great if he is mounted, exert minion at assignment, heal to pump.   :)
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Elf_Lvr on August 11, 2008, 12:31:57 PM
Since it says "Do X to do Y" you have to perform the first action to get the second action. It is the cost of the ability and HAS to be performed before you get any effect.

That argument says, "If you can't do X you move on and do Y." But that's wrong, because X is a cost.

Look at Gimli, Son of Gloin. If you can't exert him (do to exhaustion, perhaps) you can't go on and make him strength +2 by saying "I would exert him if I could, but I can't."

The confusion sort of comes because healing is a beneficial action while exerting isn't, in a way. But, in a pretty recent question (presented by Mr. Ironfoot, I think) you CANT heal a minion/companion with no wounds.

If it said "Do X and do Y" you would be able to do one even if you couldn't do the other.

Make sense?
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Ulmo on August 11, 2008, 12:43:37 PM
Does the limit +3 refer to the strength or number of times the action can be performed, assuming 3 wounds on minion?
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Pepin The Breve on August 11, 2008, 12:46:29 PM
No sense at all... ;D

I agree totally with you guys, just posted it here to get a second opinion...

The +3 refers to the max pump you can do in each skirmish, so you can pump the old man +3 just once...

Thanks for the light!  :up:
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: SomeRandomDude on August 11, 2008, 01:35:51 PM
You can continue to heal a Shelob with 7 wounds, though, should it be helpful.
Title: Re: Question about Hrethel
Post by: Kralik on August 11, 2008, 01:54:19 PM
You can continue to heal a Shelob with 7 wounds, though, should it be helpful.

Or Sauron, The Lord of the Rings! Keep him from being too powerful that way. ;)