The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: The New Guy on November 19, 2010, 02:04:43 PM

Title: Newbie Question
Post by: The New Guy on November 19, 2010, 02:04:43 PM
When it says "to" does that mean your opponet gets to pick or do you?
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: ket_the_jet on November 19, 2010, 02:20:28 PM
You choose what you are discarding.
-wtk
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: hrcho on November 19, 2010, 03:40:39 PM
It has very little to do with "to". If it says to discard a condition, then you discard a condition... if it says to make your opponent discard a condition, then that you choose an opponent who will discard one of his conditions.

A wise man once said: "All cards do what they say."
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: argyles on November 19, 2010, 03:54:23 PM
just for the record :
i am 99% sure that u know how it works but u made a mistake
if it says to make your opponent discard a condition, then that you choose an opponent who will discard one of his conditions.

if it says to make your opponent discard a condition,then you make your opponent discard one of HIS or YOURS or a 3rd guys' condition.
It has to say make your opponent discard his condition etc etc etc.If it doesnt specify whose card to discard u can do as u wish :)

example : http://lotrtcgdb.com/pages/LOTR05080.html
usually arrow slits is used in order to discard a shadow condition or a machine but lets say that :
shadow player in shadow phase plays grima
maneuver phase starts and  fellowship player discards arrow slits  in order to discard a rohirrim javelin from eomer third marshal which already has firefoot and eomers' spear so grima cannot affect eomer's possessions.

Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: hrcho on November 20, 2010, 10:54:02 AM
if it says to make your opponent discard a condition,then you make your opponent discard one of HIS or YOURS or a 3rd guys' condition.
It has to say make your opponent discard his condition etc etc etc.If it doesnt specify whose card to discard u can do as u wish :)

I am not sure if Shadow Player is allowed to discard other Shadow Player's cards if the text of the card doesn't specifically say so. If an opponent is chosen, then that opponent discards his cards. I'll mention Sword of Dol Guldur. The text of the card says that Free Peoples player must discard a possession or a condition. That may lead someone to conclusion that Free Peoples player can discard shadow cards, but that is not the case. There is a clarification (not errata!) of the card that says that Free Peoples player must discard a Free Peoples possession or Free Peoples condition.

I mention this because it is declared as clarification, not errata. That means that the card text is not wrong, but someone might misinterpret it. That is why I think that when it says to choose an opponent who must discard a condition, then that opponent must discard his condition unless it says otherwise.

On most cards it does specify what can and cannot be discarded and who does the discarding so there is very little confusion.
 

example : http://lotrtcgdb.com/pages/LOTR05080.html
usually arrow slits is used in order to discard a shadow condition or a machine but lets say that :
shadow player in shadow phase plays grima
maneuver phase starts and  fellowship player discards arrow slits  in order to discard a rohirrim javelin from eomer third marshal which already has firefoot and eomers' spear so grima cannot affect eomer's possessions.

I have used Arrow Slits in that manner. It's such a nice card. :)
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Elessar's Socks on November 20, 2010, 12:59:14 PM
Some clarifications are attempts to cut down on the number of errata basically errata to make cards work as originally intended. Sword of Dol Guldur would have allowed the Free Peoples player to discard Shadow possessions/conditions (they're fair game for "a possession or condition"), but that was caught on the Decipher forums right away and fixed.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: hrcho on November 20, 2010, 02:30:27 PM
Some clarifications are attempts to cut down on the number of errata basically errata to make cards work as originally intended. Sword of Dol Guldur would have allowed the Free Peoples player to discard Shadow possessions/conditions (they're fair game for "a possession or condition"), but that was caught on the Decipher forums right away and fixed.

True. I made a bad example. My point was that "choose an opponent" unambiguously specifies whose conditions or possessions are to be discarded (or be succumbed to some other effect, for that matter).
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Elessar's Socks on November 20, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
I think a Catapult'ed opponent is still allowed to discard another (Shadow) player's card. Otherwise game text will say something like "his or her" (e.g. with Brooding on Tomorrow) to restrict this.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: hrcho on November 20, 2010, 04:55:01 PM
I don't think so. The free peoples player here gets to choose 2 times. First he chooses who's card is revealed and then he chooses who does the discarding. I don't think the only purpose of that is to make other shadow players hate the one who discarded, but so that Free Peoples player has a little bit of control over which cards are to be discarded. That's what makes Catapult a very nasty card in multiplayer game.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: itjunkie on November 21, 2010, 10:52:38 AM
I agree with hrcho on catapult..