The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Not a Zombie on February 05, 2011, 09:35:32 AM

Title: Howl of Harad
Post by: Not a Zombie on February 05, 2011, 09:35:32 AM
Ok, I'm sorry if this has already been discussed, I couldn't find it. Say we have an exhausted Frodo, the only ringbound companion in play, and I use Howl of Harad. Can Frodo use the ring to prevent the wound? My hunch is no, because then they have not fulfilled the requirement of wounding a ringbound companion.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Tbiesty on February 05, 2011, 09:39:41 AM
If the ring is already on (or is put on as a response) you would take a burden (or two depending on the ring) instead of a wound.  The wound isn't "prevented", it's just that a burden (or two) is placed instead.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Not a Zombie on February 05, 2011, 09:48:56 AM
but they haven't yet wounded a ringbound companion... Just like Boromir, BoC, he can't wear the ring to prevent the two wounds. I don't know for sure if its the same idea, but I think so.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Tbiesty on February 05, 2011, 09:53:53 AM
but they haven't yet wounded a ringbound companion... Just like Boromir, BoC, he can't wear the ring to prevent the two wounds. I don't know for sure if its the same idea, but I think so.
Yes, Boromir, BoC can wear the ring and take the burdens instead.  Again, you are not "preventing" the wounds, it's just that instead of placing a wound token, you add a burden.

It is a bit confusing, but if you check out the definition of "instead" in the rulebook, it should help make things more clear.
Thanks!
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Not a Zombie on February 05, 2011, 10:15:46 AM
No, this has been discussed many times. Boromir, BOC with ROR can't choose to be wounded twice then wear the one ring and take 2 burdens instead. The requirement, taking two wounds, has not been met. I don't know if this is the same situation or not.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: hrcho on February 05, 2011, 10:17:35 AM
but they haven't yet wounded a ringbound companion... Just like Boromir, BoC, he can't wear the ring to prevent the two wounds.

You are correct about Boromir, BoC not being able to take those 2 wounds as burdens. He actually can do it, but the cost is not fulfilled and so he will have to add additional three burdens. But that is the cost, not the effect and I think you had those two mixed up a bit.

You see, when Boromir, BoC as a ringbearer starts a skirmish phase, he has to pay a price for being the Ring-bearer. That price is either 2 wounds or 3 burdens. If he's wearing The One Ring at the time, he can't add 2 wounds and must add 3 burdens (same would happen if he was wearing Armor at the time).

In the case of Howl of Harad, wounding a ringbound companion is an effect and there is no OR here. If it's prevented, it's prevented... that's it. (or turned into a burden, for that matter).
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: hrcho on February 05, 2011, 10:59:50 AM
Quote from: Rulebook
response
...
Isildur is wearing The One Ring, Answer to All Riddles. ("While wearing The One Ring,... each time he is about to take a wound in a skirmish, add a burden instead.") The Free Peoples player has Sapling of the White Tree in play. ("Response: If a [gondor] Man is about to take a wound, discard this artifact to prevent that.") Isildur loses a skirmish and is about to take a wound. Because the required action of The One Ring causes a burden to be added "instead" of a wound, the optional action of Sapling of the White Tree cannot be used, as the situation it responds to no longer exists.

It is something similar. My point is that wounds are not placed on Boromir, BoC if he is wearing The One Ring. There was also a discussion about Gimli's Helm and Gimli's Armor. It was discussed whether or not could the Free Peoples player prevent the first wound to Gimli with Gimli's Armor and then Gimli could no longer take wounds because Gimli's Helm says he cannot take more than one wound. It was concluded that because Gimli's Armor prevented the wound, no wound was placed and Gimli could still take one wound before Gimli's Helm took effect.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Not a Zombie on February 05, 2011, 11:02:34 AM
I thought that might be the case, the effect as opposed to the cost. Thanks guys!
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Tbiesty on February 05, 2011, 11:04:14 AM
What about this discussion (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,4354.0.html) or this discussion (http://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/index.php/topic,1665.msg24542.html#msg24542)?

Just to double-check, any of the other "rules experts" confirm that Boromir, BoC and The One Ring which way it works?
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: TheJord on February 05, 2011, 05:50:54 PM
Boromir, BoC and Armor is different as Armor does not allow Boromir to fulfill one his options, ie take 2 wounds. This is why it is specifically pointed out.

Boromir, BoC is bearing The One Ring, The Ring of Rings and has already put it on in the archery phase. In this example, Boromir is able to fulfill his requirement of taking 2 wounds, which the ring then turns into burdens.

Sweet, when a card changes an outcome, it changes. Plain and simple. If Gandalf, BoO was bearing Shadowfax, US, he could use it to turn a Howl of Harad wound into burden. The effect is still fulfilled, Shadowfax, US has made a legitimate play to change it into a burden.
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: hrcho on February 05, 2011, 06:09:55 PM
Funny... I was the one to ask that question almost a year ago and I got a correct answer. I wonder how did I forget about it and changed my mind in the meantime.

Btw, sorry, Tbiesty for putting doubts in your mind ;)
Title: Re: Howl of Harad
Post by: Tbiesty on February 05, 2011, 06:11:19 PM
No problem!  Glad we got it figured out. :)